Salt Lake County Council of Governments

Quarterly Meeting

Date: Thursday, November 16, 2023

Time: 11:30 lunch for all attendees; 12:00 – 1:00 pm meeting

Place: Herriman City Hall located at 5355 W Main Street, Herriman

COG Membership:

- ✓ Mayors from each jurisdiction including the Salt Lake County Mayor
- City Council representative from each city of the First Class (population of 100,000 or more) (Salt Lake City, Sandy, West Valley City, West Jordan) – Salt Lake City Councilmember Dan Dugan; Sandy Councilmember Alison Stroud; West Jordan Councilmember Chris McConnehey; West Valley Councilmember William Whetstone
- ✓ Four County Council members –Councilmember Ann Granato, Councilmember David Alvord, Councilmember Aimee Winder Newton (Alternate), Councilmember Laurie Stringham (Alternate)

COG County Liaison: Lauren Littlefield | 385-468-4859 or <u>llittlefield@slco.org</u>; for meeting logistics for dietary requirements contact Vanessa Nelson at <u>vmnelson@slco.org</u> or 801-688-8950

COG Membership Attendees: Alta – Roger Bourke; Bluffdale – Mayor Natalie Hall; Cottonwood Heights – Mike Weichers; Herriman – Mayor Lorin Palmer; Holladay – Mayor Robert Dahle; Magna – Mayor Dan Peay; Midvale – Mayor Marcus Stevenson; Millcreek – Jeff Silvestrini; Murray – Mayor Brett Hales; Salt Lake City – Dan Dugan; Salt Lake County – Councilmember Ann Granato, Councilmember David Alvord, Councilmember Laurie Stringham; Sandy – Mayor Monica Zoltanski, Alison Stroud; South Salt Lake – Cherie Wood; Taylorsville – Mayor Kristie Overson; West Valley City – Karen Lang

Other: Cottonwood Heights – Ellen Birrell, Tim Tingey; Murray – Diane Turner, Doug Hill, Jennifer Kennedy; Riverton – Josh Lee; Salt Lake County – Brock Damjanovich, David Rodgers, Erin Livack, Helen Peters, Kara Trevino, Katherine Fife, Lisa Hartman; Sandy – Brooke D'Sousa, Susan Wood; South Jordan – Don Shelton, Ryan Loose; Taylorsville – John Hiskey; West Jordan – Jill Peterson, Kelvin Green, Tauni Barker; ULCT – Karson Eilers, Liam Thrailkill; WFRC – Andrew Gruber, Miranda Jones Cox; Representative GayLynn Bennion, Senator Lincoln Fillmore, David Spatafore, Steve Van Maren

Staff: Lauren Littlefield, Tiffany Marquez, Vanessa Nelson

- 1. Welcome Councilmember Dan Dugan
- Approval of May 18th, 2023 and July 20th, 2023 COG Meeting Minutes COG Chair called for a motion to approve the Minutes as presented. There was a motion and a second and the Minutes were unanimously approved.
- 3. Riparian Corridors work group and Short Term Rentals Legislation Presentation Rep Gay Lynn Bennion
- 4. COG Public Works Committee Report Mayor Dahle and SLCo's David Rodgers presented Salt Lake County Corridor Preservation Fund recommendations totaling \$3,143,000. Mayor Dahle reviewed the policy revisions, next summer's application period and called for a motion. Mayor Zoltanski motioned for the approval of the November Corridor Preservation fund allocations, Councilmember Alvord seconded it and the motion passed unanimously.
- 5. Legislative Update and Discussion Senator Lincoln Fillmore estimates the largest area of focus at the 2024 Legislative Session will be growth. Growth in relation to energy, housing, water, education and infrastructure and the funding needed for Utah's current growth trends. Questions were taken from the audience regarding the state's budget. Appropriations will be tight with a large portion going to education (\$180M allocation of new funds from a previous constitutional amendment will go to education). The Housing Affordability Commission is recommending the state set standards and requirements of the cities to adopt policies regarding construction of modular housing. He hopes to include a requirement for cities to have their own housing attainability plan in the upcoming housing bill(new home buyer options). Plans for funding homelessness services and a new year-round homeless shelter as well as including efforts to expand civil commitment for mental health and addiction. In a tight budget year, the likelihood of new funds for transportation projects will be small but some continuing projects were identified in the conversation. Concerns were aired on blanket home type requirements of built out cities and fund sources for new home buyers.
- 6. New Leadership and Adjourn Councilmember Dan Dugan

2024 COG Chair – Mayor Monica Zoltanski – Sandy 2024 Vice-Chair – Mayor Natalie Hall – Bluffdale 2024 Secretary – Nominations due January 18, 2024 - Mayor Zoltanski nominated Murray's Mayor Brett Hales for 2024 COG Secretary, votes will take place at the January 2024 meeting.