Utah State Archives

Parent Agency:
Agency: Board of Pardons and Parole

448 East 6400 South
Suite 300

Salt Lake City, UT 84107
801-261-6464

Records Officer Greg Johnson

80134 Criminal history case files
14829 Hearing recordings
20374 High-profile criminal history case files

Destroying records in accordance with this agency Retention Schedule
is in compliance with the Archives and Records Service and Government
Records Access and Management Act (UCA 63-2-101 et seq.).

The Agency classifies its records under provisions of the Government
Records Access and Management Act (UCA 63-2-101 et seq.). Classifications
have not been approved by the State Records Committee.

This ageg/cuetention schedule was approved by the State Records Committee in
15.
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Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Board of Pardons and Parole

SERIES: 80134

TITLE: Criminal history case files

DATES: 1960-

ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by name

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 50.00 cubic feet.

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to determine when and
under what conditions persons under the jurisdiction of the
Department of Corrections may be released upon parole, pardoned,
ordered to pay restitution, or have their sentences commuted or
terminated (Utah Code 77-27-5(2010)). Records contain a
comprehensive history of a criminal offender including the
offender's name, history of charges and commitments, name of case
worker, copies of court records, restitution data,
correspondence, and all other agency reports and agreements.

RETENTION:

Retain 30 years after parole is terminated.

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office until parole is terminated and then
transfer to State Records Center. Retain in State Records Center
for 30 years and then destroy.

APPRAISAL.:

Administrative

RETENTION JUSTIFICATION:



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Board of Pardons and Parole

SERIES: 80134
TITLE: Criminal history case files

(continued)

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:

Public

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Private. Utah Code 63G-2-302(2015).
Protected. Utah Code 63G-2-305(10)(a)(2015).

Controlled. Utah Code 63G-2-304(2008).



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Board of Pardons and Parole

SERIES: 14829

TITLE: Hearing recordings

DATES: 1982-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological by date of hearing.

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 3.50 cubic feet.

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to determine when and
under what conditions persons under the jurisdiction of the
Department of Corrections may be released upon parole, pardoned,
ordered to pay restitution, or have their sentences commuted or
terminated (Utah Code 77-27-5)(2010)). These records document
parole hearings wherein the conditions and actions above are
determined. Information includes verbatim audio recordings and

may include transcripts in death penalty cases (Utah Code
77-27-8(1)(2010)).

RETENTION:

Retain 30 years after parole is terminated.

DISPOSITION:
Transfer to the State Archives with authority to weed.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Sound recordings: For records beginning in 2003 through 2008.
Retain in Office for 5 years after parole is terminated and then
transfer to State Records Center. Retain in State Records Center
for 25 years and then transfer to State Archives with authority

to weed.

Computer data files: For records beginning in 2009 and continuing
to the present. Retain in Office for 30 years after parole is
terminated and then transfer to State Archives with authority to
weed.

Sound recordings: For records beginning in 1982 through 2002.
Retain in State Archives permanently with authority to weed.



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Board of Pardons and Parole

SERIES: 14829
TITLE: Hearing recordings

(continued)
APPRAISAL:

Administrative Historical Legal

This legal appraisal is based on Utah Code 77-27-5(2010). The
historical appraisal is based on the research value of these
records as they evidence our current legal system and law
enforcement activities.

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Public

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Protected. Utah Code 63G-2-305(13,14)(2014))



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Board of Pardons and Parole

SERIES: 20374

TITLE: High-profile criminal history case files

DATES: 1987-

ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by surname

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 1.00 cubic foot.

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to determine when and
under what conditions persons under the jurisdiction of the
Department of Corrections may be released upon parole, pardoned,
ordered to pay restitution, or have their sentences commuted or
terminated (Utah Code 77-27-5(2010)). Files contain a
comprehensive history of high-profile criminal offenders, as
determined by the agency, including commitment papers, agency
reports, admittance and assessment records (face sheet),
treatment plans, detainers, education and work records,

correspondence, psychological profiles, and pre-sentence
investigations.

RETENTION:

Retain 30 years after parole is terminated.

DISPOSITION:
Transfer to the State Archives with authority to weed.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office until parole is terminated and then
transfer to State Records Center. Retain in State Records Center
for 30 years and then transfer to State Archives with authority

to weed.

APPRAISAL:

Historical

This disposition is based on the historical value of this series
as it documents high-profile criminal cases within Utah.



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Board of Pardons and Parole

SERIES: 20374
TITLE: High-profile criminal history case files

(continued)

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Public

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Private. Utah Code 63G-2-302(2)(d)(2014)
Controlled. Utah Code 63G-2-304(1)(2008)



Parent Agency:

Agency:

Utah State Archives

Human Services
People with Disabilities

Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services.
Developmental Center

State Developmental Center

895 North 900 East

American Fork, UT 84003

801-763-4000

Records Officer Amy Lewis

59944
28760
28767
26523
27942

Client profile records
Consent records

Incident reports

Liability prevention case files
Treatment logs

Destroying records in accordance with this agency Retention Schedule
is in compliance with the Archives and Records Service and Government
Records Access and Management Act (UCA 63-2-101 et seq.).

The Agency classifies its records under provisions of the Government
Records Access and Management Act (UCA 63-2-101 et seq.). Classifications
have not been approved by the State Records Committee.

etention schedule was approved by the State Records Committee in

v
Exeedtive Secretary Chair, State Records Commiue
State Records Committee Date: Zl /D/Z/) lg




Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services.
Developmental Center

SERIES: 59944

TITLE: Client profile records

DATES: 1930-

ARRANGEMENT: Numerical by client number.

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION:

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to provide services,
treatment, and care for people with intellectual disabilities
residing at the Developmental Center (Utah Code 62A-5-201(2011)).
Records document the diagnosis, admission, and discharge of
clients. Pre-admission information, birth certificates, burial
plans, and other legal records may be included.

RETENTION:

Retain 7 years after client leaves the center.

DISPOSITION:
Transfer to the State Archives with authority to weed.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office until scanned and then transfer to State
Records Center. Retain in State Records Center for 7 years and
then transfer to State Archives with authority to weed provided
client has left.

Microfilm master: Retain in State Archives permanently.
APPRAISAL:

Administrative Historical

These records have historical value as they document the
treatment of persons with disabilities under state care.



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services. Developmental
Center

SERIES: 59944

TITLE: Client profile records

(continued)

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Exempt 45 CFR 1643502(a)(2)(2015)

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Controlled. Utah Code 63G-2-304(2008)

Private. Utah Code 63G-2-302(1)(b)(2015)



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services.

SERIES:
TTILE:
DATES:

Developmental Center
28760

Consent records
2010-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological.

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION:
DESCRIPTION:

These records support the agency's function to provide care,
services, and treatment to qualifying persons with intellectual
disabilities residing at the Developmental Center (Utah Code
62A-5-201(2011)). Records document permissions granted for
emergency and psychotropic treatment, restriction of rights, and

pathogen testing, and include guardian notifications, waivers and
related consents.

RETENTION:

Retain 7 years.

DISPOSITION:

Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

All Formats: Retain in Office for 7 years and then destroy.

APPRAISAL.:

Administrative

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services. Developmental
Center

SERIES: 28760
TITLE: Consent records

(continued)

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Exempt 45 CFR 164.502(a)(2)(2015)

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Private. Utah Code 63G-2-302(1)(b)(2015)
Controlled. Utah Code 63G-2-304(2008)



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services.

SERIES:
TITLE:
DATES:

Developmental Center
28767

Incident reports

2011-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological.
ANNUAL ACCUMULATION:
DESCRIPTION:

These records support the agency's function to provide care,
services, and treatment of people with intellectual disabilities
residing at the developmental center (Utah Code 62A-5-201(2011)).
Incident reports document staff observations of problematic

client behavior as well as responsive actions taken, such as use

of mechanical restraints.

RETENTION:

Retain 2 years.

DISPOSITION:

Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

All Formats: Retain in Office for 2 years and then destroy.

APPRAISAL:

Administrative Legal

These records are required to be created in Utah Code
62A-15-640(1)(2002). Staff reports behavior, clients absent
without leave, and the use of mechanical restraints.

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services. Developmental
Center

SERIES: 28767
TITLE: Incident reports

(continued)

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Private 63G-2-302(1)(b)(2015)

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Controlled. 63G-2-304(2008)



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services.
Developmental Center

SERIES: 26523

TITLE: Liability prevention case files

DATES: 1992-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological by date of case closure.

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 2.00 cubic feet.

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to provide care,
services, and treatment of people with intellectual disabilities
residing at the Developmental Center (Utah Code 62A-5-201(2011)).
Records document measures taken to provide for the safety of the
clients and security of the premises and include logs, bed

checks, fire drills, door alarms, building checks, and related
records.

RETENTION:

Retain 2 years.

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the
purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to

Utah State Archives.
Paper: Retain in Office for 2 years and then destroy.

Computer data files: Retain in Office for 2 years and then
delete.

APPRAISAL:

Administrative



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services. Developmental

Center
SERIES: 26523
TITLE: Liability prevention case files

(continued)

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:

Protected Utah Code 63G-2-305(12)(2015)



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services.

Developmental Center

SERIES: 27942
TITLE: Treatment logs
DATES: 1960-

ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by client's name.
ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 0.20 cubic feet.
DESCRIPTION:

These records support the agency's function to provide care,
services, and treatment of people with intellectual disabilities
residing at the Developmental Center (Utah Code 62A-5-201(2011)).
Logs identify the medical needs of clients and track the
administration by staff of medication, controlled substances, as

well as medicated shampoos, prescribed lotions, and bowel aids.

RETENTION:

Retain 4 years.

DISPOSITION:

Destroy.

APPROVED: 12/2012

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office for 4 years and then destroy.

APPRAISAL:

Administrative

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Office of Social Services. Developmental
Center

SERIES: 27942
TITLE: Treatment logs

(continued)

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Exempt 45 CFR 164.502(a)(2)(2013)

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Controlled.  Utah Code 63G-2-304(2008)
Private. Utah Code 63G-2-302(1)(b)(2015)



Utah State Archives

Parent Agency: Natural Resources Department
Oil, Gas, & Mining Division

Agency: Department of Natural Resources. Division of QOil, Gas, and
Mining
1594 West North Temple, Suite 1210
P.O. Box 145801
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-5801
801-538-5279

Records Officer Vicky Dyson

28764 Utah mining oral histories

Destroying records in accordance with this agency Retention Schedule
is in compliance with the Archives and Records Service and Government
Records Access and Management Act (UCA 63-2-101 et seq.).

The Agency classifies its records under provisions of the Government
Records Access and Management Act (UCA 63-2-101 et seq.). Classifications
have not been approved by the State Records Committee.

This agenc e;entlon schedule was approved by the State Records Committee in

e WY,

Exe ative Secretary Chair, State Records Comr(:ultee
State Records Committee Date: /Z /0/&0/»’5




Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Natural Resources. Division of Oil, Gas, and Mining

SERIES: 28764

TITLE: Utah mining oral histories

DATES: 2010-

ARRANGEMENT:

ANNUAL ACCUMULATION:

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's administrative function to
preserve Utah's mining heritage. These files contain all of the
collected materials relating to the oral histories of Utah
miners, including the raw audio and video files, photographs,
transcripts, consent forms, published movies, and other printed
promotional materials.

RETENTION:

Retain in Office for 1 year.

DISPOSITION:
Transfer to the State Archives permanently.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

All Formats: Retain in Office for 1 year and then transfer to
State Archives with authority to weed.

APPRAISAL.:

Historical

This disposition is based on the historical value of this series
to provide researchers with documentation of the mining
communities within Utah.



Utah State Archives

AGENCY: Department of Natural Resources. Division of Qil, Gas, and Mining

SERIES: 28764
TITLE: Utah mining oral histories

(continued)

In Utah, there are no statutes mandating a retention for inmate records, but
Utah Code 76-3-202 defines the maximum parole period for inmates based
on the crime that has been committed. The original maximum period for a
released inmate was 10 years. The original retention decision was 5 years
after closed per RDR# 76-45. It was then decided that, due to potential
recidivism of the parolees, criminal records should be kept for the entire
10-year period. In November 2005, the Board determined that the previous
decision was inadequate to meet their administrative needs and requested it
be lengthened to 15 years. In 2010, the board requested the retention

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Public



