SETR | l]T;.'\II (-;T\Tl B(“]\R [) Duvid L Crandall, Chair  David L. Thomas, First Viee Chair
[y & OF EDUCATION

| Daxie L. Allen Barbara W. Comry Jennifier A, Johnson
oW ! Kim K. Burmingham Dyan Ciriffiths Jeferson Moss
. - - Martell Menlove, Chiel’ Executive Oilicer Keith M. Buswell Heaher Groom . Mark Openshaw
L‘:_'\j 'f.l-'l Lorraine Austin, Board Seoretary Leshic B.Castle Michacl G, Jensen [ehra G, Roberts
MEMORANDUM
TO: Members, Utah State Board of Education
FROM: Martell Menlove, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer
DATE: March 7, 2014
DISCUSSION: R277-419 Pupil Accounting
Background:

During the February 2014 Finance and Audit Committee Meeting, Associate Superintendent
Bruce Williams was given an assignment from the Committee to begin putting together a
framework of issues and questions that need to be addressed as the Board begins deliberation
of changes to R277-419 Pupil Accounting. This discussion is necessary because new methods of
curriculum delivery such as online and competency-based education need to be included in this
rule which governs how pupil accounting relates to funding allocated from the State Board to
LEAs.

Key Points:

The Finance and Audit Committee will discuss the framework and issues presented by staff and
map out a timeline and process by which stakeholders will be included in the discussion and
recommended changes to R277-419 will be presented to the Board.

Anticipated Action:
No action is required.

Contact: Bruce Williams, Associate Superintendent, 801-538-7514
Natalie Grange, Internal Auditor, 801-538-7813

250 East 500 South P.O. Box 144200 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4200 Voice: (801) 538-7517 Fax: (801) 538-7768



R277. Education, Administration.
R277-419. Pupil Accounting.
R277-419-1. Definitions.

A. “Aggregate Membership” means the sum of all days in
membership during a school year for the student, program, school,
LEA, or state.

B. “Approved CTE course” means a course approved by the Board
within the Career and Technical Education (CTE) Pathways in the
eight areas of study.

C. “Board” means the Utah State Board of Education.

D. “Charter school” means a school that is authorized and
operated under Sections 53A-1a-501.6, 53A-1a-515 and 53A-1a-501.3.

E. “Compulsory school age” means:

(1) a person who is at least five years old and no more than
17 years old on or before September 1;

(2) with respect to special education, a person who iIs at
least three years old and no more than 21 years old on or before
September 1;

(3) with respect to YIC, a person who is at least five years
old and no more than 21 years old on or before September 1.

F. “Data Clearinghouse” means the electronic data collection
system used by the USOE to collect information required by law from
LEAs about individual students at certain points throughout the
school year to support the allocation of funds and accountability
reporting.

G. “Electronic high school” means a rigorous program offering
9-12 grade level courses delivered over the Internet and
coordinated by the USOE.

H. “Influenza pandemic (pandemic)” means a global outbreak of
serious 1illness in people. It may be caused by a strain of
influenza that most people have no natural immunity to and that is
easily spread from person to person.

I. “ISI-1” means a student who receives 1 to 59 minutes of
YIC related services during a typical school day.

J. “ISI-2” means a student who receives 60 to 179 minutes of
YIC related services during a typical school day.

K. “LEA” means a local education agency, including local
school boards/public school districts and charter schools.

L. “Membership” means a public school student is on the
current roll of a public school class or public school as of a
given date:

(1) A student is a member of a class or school from the date
of entrance at the school and is placed on the current roll until
official removal from the class or school due to the student having
left the school.

(2) Removal from the roll does not mean that the LEA should
delete the student’s record, only that the student should no longer
be counted in membership.

M. “Minimum School Program (MSP)” means public school
programs for kindergarten, elementary, and secondary schools
described iIn Section 53A-17a-103(5).

N. “Private school” means an educational institution that is
not a charter school but iIs owned or operated by a private person,
firm, association, organization, or corporation, rather than



subject to governance by the Board consistent with the Utah
Constitution.

0. “Program” means an institution within a larger education
entity that i1s designed to accomplish a predetermined curricular
objective or set of objectives.

P. “Resource” means a student who receives 1 to 179 minutes
of special education services during a typical school day
consistent with the student’s IEP provided for under the
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. Sec.
1400 et seq., amended in 2004.

Q. “Retained senior” means a student beyond the general
compulsory education age who is authorized at the discretion of the
LEA to remain in enrollment as a high school senior iIn the year(s)
after the cohort has graduated due to:

(1) sickness;

(2) hospitalization;

(3) pending court investigation or action or both; or

(4) other extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the
student.

R. “S1” means the record maintained by the USOE containing
individual student demographic and school membership data in a Data
Clearinghouse file.

S. “S2” means the record maintained by the USOE containing
individual student data related to participation in a special
education program in a Data Clearinghouse fTile.

T. “S3” means the record maintained by the USOE containing
individual student data related to participation in a YIC program
in a Data Clearinghouse file.

U. “School” means an educational entity governed by an LEA
that 1s supported with public funds, includes enrolled or
prospectively enrolled Tfull-time students, employs licensed
educators as instructors that provide instruction consistent with
R277-502-5, has one or more assigned administrators, is accredited
consistent with R277-410-3, and administers required statewide
assessments to i1ts students.

V. “School day” means:

(D a minimum of two hours per day per session in
kindergarten and a minimum of four hours per day In grades one
through twelve, subject to the following constraints:

(2) (@) All school day calculations shall exclude lunch periods
and pass time between classes but may include recess periods that
include organization or instruction from school staff.

(b) Each day that satisfies hourly instruction time shall
count as a school day, regardless of the number or length of class
periods or whether or not particular classes meet.

W. “School membership” means membership other than in a
special education or YIC program in the context of the Data
Clearinghouse.

X. “School of enrollment” means the school where a student
takes a majority of his classes; the school designated to receive
the student’s weighted pupil unit.

Y. “School year” means the 12 month period from July 1
through June 30.

Z. “Self-contained” means a public school student with an IEP



or YIC, who receives 180 minutes or more of special education or
YIC related services during a typical school day.

AA. “Self-Contained Resource Attendance Management (SCRAM)”
means a record that tracks the aggregate membership of public
school special education students for state funding purposes.

BB. *“SSID” means Statewide Student ldentifier.

CC. *“UCAT” means any public institution of higher education
affiliated with the Utah College of Applied Technology.
DD. *“Unexcused absence” means an absence charged to a student

when the student was not physically present at school at any of the
times attendance checks were made in accordance with Section R277-
419-4B(3) and the student’s absence could not be accounted for by
evidence of a legitimate or valid excuse iIn accordance with local
board policy on truancy as defined in Section 53A-11-101.

EE. *“USOE” means the Utah State Office of Education.

FF.  “Virtual education” means the use of information and
communication technologies to offer educational opportunities to
students In a manner that transcends traditional limitations of
time and space with respect to their relationships with teachers,
peers, and instructional materials.

GG. “Year End upload” means the Data Clearinghouse file due
annually by July 15 from school districts and charter schools to
the USOE for the prior school year.

HH. “Youth in Custody (YIC)” means a person under the age of
21 who 1is:

(1) in the custody of the Department of Human Services;

(2) i1In the custody of an equivalent agency of a Native
American tribe recognized by the United States Bureau of Indian
Affairs and whose custodial parent or legal guardian resides within
the state; or

(3) being held in a juvenile detention facility.

R277-419-2. Authority and Purpose.

A. This rule i1s authorized under Utah Constitution Article X,
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision over public
education in the State Board of Education, by Section 53A-1-401(3)
which allows the Board to make rules iIn accordance with 1its
responsibilities, Section 53A-1-402(1)(e) which directs the Board
to establish rules and standards regarding cost-effectiveness,
school budget formats and financial, statistical, and student
accounting requirements, and Section 53A-1-404(2) which directs
that local school board auditing standards shall include financial
accounting and student accounting. This rule is further authorized
by Section 53A-1-301(3)(d) which directs the Superintendent to
present to the Governor and the Legislature data on the funds
allocated to school districts, and Section 53A-3-404 which requires
annual financial reports from all school districts.

B. The purpose of this rule is to specify pupil accounting
procedures used iIn apportioning and distributing state funds for
education.

R277-419-3. Schools and Programs
A. Schools
(1) Each school shall receive the appropriate accountability



reports from the USOE and other state-mandated reports for the
school type and grade range; and

(2) All schools shall submit a Clearinghouse report; and

(3) All schools shall employ at least one licensed educator
and one administrator.

B. Programs

(1) Students who are enrolled in a program shall remain
members of a public school; and

(2) Programs shall not receive separate accountability and
other state-mandated reports from the USOE; and

(3) Students reported under a program shall be included in WPU
and student enrollment calculations of a school of enrollment; and

(4) Courses taught at programs shall be credited to the
appropriate school of enrollment.

C. Private school or program

(1) Private schools or programs shall not be required to
submit data to the USOE; and

(2) Private schools or programs shall not receive annual
accountability reports.

R277-419-4. Minimum School Days, LEA Records, and Audits.

A. Minimum standards for school days

(1) LEAs shall conduct school for at least 990 instructional
hours and 180 school days each school year; exceptions to the
number of school days for individual students and schools are
provided for in R277-419-8.

(2) The required school days and hours may be offered at any
time during the school year, consistent with the law.

(3) Health Department Emergency or Pandemic

(a) The Board may waive the school day and hour requirement,
following a vote of Board members, pursuant to a directive from the
Utah State Health Department or a local health department, that
results in the closure of a school iIn the event of a pandemic or
other public health emergency.

(b) In the event that the Board is unable to meet in a timely
manner, the State Superintendent of Public Instruction may issue a
waiver following consultation with a majority of Board members.

(c) The waiver may be for a designated time period and for
specific areas, school districts, or schools in the state, as
determined by the health department directive.

(d) The waiver may allow for school districts to continue to
receive state funds for pupil services and reimbursements.

(e) The waiver by the Board or State Superintendent of Public
Instruction shall direct school districts to provide as much notice
to students and parents of the suspension of school services, as Is
reasonably possible.

() The waiver shall direct school districts to comply with
health department directives, but to continue to provide any
services to students that are not inconsistent with the directive.

(g) The board may encourage school districts to provide
electronic or distance learning services to affected students for
the period of the pandemic or other public health emergency to the
extent of personnel and funds available.

(4) Minimum standards shall apply to all public schools in all



settings unless Utah law or this rule provides for specific
exceptions. Local boards are encouraged to provide adequate school
days and hours in the school district’s yearly calendar to avoid
the necessity of a wailver request except in the most extreme
circumstances.

B. Official records

(1) To determine student membership, LEAs shall ensure that
records of daily student attendance are maintained in each school
which clearly and accurately show for each student the:

(a) entry date;

(b) exit date;

(c) exit or high school completion status;

d) whether or not an absence was excused;

(e) disability status (resource or self-contained, if
applicable); and

() YIC status (ISI1-1, ISI-2 or self-contained, if
applicable).

(2)(a) Computerized or manually produced records for CTE
programs shall be kept by teacher, class and Classification of
Instructional Program (CIP) code.

(b) These records shall clearly and accurately show for each
student in a CTE class the:

(i) entry date;

(i1) exit date; and

(i11) excused or unexcused status of absence.

(3) A minimum of one attendance check shall be made by each
public school each school day.

C. Due to school activities requiring schedule and program
modification during the Tfirst days and last days of the school
year:

(1) For the first five school days, an LEA may report
aggregate days of membership equal to the number recorded for the
second five-day period of the school year.

(2) For the last five-day period, an LEA may report aggregate
days of membership equal to the number recorded for the immediately
preceding five-day period.

(3) Schools shall continue instructional activities throughout
required calendared instruction days.

D. Audits

(1) An independent auditor shall be employed under contract
by each LEA to audit its student accounting records annually and
report the findings to the LEA board of education and to the
Finance and Statistics Section of the USOE;

(2) Reporting dates, forms, and procedures are found in the
State of Utah Legal Compliance Audit Guide, provided to LEAs by the
USOE in cooperation with the State Auditor’s Office and published
under the heading of APP C-5;

3) The USOE shall review student membership and Tfall
enrollment audits as they relate to the allocation of state funds
in accordance with the policies and procedures established in R277-
484-7 and 8 and may periodically or for cause review LEA records
and practices for compliance with the laws and this rule.

R277-419-5. Student Membership.



A. Eligibility

(1) In order to generate membership for funding through the
MSP for any clock hour of instruction on any school day, a student
shall:

(a) not have previously earned a basic high school diploma or
certificate of completion;

(b) not be enrolled in a YIC program with a YIC time code
other than 1SI-1 or 1SI-2;

(c) not have unexcused absences on all of the prior ten
consecutive school days;

(d) be a resident of Utah as defined under Sections 53A-2-201
through 213;

(e) be of compulsory school age or a retained senior;

(F)(1) be expected to attend a regular learning facility
operated or recognized by the LEA on each regularly scheduled
school day; or

(i1) have direct instructional contact with a licensed
educator provided by the LEA at an LEA-sponsored center for
tutorial assistance or at the student®"s place of residence or
convalescence for at least 120 minutes each week during an expected
period of absence, if physically excused from such a facility for
an extended period of time, due to:

(A) injury, illness, surgery, suspension, pregnancy, pending
court investigation or action; or

(B) an LEA determination that home iInstruction is necessary.

(ini) be enrolled in an approved CTE course(s) on the campus
of another state funded institution where such a course is:

(A) not offered at the student’s school of membership;

(B) being used to meet Board-approved CTE graduation
requirements under R277-700-6C(7); and

(C) a course consistent with the student’s SEOP.

(iv) LEAs desiring to generate membership for student
enrollment in courses outlined In R277-419-5A(L)(H)(i1i), or to
seek a wailver from a requirement(s) in R277-419-5A(L)(H)(iii),
shall submit an application for course approval by April 1 of the
year prior to which the membership will be counted. LEAs shall be
notified within 30 days of the application deadline if courses have
been approved.

(2) Students may generate MSP funding by participation In an
LEA-sponsored or LEA-supported virtual education program other than
the Utah Electronic High School that 1is consistent with the
student’s SEOP, has been approved by the student’s counselor, and
includes regular face-to-face instruction or Tfacilitation by a
designated employee of the LEA.

B. Reporting

(1) LEAs shall report aggregate membership for each student
via the School Membership field in the S1 record and special
education membership in the SCRAM Membership field in the S2 record
and YIC membership in the S3 record of the Year End upload of the
Data Clearinghouse file.

(2) In the Data Clearinghouse, aggregate membership shall be
expressed in days.

C. Calculations

(1) If a student was enrolled for only part of the school day



or only part of the school year, the student®"s membership shall be
prorated according to the number of hours, periods or credits for
which the student actually was enrolled in relation to the number
of hours, periods or credits for which a full-time student normally
would have been enrolled. For example:

(a) 1T the student was enrolled for 4 periods each day in a 7
period school day for all 180 school days, the student®s aggregate
membership would be 4/7 of 180 days or 103 days.

(b) 1T the student was enrolled for 7 periods each day in a 7
period school day for 103 school days, the student®s membership
would also be 103 days.

(2) For students iIn grades 2 through 12, days in membership
shall be calculated by the LEA using a method equivalent to the
following: total clock hours of instruction for which the student
was enrolled during the school year divided by 990 hours and then
multiplied by 180 days and finally rounded up to the nearest whole
day. For example, if a student was enrolled for only 900 hours
during the school year, the student®s aggregate membership would be
(900/990)*180, and the LEA would report 164 days.

(3) For students in grade 1, the first term of the formula
shall be adjusted to use 810 hours as the denominator.

(4) For students in kindergarten, the Tfirst term of the
formula shall be adjusted to use 450 hours as the denominator.

D. Constraints

(1) The sum of regular plus self-contained special education
and self-contained YIC membership days may not exceed 180 days;

(2) The sum of regular and resource special education
membership days may not exceed 360 days;

(3) The sum of regular, ISI-1 and ISI-2 YIC membership days
may not exceed 360 days.

E. Exceptions

LEAs may also count a student in membership for the equivalent
in hours of up to:

(1) one period each school day, if the student has been:

(a) released by school upon parent’s request during the school
day for religious instruction or individual learning activity
consistent with the student®s SEOP; or

(b) exempted from school attendance under 53A-11-102 for home
schooling and participates 1iIn one or more extracurricular
activities under R277-438;

(2) two periods each school day per student for time spent in
bus travel during the regular school day to and from another state-
funded institution, if the student is enrolled in CTE instruction
consistent with the student®s SEOP.

(3) all periods each school day, iIf the student is enrolled
in:

(a) a concurrent enrollment program that satisfies all the
criteria of R277-713;

(b) a private school without religious affiliation under a
contract initiated by an LEA which directs that the instruction be
paid by public funds. Contracts shall be approved by the LEA board
in an open meeting.

(c) a foreign exchange student program under 53A-2-206(8).

(d) Electronic High School courses for credit which meet



curriculum requirements, consistent with the student’s SEOP and
following written school counselor approval.

(e) a school operated by an LEA under a Utah Schools for the
Deaf and the Blind I1EP:

(i) students may only be counted in (S1) membership and shall
not have an S2 record;

(i1) the S2 record for these students shall only be submitted
by the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind.

R277-419-6. High School Completion Status.

A. The final status of all students who enter high school
(grades 10-12) shall be accounted for, whether they graduate or
leave high school for other reasons. LEAs shall use the following
decision rules to indicate the high school completion or exit
status of each student who leaves the Utah public education system:

(1) Graduates are students who earn a basic high school
diploma by satisfying one of the options consistent with R277-705-
4B or out-of-school youths of school age who complete adult
education secondary diploma requirements consistent with R277-733.

(2) Other students are completers who have not satisfied
Utah’s requirements for graduation but who:

(a) shall be in membership in twelfth grade on the last day of
the school year; and

(b) meet any additional criteria established by the LEA
consistent with its authority under R277-705-4C; or

(c) meet any criteria established for special education
students under Utah State Board of Education Special Education
Rules, Revised, August 2007, and available from the USOE, and R277-
700-8E; or

(d) pass a General Educational Development (GED) test with a
designated score.

(3) Continuing students are students who:

(a) transfer to higher education, without first obtaining a
diploma; or

(b) transfer to the Utah Center for Assistive Technology
(UCAT) without first obtaining a diploma; or

(c) age out of special education.

(4) Dropouts are students who have no legitimate reason for
departure or absence from school or who:

(a) withdraw due to a situation so serious that educational
services cannot be continued even under the conditions of R277-419-
S5A(L) (P (i1); or

(b) are expelled and do not re-enroll in another public
education institution; or

(c) transfer to adult education.

(5) Students shall be excluded from the cohort calculation if
they:

(a) transfer out of state, out of the country, to a private
school, or to home schooling; or

(b) are U.S. citizens who enrolled in another country as a
foreign exchange student; or

(c) are non-U.S. citizens who enrolled in a Utah public school
as a foreign exchange student under Section 53A-2-206 in which case
they shall be identified by resident status (J for those with a J-1



visa, F for all others), not by an exit code; or

(d) died.

B. LEAs shall report the high school completion status or exit
code of each student to the USOE as specified in Data Clearinghouse
documentation.

C. The USOE shall report a graduation rate for each school,
LEA, and the state.

(1) The four-year cohort rate shall be reported on the annual
state reports.

(2) The three-year cohort graduation rate shall be reported
separately for high schools on the official state graduation
report.

R277-419-7. Student Identification and Tracking.

A. Pursuant to Section 53A-1-603.5, LEAs shall:

(1) use the SSID system maintained by the USOE to assign every
student enrolled In a program under the direction of the Board or
in a program or a school that is supported by public school funding
a unique student identifier.

(a) The number shall be assigned to a student upon enrollment
into a public school program or a public school-funded program.

(b) The number shall not be the student’s social security
number or contain any personally identifiable information about the
student.

(2) display the SSID on student transcripts exchanged with
LEAs and Utah public institutions of higher education.

B(1) LEAs shall require all students to provide their legal
first, middle, and last names at the time of registration to ensure
that the correct SSID follows students who transfer among LEAs.

(2)(a) Names shall be transcribed from the student’s birth
certificate or other reliable proof of the student’s identity and
age, consistent with Section 53A-11-503;

(b) The direct transcription of student names from birth
certificates or other reliable proof of student identity and age
shall be the student’s legal name for purposes of maintaining
school records; and

(c) Schools or school districts may modify the order of
student names, provide TfTor nicknames, or allow for different
surnames, consistent with court documents or parent preferences, so
long as legal names are maintained on student records and used in
transmitting student information to the USOE.

C. The USOE and LEAs shall track students and maintain data
using students” legal names.

D. IT there is a compelling need to protect a student by
using an alias, the LEA should exercise discretion in recording the
name of the student.

R277-419-8. Variances.

A. An exception for school attendance for public school
students may be made at the discretion of the local board, in the
length of the school day or year, for students with compelling
circumstances. The time an excepted student is required to attend
school shall be established by the student’s I1EP or SEOP.

B. Emergency/activity/weather-related exigency time shall be



planned for in an LEA®"s annual calendaring. |If school i1s closed
for any reason, the instructional time missed shall be made up
under the emergency/activity time as part of the minimum required
time to qualify for full MSP funding.

C. Staff Planning, Professional Development, Student
Assessment Time, and Parent-Teacher and Student Education Plan
(SEP) Conferences.

(1) To provide planning and professional development time for
staff, LEAs may hold school longer some days of the week and
shorter other days so long as minimum school day requirements, as
provided for in R277-419-1V, are satisfied.

(2) Schools may conduct parent-teacher and student education
plan conferences during the school day.

(3) Such conferences may only be held for a total of the
equivalent of three full school days or a maximum of 16.5 hours for
the school year. Student membership for professional development or
parent-teacher conference days shall be counted as that of the
previous school day.

(4) LEAs may designate no more than 12 instructional days at
the beginning of the school year or at the end of the school year
or both for the assessment of students entering or completing
kindergarten. |If instruction days are designated for kindergarten
assessment:

(a) the days shall be designated by the LEA board in an open
meeting;

(b) adequate notice and explanation shall be provided to
kindergarten parents well in advance of the assessment period;

(c) assessment shall be conducted by qualified school
employees consistent with Section 53A-3-410; and

(d) assessment time per student shall be adequate to justify
the forfeited instruction time.

(5) The final decision and approval regarding planning time,
parent-teacher and SEP conferences rests with the local board of
education, consistent with Utah law and Board administrative rules.

(6) Total instructional time and school calendars shall be
approved by local boards in an open meeting.

. A school using a modified 45-day 15-day year round
schedulle initiated prior to July 1, 1995 shall be considered to be
in compliance with this rule i1If a school®s schedule includes a
minimum of 990 hours of instruction time in a minimum of 172 days.
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