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Driver Education 

The District hereby establishes driver education in the District, as set forth in this policy, to help 
develop the knowledge, attitudes, habits, and skills necessary for the safe operation of motor 
vehicles. 
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-13-201(3)(2006)(2008) 
 
Ages for Written Testing 

A District school offering driver education shall provide each enrolled student the opportunity to 
take the written test when the student is 15 years and 9 months of age.  The school may permit an 
enrolled student to take the written test when the student is 15 years of age. 
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-13-201(2)(2006)(2008) 
 
Components of Driver Education  

Driver education shall consist of classroom portion of instruction and behind-the-wheel and 
observation portion of instruction. 
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-13-201(2)(2006)(2008) 
 
Classroom Training 

The classroom training portion of driver education will consist of instruction in accordance with 
the rules established by the State Board of Office of Education, which will take place  in class 
instruction held at the school outside of regular school hours. 
. Utah Code § 53A-13-209 (2008).] 
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-13-209(2003)(2008) 
Utah Admin. Rules R277-746 (November 8, 2011) 
 
Behind-the-Wheel Training 

The District in accordance with the rules established by the State Office of Education will 
provide the behind-the-wheel and observation portion of driver education. 
Utah Code Ann. § 53A-13-201(2006) 
The behind-the-wheel and observation portion of driver education will be provided by the 
District in accordance with the rules established by the State Office of Education. 
Utah Code § 53A-13-201 (2008) 
 
Funding 
Driver education in the District shall be solely funded through student fees and funds from the 
Automobile Driver Education Tax Account.  However, for these purposes, the cost of driver 
education does not include the full-time equivalent cost of a teacher for each driver education 
class taught during regular school hours, or the cost of classroom space and maintenance. 
Utah Code § 53A-13-202(1)(a) (2003) 
 
The Board of Education will set the student fee required for participation in driver education in 
the District, which fee shall be determined by taking into consideration the costs associated with 
providing driver education which are not covered by reimbursements from the Automobile 
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Driver Education Tax Account.  Student fees shall also take into account costs, which are not 
covered because of students obtaining a waiver of driver education fees. 
Utah Code § 53A-13-202(7) (2003) 
 
The District shall submit to the State Superintendent of Public Instruction as required by the 
State Board of Education all reports required to obtain reimbursement of driver education costs 
from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account. 
Utah Code § 53A-13-204 (2003) 
 
 
 
 


