NOTICE OF PROPOSED ASSESSMENT AREA DESIGNATION
Dated September 7, 2011
	The Wasatch County Fire Protection Special Service District (“Fire District”) by and through its Administrative Control Board (the “Board”), and pursuant to the Utah Code Ann. §11-42-101 et. seq., also known as the Utah Assessment Area Act, proposes to designate an “Assessment Area” (as defined by Utah Code Ann. §11-42-102(2)) for the purpose of funding the operation and maintenance of the Jordanelle Fire Station (“Jordanelle Station”) located at 10420 Jordanelle Blvd., Heber City, Utah 84032 and for the purpose of continually operating and maintaining any additional fire fighting facilities within the Assessment Area as and when the circumstances indicate that they are needed (“Additional Facilities”) .
	The proposed Assessment Area will consist of all of the real property situated within the Jordanelle Basin Overlay Zone.  A map showing the property within the Assessment Area is attached as Exhibit A (a larger reproduction is available).
	In 1999, the Fire District enacted a resolution to create the Jordanelle Station.  The Jordanelle Station, located at 10420 Jordanelle Blvd., Heber, Utah 84032, was built and its continued operation constitutes an improvement in the Jordanelle area.  The Jordanelle Station provides emergency EMT and fire protection services to the residents of the proposed Assessment Area.  The purpose of this assessment is to pay for the operation and maintenance costs of the Jordanelle Station and any Additional Facilities.
	A committee was formed to gather input from residents of the Jordanelle area regarding how to fund the Jordanelle Station.  After having received input from the committee, the Fire District has proposed to levy an assessment based on the system outlined below.  This method equitably reflects the benefit received from the improvement.  The assessment system would charge the following rates based on stage of development:
Improved Property—$25.00 per month per residential unit (the term residential unit includes each individual hotel room and condominium unit) for a total of approximately $300.00 per year per residential unit.
Unimproved Property with publicly or privately owned infrastructure on it (which infrastructure is defined as an “Improvement”)—$20.00 per month per platted lot (which has required utilities, roads and infrastructure so that a building permit may be issued) for a total of approximately $240.00 per year per platted lot.
Unimproved Property based on density determination—$6.66 per month per ERU of approved density determination for a total of approximately $79.92 per year per ERU of approved density determination.
	The terms “Improved property”, “Unimproved property”, “Improvement” and “ERU” are defined in the Utah Assessment Area Act.
	Assessments will be made to pay for the operation and maintenance costs of the Jordanelle Station and any Additional Facilities, in an amount sufficient to cover the annual budget.  The initial estimated annual assessment to be levied is $1,150,762.00.  An assessment will be levied each year to cover the Fire District’s annual budget for that year. These assessments will be payable on a monthly basis, and at the time of the issuance of the assessment, any unpaid amount for that year will appear as a line item on the owners’ property tax bill.  In addition to a tax lien and recovery thereby, and all other remedies allowed by law, any amounts that remain unpaid constitute a personal debt of the person who owned the property at the time of the unpaid assessment.
	The following operation and maintenance costs are included in the assessment: various personnel costs, insurance, training, maintenance, utilities, equipment purchase and repairs, as well as other costs necessary to operate and maintain the Jordanelle Station and any Additional Facilities.  
	The Fire District may adjust the assessment amount at any time by the majority vote of the Board.  If the Fire District adjusts the amount assessed in a way that increases the amount of the assessment, it will follow the procedure set out in Utah Code Ann. §11-42-402 by giving notice to affected property owners. 
	This assessment may be levied for a maximum period of 5 years according to Utah Code Ann. §11-42-401(7).  After the end of 5 years the Fire District may renew the assessment by going through the steps outlined in the Utah Code.  
	A public hearing will be held to consider the Assessment Area, the assessment amount, and all objections and protests, on October 6, 2011 at the Fire Station located at 10420 Jordanelle Blvd., Heber, Utah 84032, at 6 P.M.  This hearing may be continued from time to time as needed, in accordance with Utah Code Ann. §11-42-204(2).
	Protests must be filed by the close of the meeting on October 6, 2011 at Jordanelle Fire Station located at 10420 Jordanelle Blvd., Heber, Utah 84032.  In order to determine whether there are “Adequate Protests” each tier of the assessment will be calculated separately and there must be at least 50% of the amount charged in that tier to defeat the proposed assessment.  In order to be valid the protest must be in writing and must be filed by the deadline outlined above.  Any protests received after that time will not be considered in determining whether there are Adequate Protests.
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