

Utah Local Food Advisory Council - Meeting Agenda

Wednesday, July 13th, 2022: 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Hosted at the Utah Department of Agriculture & Food Offices in the Taylorsville State

Office Building.

4315 South 2700 West TSOB South Bldg, Floor 2 Meeting Room: 22507 Taylorsville, UT 84129-2128

Virtual option is on Google invite

The public is encouraged to attend.

1. Welcome & Introductions - Representative Steve Handy & Senator Gene Davis

5 Min.

- a. Opening remarks Representative Handy
- b. Roll call attendance
- c. Review and approve meeting minutes from the April 2022 meeting

2. Quick Updates

5 Min.

a. New LFAC Administrator - Mitch Garrett, Utah Department of Ag & Food

3. LFAC Administrative Needs

40 Min.

- a. Ethics/GRAMA & Open Meetings Training Nicole Hanna Utah Attorney General's Office
- b. Review open voting member positions
 - i. Pending Food Distributor, Laurie Seron *Pending approval from Governor's Office
 - ii. Open Food Retailer
 - iii. Open Member of a local agricultural organization appointed by the Governor

- c. Discuss process for filling open positions and invite participants to submit suggestions for filling voting member positions.
- d. Review subcommittees
 - i. Subcommittees
 - 1. Distribution
 - 2. Regulations
 - 3. Farm-to-Table
 - 4. Food Security
 - ii. Invitation to voting members and the public to express interest in becoming a subcommittee chair. Email Mitch at: <u>mitchellgarrett@utah.gov</u>
 - 1. Subcommittee chairs will be confirmed at the next meeting.
- 4. Guest Speaker: Kate Wheeler, Utah State Board of Education

 Update: Application for Local Food for Schools Cooperative Agreement,

 Enhanced Local Reimbursement Program, and Statewide Strategic Plan
- Guest Speaker: Alyson Williams, Ogden Food Policy Council Ogden Food Policy Update 10 min.
- 6. Guest Speaker: Tyler Montague, Keep It Real Vegetables Small-Scale Urban Farming 10 Min.
- 7. Guest Speaker: Caroline Hargraves, Utah Dept. of Ag & Food Marketing and Economic Development Division Update 5 Min.
- 8. Public Comment

15 min.

Time held for four 5-minute public commenters, sign up required in advance 20 Min.

9. Closing Remarks - Representative Steve Handy & Senator Gene Davis 5 Min.