TOQUERVILLE CITY



RESOLUTION 2020.XX DISCHARGE OF FIREWORKS

A RESOLUTION TO DESIGNATE A SPECIFIC LOCATION AND TIMES TO DISCHARGE FIREWORKS WITHIN THE CITY LIMITS FOR PUBLIC SAFETY REASONS.

WHEREAS, the Toquerville City Council recognizes the need to establish a criteria for discharging fireworks with in the city; and

WHEREAS, Utah State Law dictates specific times and dates class C fireworks shall be discharged; and

WHEREAS, the City of Toquerville desires to notify citizens of the allowed location and specific times to discharge fireworks to preserve the general health, welfare, and fire safety of the community.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED THAT:

- 1. Fireworks may be discharged **only** on the following dates and times:
 - a. Beginning July 2 and ending July 5 between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., except on July 4th discharge hours are from 11:00 a.m. to midnight.
 - b. Beginning July 22 and ending July 25 between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m., except on July 24 discharge hours are from 11:00 a.m. to midnight.
 - c. Beginning December 31st at 11:00 am and ending at 1:00 am the following day.
 - d. Beginning at 11:00 am on the Chinese New Year's Eve (January 25, 2020) and ending at 1:00 a.m. on the following day.
- 2. Fireworks may only be discharged on Center Street City Parking Lot, and Trail Ridge Estate Parking Lot.
- 3. Any person who violates the restrictions in part one of this resolution, is guilty of an infraction per state code 53-7-225(4) Punishable by a fine of up to \$1,000.00.

THIS RESOLUTION shall repeal and supersede all prior resolutions governing fireworks discharge and become effective immediately upon approval and adoption by the Toquerville City Council.

ADOPTED BY THE TOO	HERVII I E CI	TY COUNCIL	_, STATE OF UTAH, ON THIS	DAY
OF, 2			· -	DAT
Councilman:				
Justin Sip	AYE	NAE	ABSTAIN/ABSENT	
Keen Ellsworth	AYE	NAE	ABSTAIN/ABSENT	
Ty Bringhurst	AYE	NAE	ABSTAIN/ABSENT	
Gary Chaves	AYE	NAE	ABSTAIN/ABSENT	
John "Chuck" Williams	AYE	NAE	ABSTAIN/ABSENT	
		Attest:		
 Lynn Chamberlain		Ru	th Evans	
Mayor		Toquerville City Recorder		