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ADMINISTRATIVE BUSINESS: 
1. Call Meeting to Order 

  
  
  
DISCUSSION ITEMS 

1. Rule Review and Rewrite. 
       Specifically R156-47b-302 and R156-47b-302a 
  

 
 
TENTATIVELY SCHEDULED MEETINGS FOR 2015: 
Tuesday March 17, 2015:  Tuesday May 19, 2015;  Tuesday July 
21, 2015; Tuesday September, 22, 2015;  Tuesday November 14, 
2015. 
 
Note:  In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, 
individuals needing special accommodations (including auxiliary 
communicative aids and services) during this meeting should notify, 
Dave Taylor, ADA Coordinator, at least three working days prior to 
the meeting. Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing, 160 
East 300 South, Salt Lake City, Utah 84115, 801-530-6628 or toll-
free in Utah only 866-275-3675.  
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R156-47b-302. Qualifications for Licensure as a Massage Therapist - 
Massage School 
Curriculum Standards. 
In accordance with Subsection 58-47b-302(2)(e)(i)(A), an applicant must 
graduate 
from a school of massage with a curriculum, which at the time of graduation, 
meets the 
following standards: 
(1) Curricula shall: 
(a) be registered with the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of Consumer 
Protection; or 
(b) be registered with an accrediting agency recognized by the United States 
Department of Education. 
(2) Curricula shall be a minimum of 600 hours and shall include the following: 
(a) anatomy, physiology and kinesiology - 125 hours; 
(b) pathology - 40 hours; 
(c) massage theory, massage techniques including the five basic Swedish 
massage 
strokes, and hands on instruction - 285 hours; 
(d) professional standards, ethics and business practices - 35 hours; 
(e) sanitation and universal precautions including CPR and first aid - 15 hours; 
(f) clinic - 100 hours; and 
(g) other related massage subjects as approved by the Division in collaboration 
with the Board. 
(3) In addition to the curriculum requirements of Subsection R156-47b-302a(2), 
new 
curricula shall include the major content areas, but are not required to meet the 
percentage weights of the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic 
Massage and 
Bodywork (NCBTMB) Content Outline, published January 2010, and the National 
Certification 
Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) Content Outline, published 
January 2010 which 
are adopted and incorporated by reference. 
R156-47b-302a. Qualifications for Licensure - Equivalent Education and 
Training. 
(1) In accordance with Subsection 58-47b-302(2)(e)(i)(B), an applicant who 
completes equivalent education and training must provide documentation of: 
(a)(i) graduation from a licensed or recognized school outside the state of Utah 
with a minimum of 500 hours; 
(ii) completion of the examination requirements; and 
(iii) practice as a licensed massage therapist for a minimum of 2,000 hours; or 
(b)(i) foreign education and training approval by NCBTMB as evidenced by 
current 
NCBTMB certification; and 
(ii) practice as a licensed massage therapist for a minimum of 2,000 hours; or 
(c)(i) completion of an equivalent apprenticeship program outside the state of 
Utah; 
(ii) completion of the examination requirements; and 
(iii) practice as a licensed massage therapist for a minimum of 4,000 hours. 
(2) Hours of supervised training while licensed as a massage therapy apprentice 
trained in accordance with Subsection R156-47b-302c(5) may not be used to 
satisfy any of 
the required minimum of 600 hours of school instruction specified in Section 
R156-47b- 



 

 

302(2). 
(3) Hours of instruction or training obtained while enrolled in a school of 
massage having a curriculum meeting the standards in accordance with Section 
R156-47b- 
302(2) may not be used to satisfy the required minimum of 1,000 hours of 
supervised 
apprenticeship training specified in Subsection R156-47b-302c(5). 


