
R592.  Insurance, Title and Escrow Commission. 
R592-2.  Title Insurance Administrative Hearings and Penalty 
Imposition. 
R592-2-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated pursuant to Subsections 31A-2-
404(2)(e) and (h), to provide the process for[which direct the 
Title and Escrow Commission to make rules pertaining to the 
conduct of title administrative hearings, the delegation 
of]conducting or delegating a title administrative hearings, and 
the imposition of imposing a penalty penalties for a violations of 
statute or rule. 
 
R592-2-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purposes of this rule are: is 
 (a)  to establish procedures for the [Commission]commission: 
 (i) to delegate [authority ]to the commissioner’s 
administrative law judge[department's administrative law judge to] 
the conduct of an administrative hearing to resolve a title 
insurance matter; or 
 (ii)  to conduct an administrative hearing to resolve a title 
insurance matter; and 

(b) to establish procedures for the [Commission]commission, 
[after an investigation by the commissioner],  

(i) to impose penalties; and  
(ii) for the commissioner to concur with the penalties 

imposed. 
 (2)  This rule applies to all title licensees, applicants for 
a title insurance license, unlicensed persons doing the business 
[as a title licensee]of title insurance, and continuing education 
providers submitting title continuing education programs for 
approval. 
 
R592-2-3.  Definitions. 
 For purposes of this rule, the commission adopts the 
definitions set forth in Utah Code Annotated (U.C.A.) Title 31A 
and the following:["Title licensee" has the same meaning as found 
in Section 31A-2-402(3).] 
 (1) “Commission” means the Title and Escrow Commission. 
 (2) “Commissioner” means Utah’s insurance commissioner. 
 (3) “Title insurance matter” means a matter related to: 

(a) title insurance; and  
(b) an escrow conducted by a title producer. 

 
R592-2-4. Title Insurance Matters Referred for Enforcement.   

(1) A title insurance matter referred for enforcement will be 
resolved by: 

(i) an informal adjudicative action pursuant to R592-2-5; 
(ii) a stipulation and order issued by the commissioner; or  
(iii) an administrative hearing conducted either by the 

commission or the commissioner’s administrative law judge pursuant 
to R592-2-6. 

 
 
R592-2-5.  Imposition of a Penalty When an Informal Adjudicative 



Proceeding is Used to Resolve a Title Insurance Matter. 
(1) If the commissioner uses an informal adjudicative 

proceeding as set forth in 63G-4-203 and R590-160 to resolve a 
violation listed in Table 1 below, the commissioner shall use the 
penalties imposed by the commission in this Section. 

(2) The commission shall impose the following penalties on 
title licensees for the violations listed in Table 1 below when 
resolved through an informal adjudicative proceeding.  

 
Table 1 

 
     Violation             1st Proceeding         2nd Proceeding 
 Failure to complete     Individual: $1,000;   Individual: $2,000: 
 required continuing     Agency: n/a           Agency: n/a 
 education hours. 
 
 Failure to respond      Individual: $500;     Individual: $1,000; 
 to an inquiry of        Agency: $750          Agency: $1,500 
 the commissioner. 
 
 Failure to file a       Individual: n/a       Individual: n/a; 
 required rate, form,    Agency: $1,000        Agency: $2,000 
 or report. 
 
 Late filing of a        Individual: n/a;      Individual: n/a; 
 required rate,          Agency: $750          Agency: $1,500 
 form, or report. 
 
 Failure to charge or    Individual: $1,000;   Individual: $2,000; 
 collect a correct       Agency: $2,500        Agency: $5,000 
 premium or a correct  
 filed fee. 
 
 Charging or             Individual: $1,000;   Individual: $2,000;  
 collecting a non-       Agency: $2,500        Agency: $5,000 
 filed required fee. 
 
 Failure to pay          Individual: $500;   Individual: $1,000; 
 assessment when due.    Agency: $750        Agency: $1,500 

 
 
R592-2-4 6.  Use of an Administrative Hearing[s] to Resolve a 
Title Insurance Matter. 

(1)  When the commissioner sets a date for an administrative 
hearing to resolve a title insurance matter, the commissioner 
shall inform the commission of the hearing date. 

 [When an investigation involving title insurance or escrow 
is concluded and the commissioner or the respondent request an 
administrative hearing, the commissioner will report to the 
Commission the commissioner’s conclusion and recommended 
disposition of the matter under investigation.] 
 (2)  After being informed of a hearing date, the[The 
Commission]commission shall [will review the report at each 
meeting and, either]: 



(a) delegate the conduct of the [requested ]administrative 
hearing to the [department's administrative law 
judge]commissioner’s administrative law judge; or 
 (b)  [determine that the Commission will ]conduct the 
requested administrative hearing. 
 (3) For an administrative hearing conducted by the 
[Commission]commission, the [Commission]commission shall[will]: 
 (a)  accept the date, time and place set by the commissioner 
or set a different[the] date, time, and place [of]for the 
administrative hearing; 
 (b)  [notify the title license applicant, the title licensee, 
or the continuing education program]cause notification to be sent 
to the respondent(s), the commissioner’s administrative law judge, 
and the commissioner’s enforcement attorney of the date, time, and 
place of the administrative hearing; 
 (c)  conduct the hearing[:]pursuant to R590-160; 
 [(i)  hear the evidence; and 
 (ii)  make a decision based on the evidence presented;]  
 (d) impose penalties[, with the concurrence of the 
commissioner,] in accordance with Sections 31A-2-308, 31A-23a-111, 
31A-23a-112, 31A-26-213, and 31A-26-214, subject to the 
concurrence of the commissioner; and 
 (e)  issue an Order on Hearing. 
 (4)  The [department's]commissioner’s administrative law 
judge [will]shall assist the [Commission]commission in its conduct 
of an administrative hearing as required. 
 
R592-2-5 7.  Imposition of Penalties. 
 [(1)] The commission shall impose a penalty as follows: 
 (1) for an informal adjudicative proceeding, a penalty shall 
be imposed in accordance with Table 1 in R592-2-5; 
 (2) for a stipulation and order issued by the commissioner, 
the commission shall impose the recommended penalty or a different 
penalty, subject to the concurrence of the commissioner; 
 (a)(i) If the commission imposes a penalty other than that 
recommended by the commissioner, the respondent may: 
 (A) accept the commission’s penalty; or 
 (B) reject the commission’s penalty; 
 (b) if a respondent rejects the penalty imposed by the 
commission, the stipulation and order shall be rescinded and 
returned to the commissioner for resolution; 
 (3) for an administrative hearing conducted by the 
commissioner’s administrative law judge pursuant to R592-2-6 
(2)(a), the commission shall impose the recommended penalty or a 
different penalty, subject to the concurrence of the commissioner; 
or[If the resolution of the investigation is an administrative 
hearing conducted by the department's administrative law judge and 
the administrative a penalty, the Commission must concur with the 
penalty imposed, prior to the imposition of the penalty.] 
 (4)[(2)  If the resolution of the investigation is]for an 
administrative hearing conducted by the [Commission]commission, 
[and the administrative hearing imposes]the commission shall 
impose a penalty, subject to the concurrence of the 
commissioner[the commissioner must concur with the penalty imposed 



, prior to the imposition of the penalty]. 
 
 
R592-2-[6]8.  Severability. 
 If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to 
any person or situation is held invalid, that invalidity shall not 
affect any other provision or application of this rule which can 
be given effect without the invalid provision or application, and 
to this end the provisions of this rule are declared to be 
severable.[If any section, term, or provision of this rule shall 
be adjudged invalid for any reason, such judgment shall not 
affect, impair or invalidate any other section, term, or provision 
of this rule and the remaining sections, terms, and provisions 
shall be and remain in full force.] 
 
R592-2-[7]9.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing this rule upon the 
rule's effective date. 
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