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Utah State Archives
Page:

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28594

TITLE: Informed Consent and Release of Liability requests files

DATES: 2006-

ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by client surname

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to protect children
from abuse and sexual exploitation by providing information to
those conducting background checks (Adam Walsh Act of 2006, 42
USC 16961, Section 152(a)(1)(C)(iii)). These records include
requests submitted to the agency by attorneys, adoption agencies,
other state agencies, and individuals to inspect the Utah child
abuse database for history regarding persons who have applied to
adopt a child. Records include requester information and response
letters containing the results of the child abuse database
search.

RETENTION:

Retain 1 year.

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the

purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office for 1 year and then destroy.

APPRAISAL:

Administrative

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Private Utah Code 63G-2-302(2)(d) 2014



Utah State Archives
Page: 2
AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28594
TITLE: Informed Consent and Release of Liability requests files

(continued)

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Public



Utah State Archives
Page:

AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28595

TITLE: Kinship background screening files

DATES: 2007-

ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by surname, thereunder chronological by year

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to provide safe
substitute care with relatives for dependent, abused, neglected,
and delinquent children (Utah Code 62A-4a-105(1)(b)(viii)
(2014)). These records include applications from the Department
of Human Services' Office of Licensing to have the background of
potential guardians vetted, and subsequent information gathered
during the screening process. Records may include potential
guardian information, criminal history reports, child abuse
registry reports, home studies, and related correspondence.

RETENTION:
Retain 5 years.

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the
purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office for 3 years and then transfer to State
Records Center. Retain in State Records Center for 2 years and
then destroy.

APPRAISAL:

Administrative

These records are maintained in accordance with the Adam Walsh
Act of 2006 (Public Law 109-248) and Utah Code 78A-6-307(10)(a)
(2013).
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AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28595
TITLE: Kinship background screening files

(continued)

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Exempt Utah Code 53-10-108 (1)(e); (4)(b) 2014



Utah State Archives
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AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28598

TITLE: Live Scan authorization forms

DATES: 2007-

ARRANGEMENT: Chronological by year

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to protect children
from abuse and sexual exploitation by conducting background
checks on prospective foster or adoptive parents (Adam Walsh Act
of 2006, 42 USC 16961, Section 152(a)(1)(C) and Utah Code
78A-6-308(2)(b) (2012)). These forms document authorization for
an FBI fingerprint background check as requested by the Office of
Guardian ad Litem prior to the division's placement of a child in
out-of-home care. Records may include personal information
gathered about the applicant and their signed consent.

RETENTION:
Retain 3 years.

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the
purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office for 3 years and then destroy.
APPRAISAL:

Administrative

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Public
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AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28598
TITLE: Live Scan authorization forms

(continued)

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Private. Utah Code 63G-2-302(2)(d) 2014
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AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28596 2

TITLE: Out-of-state child abuse registry check (OSCAR)

DATES: 2007-

ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by applicant's surname

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to provide safe
substitute care for dependent, abused, neglected, and delinquent
children (Utah Code 78A-6-308(3)(b and c) (2012)). These records
contain information gathered from other states' child abuse
registries regarding prospective foster or adoptive parents (Adam
Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006, 42 USC 16961,
Section 152(a)(1)(C)(i)). Records include requests to, and
corresponding responses from, sister agencies in other states.

RETENTION:
Retain 5 years.

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the
purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office for 3 years and then transfer to State
Records Center. Retain in State Records Center for 2 years and
then destroy.

APPRAISAL:
Administrative
RETENTION JUSTIFICATION:

Records must be kept in order to comply with the Adam Walsh Act which
states that if a perspective foster/adoption parent has lived out of Utah within
the last 5 years, thena child abuse registry check in every state where they
have lived in the last 5 years is required.



Utah State Archives
Page:
AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28596
TITLE: Out-of-state child abuse registry check (OSCAR)

(continued)

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:
Private Utah Code 63G-2-302(2)(d) 2014



Utah State Archives
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AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28597 2

TITLE: Record request files from other states' agencies

DATES: 2010-

ARRANGEMENT: Alphabetical by client surname

DESCRIPTION:
These records support the agency's function to protect children
from abuse and sexual exploitation by providing information to
those conducting background checks (Adam Walsh Act of 2006, 42
USC 16961, Section 152(a)(1)(C)). These records document records
requests submitted to the agency by child protective service
agencies from other states who have an open investigation on a
family that previously lived in Utah. Records include the
submitted request form and case file information provided in
response.

RETENTION:
Retain 6 months.

DISPOSITION:
Destroy.

FORMAT MANAGEMENT:

The retention and disposition information on this schedule applies to the
record copy which can be in any format. The record copy can include
different formats. Format management information provided here is for the
purpose of managing records that are being either stored by or transferred to
Utah State Archives.

Paper: Retain in Office for 6 months and then destroy.
APPRAISAL:

Administrative
RETENTION JUSTIFICATION:

Record requests from the child protective service agencies of other states
apply totheirparticular current investigations,which must be completed and
closed within a specified time frame --usuallybetween 30and 90 days.These
recordsonly need to be kept for the duration of the investigation because
subsequent investigations require the submission of a new records request.



Utah State Archives
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AGENCY: Department of Human Services. Division of Child and Family Services

SERIES: 28597
TITLE: Record request files from other states' agencies

(continued)

PRIMARY CLASSIFICATION:

Protected Utah Code 63G-5-305(44) 2014; Utah Code 63G-2-206(1)(b)
2012

SECONDARY CLASSIFICATION(S):
Exempt. Federal Code 42 USC 16961, Section 152(a)(1)(C)(ii) 2006



UTAH STATE ARCHIVES AND RECORDS SERVICE
RETENTION SCHEDULE AND CLASSIFICATION REVIEW
NOVEMBER 28, 2014

AGENCIES SUBMITTING RECORD SERIES

AGENCY NUMBER OF
RECORD SERIES

STATE AGENCIES

Human Services

Child and Family Services. . .......... .. ... ... .... 5
TOTAL RECORD SERIES SCHEDULED: 5
TOTAL VOLUME: 0.00 CUBIC FEET
TOTAL ANNUAL ACCUMULATION: 0.00 CUBIC FEET

| have read the enclosed record series and concur with proposed retentions
and dispositions, except for any noted substantive changes.

State Records Committee Member Date



