Salt Lake County Council of Governments

Quarterly Meeting

Date: Thursday, January 18, 2024

Time: 11:30 lunch for all attendees; 12:00 – 1:00 pm meeting

Place: Wasatch Front Regional Council, 41 N Rio Grande St, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, Boardroom (78)

COG Membership:

- \checkmark Mayors from each jurisdiction including the Salt Lake County Mayor
- City Council representative from each city of the First Class (population of 100,000 or more) (Salt Lake City, Sandy, West Valley City, West Jordan) – Salt Lake City Councilmember Dan Dugan; Sandy Councilmember Alison Stroud; West Jordan Councilmember Chris McConnehey; West Valley Councilmember William Whetstone
- ✓ Four Council members –Councilmember Ann Granato, Councilmember David Alvord, Councilmember Aimee Winder Newton (Alternate), Councilmember Laurie Stringham (Alternate)

COG County Liaison: Lauren Littlefield | 385-468-4859 or <u>llittlefield@slco.org</u>; for meeting logistics for dietary requirements contact Vanessa Nelson at <u>vmnelson@slco.org</u> or 801-688-8950

AGENDA

- 1. 11:30 am 12:00 Noon (30 minutes) Lunch and networking with State Legislators
- 2. 12:00 Noon (4 minutes) Welcome & Approval of Minutes Councilmember Dan Dugan
- 3. 12:04 (5 minutes) 2024 COG Executive Committee Affirmation and Election of Secretary -Councilmember Dan Dugan
 - Chair Mayor Monica Zoltanski Sandy
 - Vice-Chair Mayor Natalie Hall Bluffdale
 - Secretary Nominations being accepted
 - Immediate Past Chair Councilmember Dan Dugan
- 4. 12:09 (20 minutes) Affirmation and Nomination/Election of COG Appointments Mayor Monica Zoltanski

Zoo Arts & Parks (3 Year Terms) (Contact: Samantha Thermos, ZAP Fund Administration) **Membership:** Members of the Board shall serve for a term of three (3) years, beginning on January 1 of the year appointed. Any Member may be reappointed by the County Governing Board for an additional term with a limit of two (2) consecutive terms.

> Mayor Karen Lang (1st term; expires 12/31/2024) Mayor Dirk Burton (2nd term; expires 12/31/2023)

Tourism, Recreation, Cultural, and Convention (TRCC) Committee (Contact: Joey McNamee, Associate Director of Salt Lake County Community Services) **Membership:** Five members shall be mayors of cities or towns within the county of the first class appointed by an organization representing all mayors of cities and towns within the county of the first class. Reference: UCA 59-12-603 *Advisory board* Term: 4 years and can be re-appointed for a second term for total service of 8 years

Taylorville Mayor Kristie Overson (2nd term; expires 1/19/2026) Holladay Mayor Robert Dahle (1st term; expires 8/19/2024) Herriman Mayor Lorin Palmer (1st term; expires 1/19/2026) Sandy Mayor Monica Zoltanski (1st term; expires 1/19/2026) Salt Lake City Mayor Erin Mendenhall (1st term; expires 1/19/2026)

UTA Local Advisory Council (Contact: Jana Ostler, UTA Local Advisory Council Manager)

Membership: The Salt Lake County COG shall appoint three members. Reference: UCA 17B-2a-808.2 Large public transit district local advisory council.

Draper City Mayor Troy Walker Magna Metro Township Mayor Dan Peay Riverton Mayor Trent Staggs Alternate – Cottonwood Heights Council member Ellen Birrell

COG Public Works Committee (Contact: Helen Peters, Director of Regional Planning & Transportation)

Mayor Robert Dahle Mayor Natalie Hall Mayor Karen Lang Mayor Mike Weichers Mayor Dawn Ramsey Councilmember Ann Granato

Wasatch Front Regional Council Committees: WFRC will provide a list of potential committee members for consideration. (Contact: Andrew Gruber, Executive Director, Wasatch Front Regional Council)

Council

Regional Growth Committee (RGC)

Transportation Coordinating Committee (Trans Com)

Active Transportation Committee (ATC)

Budget Committee

Wasatch Front Economic Development District (WFEDD)

Joint Policy Advisory Committee (JPAC)

- 5. 12:29 (15 Minutes) Presentation of Utah Housing Affordability Dashboard Dejan Eskic, Kem Gardner Policy Institute
- 6. 12:44 (10 Minutes) Update and Discussion on Winter Overflow Shelters Katherine Fife, Salt Lake County
- 7. 12:54 (3 Minutes) 2024 Meeting Dates Mayor Monica Zoltanski
 - Thursday May 16, 2024
 - Thursday August 15, 2024
 - Thursday November, 14, 2024
- 8. 12:57 (3 Minutes) Other Business & Adjourn Mayor Monica Zoltanski