

What is the Central Wasatch Commission (CWC)?

The CWC is an interlocal governmental entity and political subdivision of the State of Utah representing Town of Alta, Cottonwood Heights, Millcreek, Park City, Sandy City, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Summit County, and Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT). Our mission is to implement long term recreation, transportation, economic development and sustainability initiatives in the Central Wasatch area. Our efforts are consensus driven and work to achieve the long term health and vitality of the Central Wasatch Mountains.

How was the CWC formed?

The CWC was formed through an Interlocal Agreement signed by each jurisdiction in July 2017.

How is the CWC funded?

Each of the Commission jurisdictions contribute funds to the CWC.

What does the CWC have authority to do?

What We Are: Powers granted by the Interlocal Cooperation Act. Enter contracts, hire staff. Collectively seek, hold, distribute funds.

What We're Not: No authorities given up by Commissioner jurisdictions. No regulatory authority. No authority over local land use/zoning. No authority to levy tax. No condemnation authority.

What are the major projects?

Federal legislation, transportation studies in conjunction with UDOT, and Environmental Dashboard.

Who are the Commissioners?

Chair: Chris McCandless, Sandy City Councilman Vice-Chair: Jackie Biskupski, Salt Lake City Mayor Treasurer: Jim Bradley, Salt Lake County Councilman Secretary: Chris Robinson, Summit County Councilman

Mike Peterson, Cottonwood Heights Mayor

Harris Sondak, Alta Mayor Jeff Silvestrini, Millcreek Mayor Andy Beerman, Park City Mayor Carlos Braceras, UDOT Director

Vacant seat: Salt Lake County Mayor (previously held by Mayor Ben McAdams)

Who are the staff?

Ralph Becker, Executive Director, ralph@cwc.utah.gov; 801-550-2812

Lindsey Nielsen, Communications Director, lindsey@cwc.utah.gov; 801-706-1004

Visit our website: cwc.utah.gov



Population

Summit County population: 41,106 (2017, U.S. Census Bureau)
Salt Lake County population: 1,136,000 (2017, U.S. Census Bureau)

Unincorporated Salt Lake County and Salt Lake County Metro Townships population:

~90,000 (2018, as reported by the Deseret News) **Total population the CWC represents: 1,267,106**

Councilors of CWC Jurisdictions

Alta Town Council: Margaret Bourke, Cliff Curry, Elise Morgan, Sheridan Davis **Cottonwood Heights City Council:** Michael Shelton, Scott Bracken, Tali C. Bruce,

Christine Watson Mikell

Salt Lake County Council: Jenny Wilson, Richard Snelgrove, Jim Bradley, Arlyn Bradshaw,

Michael Jensen, Aimee Winder Newton, Ann Granato, Steve DeBry, Max Burdick

Salt Lake City Council: James Rogers, Andrew Johnston, Chris Wharton, Derek Kitchen,

Erin Mendenhall, Charlie Luke, Amy Fowler

Millcreek City Council: Silvia Catten, Dwight Marchant, Cheri Jackson, Bev Uipi

Park City Council: Becca Gerber, Tim Henney, Steve Joyce, Lynn Ware-Peek, Nann Worel

Sandy City Council: Brooke Christensen, Maren Barker, Kristin Coleman-Nicholl, Chris McCandless,

Zach Robinson, Steve Fairbanks, Linda Martinez Saville

Sandy City Mayor: Kurt Bradburn

Summit County Council: Kim Carson, Roger Armstrong, Doug Clyde, Chris Robinson,

Glenn Wright