MEETING MINUTES		
Committee	Utah Substance Abuse and Mental Health Advisory Council Review of Substance Use, Mental Health and Related Legislation	
Date Time Location	Monday, January 8, 2024 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. CCJJ Large Conference Room & Zoom Hybrid meeting	
Members Present	Javier Alegre, Commissioner Jess Anderson, Susannah Burt, Vice-Chair Dennis Cecchini, Santiago Cortez, Clarissa Stebbing (for Superintendent Sydnee Dickson), Evan Done, Jeremy Christensen (for Dallas Earnshaw), Chair Pat Fleming, Judge Dianna Gibson, Janae Duncan (for Tracy Gruber), Shanel Long, Claudia Loayza (for Nubia Peña), April Graham (for Brett Peterson), Rebecca Brown (for Brian Redd), Andrew Riggle, Tom Ross, Carol Ruddell, Carrie Cochran (for Scott Stephenson), Dr. Mason Turner, Carlene Walker, Rob Wesemann, Christina Zidow,	
Members Excused	Eric Clarke, Peter Clegg, Commissioner Bill Cox, Ron Gordon, Colonel Gary Harter, Deborah Kreeck-Mendez, Mayor Howard Madsen, Judge Mary Manley, Dr. Bhanu Muniyappa, Tonya Myrup, Sean Reyes, Jennifer Strohecker, Judge Vernice Trease, Chief Ken Wallentine	
Guests	Katherine Rhodes, Adam Cohen, Amanda Alkema, Ashley Gold, Jeannie Edens, Kendra Crittenden, Kim Myers, Leah Colburn, Mike Haddon, Randy Huntington, Sam Dugan, Tim Whalen, Natalie Boren, Taryn Hiatt, Sebastian Green, Allison Heffernan, Alicia Hansen, Samuel Tu, Shawn McMillen, Mary Jo McMillen	
Staff	Elizabeth Klc	
Agenda Item	Welcome, Introductions, Minutes, and Roll Call	
Notes	Patrick welcomed everyone and Director Elizabeth Klc reviewed the process for members to appoint designees, representatives, and proxies. <i>Motion: Dennis Cecchini made the motion to approve the minutes for the January 8, 2024</i>	
A 1 1.	USAAV+ Council Meeting. The motion was seconded by Evan Done and passed unanimously.	
Agenda Item Notes	Review of 2024 Legislative Session BillsS.B. 26 – Behavioral heatlh Licensing Amendments (Curt Bramble)Motion: Santiago Cortez made a motion to Support S.B. 26. The motion was seconded by Dennis Cecchini and passed unanimously with 3 abstentions.	
	S.B. 27 – Behavioral Health System Amendments (Evan Vickers) Motion: Santiago Cortez made a motion to Priority Support S.B. 27. The motion was seconded by Evan Done and passed unanimously with 2 abstentions.	
	S.B. 42 – Health and Human Services Reporting Requirements (Mike Kennedy) Motion: Santiago Cortez made a motion to Hold S.B. 42. The motion was seconded by Dennis Cecchini and passed unanimously with 2 abstentions.	
	S.B. 46 – Health and Human Services Amendments (Mike Kennedy) Motion: Dennis Cecchini made a motion to Support in Concept on S.B. 46. The motion was seconded by Santiago Cortez and passed unanimously with 2 abstentions.	

	S.B. 60 – Drug Paraphernalia (Jen Plumb)
	Motion: Evan Done made a motion to Priority Support on S.B. 60. The motion was seconded by Santiago Cortez and passed unanimously with 2 abstentions.
	S.B. 61 – Electronic Cigarette Amendments (Jen Plumb) Motion: Dennis Cecchini made a motion to Priority Support on S.B. 61. The motion was seconded by Evan Done and passed unanimously with 2 abstentions.
	S.B. 63 – Boards of Pardons and Parole Amendments (Mike Kennedy) Motion: Santiago Cortez made a motion to Support in Concept on S.B. 63. The motion was seconded by Christina Zidow and passed unanimously with 2 abstentions.
	S.B. 71 – Cannabis Business Tax Credit (Mike Kennedy) Motion: Susannah Burt made a motion to Hold on S.B. 71. The motion was seconded by Santiago Cortez and passed unanimously with 2 abstentions.
	H.B. 299 – Court-Ordered Treatment Modifications (Tyler Clancy) Motion: Evan Done made a motion to Hold on H.B. 299. The motion was seconded by Santiago Cortez and passed unanimously.
	H.B. 14 – School Threat Penalty Amendments (Ryan Wilcox) Motion: Dennis Cecchini made a motion to Support on H.B. 14. The motion was seconded by Senator Carlene Walker and passed with one in dissent (Susannah Burt) with 4 abstentions.
Agenda Item	Public Comment
Notes	No public comment
Agenda Item	Adjourn
Notes	Senator Carlene Walker made a motion to adjourn.
Next	The next meeting is scheduled for Monday, January 22, 2024 from 9:30 a.m.
Meeting	to 11:30 a.m.