10-3-1: PLANNING COMMISSION:

A. Membership, Appointment And Quorum: The City Planning Commission consists of five (5) members and two (2) alternate members. Members are appointed by the Mayor with the advice and consent of the City Council. Three (3) members of the five (5) shall be sufficient to constitute a quorum. The members of the commission shall be residents of the city.

B. Alternate Members: The alternate members will attend meetings and serve and vote in the absence of a member of the Planning Commission under rules established by the commission.

C. Length Of Term: Members of the Planning Commission shall serve terms of four (4) years. The terms shall be staggered so that only one (1) term shall expire each year. Terms expire on December 31. With the advice and consent of the City Council, the Mayor shall appoint an interim Planning Commissioner to fill vacancies that might arise, and such appointments shall be to the end of the vacating member's term.

D. Absence Deemed Resignation: Any Planning Commission member who is absent from two (2) consecutive or twenty-five percent (25%) of the regularly scheduled Commission meetings without prior notice to the City Recorder and/or Chairperson of the Planning Commission shall be deemed to have resigned from the Commission.

E. Powers: The Planning Commission shall have all necessary powers conferred on Planning Commissions pursuant to Utah Code Annotated title 10, chapter 9a, as amended.

F. Chairperson: The Chairperson shall be elected by the Planning Commission, each calendar year at the first last meeting of the year, to take effect January 1 of the following year, and shall be a full voting member of the body.

G. Staff: In order to assist the Planning Commission in carrying out its duties, the Planning Commission Chairperson may request the assistance of other employees or agents of the City through an appropriate request made to the Mayor.

H. Policies And Procedures: The Planning Commission shall adopt rules of policy and procedure consistent with this chapter and State law. (Ord. 2021.26, 12-15-2021)

I. Compensation: Chairperson and members shall serve without compensation. Attendance is required for payment. The monthly compensation for members of the Planning Commission and Chairperson shall be set by resolution and reviewed no less than once every three (3) years.

J. Payment of Chairperson and Members Compensation. The City Treasurer or Payroll Clerk shall pay the Chairperson and the City Commissioners as noted on the most current resolution on the fifth of each month for work performed the previous month. These payments will be made via direct deposit.