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MEETING OF THE BOARD OF CREDIT UNION ADVISORS 
 

January 13, 2014 
1:00 pm 

 
Utah Department of Financial Institutions 

324 South State Street, Suite 201 
Salt Lake City Utah 

 
Minutes 

 
BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:   
Scot Baumgartner and Meagan Nattress. 
 
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS STAFF PRESENT:  
Ed Leary, Orla Beth Peck, Paul Allred, and Merisa Lanford 
 
OTHERS PRESENT: 
Stephen Nelson from Utah Credit Union Association and Scott Johnson 
from Provo Postal Credit Union.  
 
1. Call meeting to order – Scot Baumgartner 
 
2. Minutes 
 
A quorum was not present. The approval of the minutes was postponed until 
the next meeting.  
 
 
3. Member Business Loans (MBL) – Orla Beth Peck 
 
The National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) put into place a Member 
Business Loan rule in the 1980’s and each state is under that rule unless they 
get a waiver. Utah did not get a waiver; however, the legislature did put 
some more restrictive limitations for both individual limits and aggregate 
limits. Individual limit was changed in 2006 to be changed based on the 
Consumer Price Index inflation rate during the previous year. This generally 
takes place in January. It started out at $250,000 and it’s up to about 
$283,000 now. The aggregate limit is 1.25 times your reserves but it does 
not include regular reserves or allowance. The aggregate limit is not tied to 
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the Consumer Price Index so it only grows if the undivided earning and 
other reserves grow. Scott Johnson asked if it includes secondary capital. 
Commissioner Leary replied that our statute does not mention that 
specifically. Scott pointed out that secondary reserve is not regular reserve 
and only regular reserve is excluded not supplemental capital. Commissioner 
Leary also pointed out that at the time it was written supplemental capital 
was an unknown item and it is not specifically in the code.  
 
Orla Beth said that there are some exceptions to the legal lending limit for 
MBLs. For individual loans a member can pledge money that is on deposit 
and the credit union can exceed their individual limit by that amount. There 
is also a provision for loans that are guaranteed by the SBA, the amount 
100% guaranteed is not counted in the individual limit. However, the 
maximum on that is one million.  
 
The NCUA still requires two years of experience by the credit union’s loan 
officer in the kind of lending they are engaging in. MBLs are not available to 
the president or the credit manager but board members can have a MBL.  
NCUA also aggregates affiliated businesses. In 2006 NCUA did change the 
rule that said at least one member of the company’s ownership had to be a 
credit union member for 6 months. They do still have to be members of the 
credit union, however.  
 
Commissioner Leary asked Orla Beth if the examiners are seeing issues with 
MBLs on exams. Orla Beth said that there are some instances with missing 
corporate resolutions and such. LLCs are very common in property 
development and can get very complicated. Orla Beth said that there is some 
expertise regarding these issues within the examiners at DFI.  
 
Orla Beth mentioned that what makes a loan a MBL is that it is for a 
business purpose. It does not necessarily have to do with the collateral. One 
matter of confusion is the 1 to 4 family dwelling. The member does have to 
live in part of that dwelling or it is considered a business purpose.  
 
On the CALL Report the NCUA does not consider a loan a MBL unless it is 
over $50,000. However, the state does not have that minimum amount and 
would consider it a MBL.  
 
4. Other Business 
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Orla Beth just returned from a trip to Washington DC for the National 
Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS) Board Meeting 
and the overhead transfer was a topic of discussion. The overhead transfer is 
where the NCUA takes a percentage of their operation expenses from the 
Share Insurance Fund. Every year they seem to compute the amount 
differently. This year the overhead transfer for 2014 is increasing from 
59.1% to 69.2% of NCUA’s operating expenses. The impact that has for 
state chartered credit unions is that the credit unions are subsidizing the 
federals. Their supervision fee is lower than most state chartered credit 
unions around the country. Our break-even point is at about 50 million. It 
also means that there is less to distribute to the credit unions in the form of a 
dividend. Orla Beth said that NCUA Board approves the budget and they are 
comprised of only three members. The Federal Deposit Insurance 
Corporation (FDIC) Board is five members and most other boards are at 
least five people. NASCUS has talked about going to congress to get the 
NCUA Board increased to five individuals. NASCUS did talk about 
submitting detailed letters to all three board members as the first step. They 
could also submit a complaint to the NCUA’s Office of Inspector General, 
or seek Congressional directives to the Governmental Accounting Office to 
do a study of the overhead transfer.  
 
Orla Beth mentioned that the NCUA recently won a lawsuit against Bank of 
America regarding the corporates, so she does not believe that they will be 
charging the assessment this year.  
 
Commissioner Leary said that going into the legislative session the 
department is supporting a bill to update outdated provisions in the statute. 
The supervisors each reviewed their chapters within the law and noted things 
that should be changed, updated and approved. The bill has been sponsored.  
 
Commissioner Leary also brought up that the department goes off of the 
asset based assessment. That means that it’s an average of the size of the 
institution and then we assess an annual fee based on a formula in the 
statute. That fee covers all costs associated with supervision, examination 
and everything else. However, because of some of the very large institutions 
that we have headquartered in Utah what the legislature has appropriated the 
department to spend has been higher. There is a bill to reduce that fee; 
however, there is not a sponsor yet. 2006 was the last increase and it makes 
sense to roll back the increase to pre-2006. The individual associations have 
a letter and a guesstimate based on last year’s assessment for each institution 
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as to what they anticipate the fee will be if this bill is adopted. The formula 
can be found in the code 7-1-401.  
 
There are also two bills filed on the payday lending industry which will be 
looked at closely. This is partially due to what conspired with a change in 
attorney general. Scot Baumgartner asked about protection when it comes to 
companies financing their own loans. Commissioner Leary said they would 
register under Title 70 C where they notify the department that they are 
extending installment consumer credit and they have to comply with 
Regulation Z. The department responds to any complaints; however, we do 
not do a scope examination.  
 
5. Next Meeting – April 8, 2014 
 
6. Adjourn 
 
 


