Minutes
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
Utah Horse Racing Commission Meeting
January 11, 2016 @ 3:00 p.m.

Attendees:
Grant Larsen, Chairman				Kathleen Mathews, UDAF
Dave Giles, Member					Korry Trapp, Utah Quarter Horse
Gary Allred, Member					Kevin Birrell, Utah Quarter Horse
Tyler Hunter, Member				Lane Henderson, Pres., Utah Quarter Horse
[bookmark: _GoBack]Dave Swett, Member					Senator David Hinkins
Scott Ericson, Deputy Commissioner			Lewis Ekstrom, UDAF	
Melissa Ure						Jeannie Hullinger, Utah Quarter Horse
							Kevin Hullinger, Utah Quarter Horse

Grant Larsen conducted the meeting

Approval of Minutes	
A motion to approve the minutes was made by Dave Giles, motion was seconded by Dave Swett, motion to accept the minutes passed unanimously.

Draft Application for License
This is a draft that Lewis Ekstrom helped put together.  In our last meeting it was discussed having a test to verify that individuals are reading the rules and paying attention to the rules, which would help limit liability for both the organizations and the State.  This would also help to simplify the licensing process.

Dave Swett – Questions No 2.  It is against racing rules if you have been convicted of a felony that you can’t be approved.  But if you have been suspended in any other state, we should not set limits.  Once someone has done their suspension, we can’t stop anyone from getting a license.  No. 2 should be stricken and in its place, Have you ever been convicted of a felony (That is nationwide)

Melissa commented that in our rules it is stated that you can, not issue a license if they have been suspended.  

It was decided to strike number 2 and to add that anyone convicted of a felony cannot be approved.  Also to add a box they can write the state where they have been suspended.

It was decided to honor suspensions from outside the State of Utah.

It was asked whether or not the “test” had to be taken every time - regarding basic knowledge.  Everyone was okay with the 10 questions.
Tyler Hunter made motion was made to change currently under suspension, if yes where, and add if they have ever been convicted on a felony and remove number 2.  Motion was seconded by Gary Allred.  Motion passed unanimously

There was discussion of having a three year license and it would be triple the annual fee.  

Scott commented that it would be a rule change.

Dave Swett made a motion to add a 3 year license for $150 and then renewal of license for $50.00.  Motion was seconded by Dave Giles.  Motion passed unanimously.

A discussion on partnerships.  In the past only one partner was licensed.  Should we only license one owner?

Scott referenced the past minutes where it states we need to instate the $10 fee that all veterinarians need to pay.  If an individual is listed on the ownership papers they will need to buy a license.

Should owners be required to take the test?  The test is safety oriented.  It was decided to keep the rules how they are.

Should we allow a trainer to pay for the owner? (a temporary license for 30 days)  This will be incorporated into the form.  Tyler Hunter made a motion to approve a trainer paying for an owner.  Motion was seconded by Dave Giles, motion passed unanimously.

Approval of Races Dates
Dixie Downs  - April 2, 16, 2017

LBT – April 22, 23, and May 7th

Weber Downs - May 21, June 4th, 2016

A motion was made to accept the race days by Dave Giles, motion seconded by Dave Swett, motioned passed unanimously.  

For the Bitter Root Race dates - We will address those dates at the St. George Races on April 1, 2016.

Scales
Scott commented that in the rules, all jockeys taking part in the races must be weighed no more than 1 hour prior to the race in order for them to race.   It was commented that all races tracks had scales and are following that procedure.

Scott commented it has been discussed sending out a letter through the different organizations, such as horse council, different racing organizations to jockeys and owners that we have on file, letting them know what rules the Racing Commission is going to focus us.  The rules are long and we have not been doing a good job of following the rules.   We will send a list of 6-8 items that the Commission is going to focus on, then the following year we will focus on additional items.  The plan for the letter is to notify individuals/organizations of the rule changes (effective January, 2016) regarding:

Silks
Numbers
Long sleeves
Tattooing (took away discretion)
Enforce Licensing, see I.D. but not take a copy of it
Verify Age
Three Year inforce the license
License application that has a short test
Enforcement for access on the paddock for liability purposes

Action Item:  Scott to Draft a letter and send out to the racing organizations and to the Horse Council.

Scott asked if he could get the list that Jeannie has put together as a check list that her organization uses to be ready.  It will help St. George since they rotate the duties to their different members.  Jeannie mentioned that she would put a list together to help them.

UDAF is asking for a change in the Utah Horse Racing Commission Board.  The language has been drafted; Representative Sandall from Box Elder County will run the legislation.  It would add a representative from both Dixie Downs and the Utah Quarter Horse Association to the Board.  It is important since the groups that are putting on the races have input to rule changes and how races are handled in the State.  It is in a cleanup bill.  The more individuals involved the better.

Scott mentioned his appreciation to Senator Hinkins for what he does for agriculture and the horse racing industry. 

It cost each organization $9,000 - $10,000 a day to put on horse racing meet.  The Department of Agriculture has only $20,000 to split between the 2 different organizations.

Senator Hinkins mentioned that he might be able to increase the amount to $30,000 through the legislature.

The question was asked regarding Board Member appointments, how long do they last, when they come up, are we expanding, how other people get on the board.
	
	Currently there are five, it will expand to seven.
	They are four year terms but can go for two terms (which would be 8 years).
	Individuals apply on the Governors Boards and Commissions website.

Kent Linbaugh received a letter from the Lion Club explaining what happened and he will now drop the matter.

Next Meeting
April 1, 2016 at 7:00 p.m.  We will send out information for location.

Motion to adjourn by Dave Swett, Dave Giles seconded motion, motion passed unanimously.



	
	
