MINUTES OF THE LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Monday, January 29, 2018 ● 5:30 p.m. ● 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

President Wayne L. Niederhauser, Chair Speaker Gregory H. Hughes, Vice Chair

Sen. J. Stuart Adams

Sen. Gene Davis

Sen. Luz Escamilla

Sen. Jani Iwamoto

Sen. Peter C. Knudson

Sen. Karen Mayne

Sen. Ralph Okerlund

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

Rep. Sandra Hollins

Rep. Brian S. King

Rep. John Knotwell

Rep. Angela Romero

Rep. Brad R. Wilson

Members Absent:

Rep. Francis D. Gibson

Staff Present:

Mr. John Q. Cannon, Director

Mr. John L. Fellows, General Counsel Ms. Andrea Crabb, Legislative Assistant

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Nays-0

Chair Hughes called the meeting to order 5:54 p.m.

1. Committee Business

MOTION: President Niederhauser moved to approve the December 12, 2017, minutes. The motion passed

with a vote of 14 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-14

Absent-2

Rep. J. Briscoe

Sen. G. Davis

Sen. J. Adams Rep. F. Gibson

Sen. L. Escamilla

Rep. S. Hollins

Rep. G. Hughes

Sen. J. Iwamoto

Rep. B. King

Rep. J. Knotwell

Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. W. Niederhauser

Sen. R. Okerlund

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. B. Wilson

2. Risk Management Settlement

Mr. Brian Nelson, Director, Division of Risk Management, provided information regarding the settlement.

Risk Management Settlement

MOTION: Sen. Davis moved that the committee recommend that the Division of Risk Management execute

the financial settlement agreement. The motion passed with a vote of 15 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-15 Nays-0 Absent-1

Sen. J. Adams

Rep. J. Briscoe

Sen. G. Davis

Sen. L. Escamilla

Rep. S. Hollins

Rep. G. Hughes

Sen. J. Iwamoto

Rep. B. King

Rep. J. Knotwell

Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. W. Niederhauser

Sen. R. Okerlund

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. B. Wilson

3. Ethics Commissions Reports and Request

Ms. Kim Bouck, Executive Director, Independent Legislative Ethics Commission, presented the 2017 annual report.

Independent Legislative Ethics Commission

Independent Executive Branch Ethics Commission 2017 Annual Summary Data Report

Mr. Paul Amman made a statement regarding the Executive Branch Ethics Commission.

Complainant's Supplemental Report on the Independent Executive Branch Ethics Commission

Ms. Wanda Amman requested an audit be completed on the Independent Executive Branch Ethics Commission.

Ms. Brooke Harkness, Executive Director, Utah Political Subdivisions Ethics Commission, spoke to the letter submitted regarding a salary increase for the executive director of the commission.

Letter from the Utah Political Subdivisions Ethics Commission

Mr. Robert Williams spoke in support of the salary increase for Ms. Harkness.

4. Utah Division of Emergency Management's Expenditure of Funds from State Disaster Recovery Restricted Account

Rep. F. Gibson

Mr. Kris Hamlet, Director, Utah Division of Emergency Management, presented a report of expenditures made by the .

Notification of Expenditures Made by the Utah Department of Public Safety

5 . Reimbursement Policy for Mobile Phones

John Cannon, Director, Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, provided context for the agenda item.

Steve Allred, Deputy Director, the Office of the Legislative Fiscal Analyst, presented the proposed policy for cell phone reimbursement and answered questions from the committee.

Cell Phone Policy

MOTION: Sen. Davis moved to adpot the policy for reimbursement of personal mobile phones. The motion passed with a vote of 15 - 0 - 1.

<u>Yeas-15</u> <u>Nays-0</u> <u>Absent-1</u> Rep. F. Gibson

Rep. J. Briscoe

Sen. G. Davis

Sen. L. Escamilla

Rep. S. Hollins

Rep. G. Hughes

Sen. J. Iwamoto

Rep. B. King

Rep. J. Knotwell

Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. W. Niederhauser

Sen. R. Okerlund

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. B. Wilson

6. Litigation Report

John Fellows, General Counsel, Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, provided context about the intitiation of litigation with a vote from this committee.

Senator Wayne Harper requested the Legislature join NCSL's amicus brief in the case of South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc.

MOTION: President Niederhauser moved to direct staff to review NCSL's amicus brief and, if appropriate, join the amicus brief. The motion passed with a vote of 14 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-14 Nays-0 Absent-2

Sen. J. Adams

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. B. Wilson

Sen. G. Davis

Sen. L. Escamilla

Rep. S. Hollins

Rep. G. Hughes

Sen. J. Iwamoto

Rep. B. King

Rep. J. Knotwell

Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. W. Niederhauser

Sen. R. Okerlund

Rep. A. Romero

7. Other Items / Adjourn

MOTION: President Niederhauser moved to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 14 - 0 - 2.

Yeas-14 Nays-0 Absent-2

Sen. J. Adams

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. B. Wilson

Sen. G. Davis

Sen. L. Escamilla

Rep. S. Hollins

Rep. G. Hughes

Sen. J. Iwamoto

Rep. B. King

Rep. J. Knotwell

Sen. P. Knudson

Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. W. Niederhauser

Sen. R. Okerlund Rep. A. Romero

Chair Hughes adjourned the meeting 6:48 p.m.