

The Annual Electronic Meeting of the West Valley City Building Authority will be held on Tuesday, January 2, 2024, at 6:30 PM, or as soon thereafter as the City Council Meeting is completed, in the Council Chambers, West Valley City Hall, 3600 Constitution Boulevard, West Valley City, Utah. Members of the press and public are invited to attend in person or view this meeting live on YouTube at https://www.youtube.com/user/WVCTV.

# WILLIAM WHETSTONE, CHAIR SCOTT HARMON, VICE CHAIR

# AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. **Opening Ceremony**
- 3. Roll Call
- 4. Approval of Minutes:
  - A. October 3, 2023
- 5. New Business
  - Elect Chair/ Vice Chair for 2024 Α.
- 6. Adjourn
- West Valley City does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age or disability in employment or the provision of services. If you are planning to attend this public meeting and, due to a disability, need assistance in understanding or participating in the meeting, please notify the City eight or more hours in advance of the meeting and we will try to provide whatever assistance may be required. The person to contact for assistance is Nichole Camac. Electronic connection may be made by telephonic or other means. In the event of an electronic meeting, the anchor location is designated as City Council Chambers, West Valley City Hall, 3600 Constitution Boulevard, West Valley City, Utah.

#### MINUTES OF THE MUNICIPAL BUILDING AUTHORITY REGULAR MEETING – OCTOBER 3, 2023 -1-

THE MUNICIPAL BUILDING AUTHORITY OF WEST VALLEY CITY MET IN REGULAR SESSION ON TUESDAY, OCTOBER 3, 2023, AT 7:07 P.M. IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, WEST VALLEY CITY HALL, 3600 CONSTITUTION BOULEVARD, WEST VALLEY CITY, UTAH. THE MEETING WAS ALSO HELD ELECTRONICALLY VIA ZOOM. THE MEETING WAS CALLED TO ORDER BY CHAIRMAN WILL WHETSTONE.

### THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS WERE PRESENT:

William Whetstone, Chair Scott Harmon Jake Fitisemanu Tom Huynh Don Christensen Lars Nordfelt Karen Lang

### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Steve Pastorik, CED Director Nichole Camac, City Recorder Eric Bunderson, City Attorney Colleen Jacobs, Police Chief John Evans, Fire Chief Jim Welch, Finance Director Layne Morris, CPD Director *(electronically)* Dan Johnson, Public Works Director Jamie Young, Parks and Recreation Director John Flores, HR Director Sam Johnson, Strategic Communications Director *(electronically)* 

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING HELD JULY 18, 2023**

The Board considered Minutes of the Special Meeting held July 18, 2023. There were no changes, corrections or deletions.

Mr. Harmon moved to approve the Minutes of the Special Meeting held July 18, 2023. Mr. Fitisemanu seconded the motion.

A voice vote was taken and all members voted in favor of the motion.

### MINUTES OF THE MUNICIPAL BUILDING AUTHORITY REGULAR MEETING – OCTOBER 3, 2023 -2-

### **PUBLIC HEARINGS**

### A. ACCEPT PUBLIC INPUT REGARDING RE-OPENING THE FY 2023-2024 BUDGET

Steve Pastorik, CED Director, informed a public hearing had been advertised for the Regular Municipal Building Authority Meeting scheduled October 3, 2023, in order for the Authority to hear and consider public comments regarding re-opening the FY 2023-2024 Budget.

Written documentation previously provided to the Building Authority included information as follows:

State Statute Title 10, Chapter 6, Utah Code Annotated 1953, as amended, allows the Building Authority to amend its budget during the year. The Building Authority may hold public hearings on budget amendments on a quarterly basis each fiscal year.

A Public Notice was posted September 21, 2023, in public view at City Hall, the Family Fitness Center and UCCC; also, posted on the Public Notice Website and West Valley City's Website. Notice was given that a public hearing is to be held October 3, 2023, at 6:30 p.m., West Valley City Hall, 3600 Constitution Blvd., West Valley City, Utah.

Chairman Whetstone opened the Public Hearing. There being no one to speak in favor or opposition, Chairman Whetstone closed the Public Hearing.

### ACTION: RESOLUTION NO. 23-07, AMEND THE BUDGET OF WEST VALLEY CITY MUNICIPAL BUILDING AUTHORITY FOR THE FISCAL YEAR BEGINNING JULY 1, 2023 AND ENDING JUNE 30, 2024 TO REFLECT CHANGES IN THE BUDGET FROM INCREASED REVENUES AND AUTHORIZE THE DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS

The Municipal Building Authority previously held a public hearing regarding proposed Resolution 23-07 that would amend the Budget of West Valley City Municipal Building Authority for the Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2023 and Ending June 30, 2024 to Reflect Changes in the Budget from Increased Revenues and Authorize the Disbursement of Funds.

Upon inquiry by Chairman Whetstone there were no further questions from members of the Authority, and he called for a motion.

Mr. Christensen moved to approve Resolution 23-07.

Ms. Lang seconded the motion.

### MINUTES OF THE MUNICIPAL BUILDING AUTHORITY REGULAR MEETING – OCTOBER 3, 2023 -3-

A roll call vote was taken:

Mr. Fitisemanu	Yes
Mr. Harmon	Yes
Mr. Huynh	Yes
Ms. Lang	Yes
Mr. Christensen	Yes
Mr. Nordfelt	Yes
Chair Whetstone	Yes

Unanimous.

### **MOTION TO ADJOURN**

Upon motion by Ms. Lang, all voted in favor to adjourn.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS OF THE MUNICIPAL BUILDING AUTHORITY OF WEST VALLEY CITY, THE REGULAR MEETING OF TUESDAY, OCTOBER 3, 2023, WAS ADJOURNED AT 7:09 PM. BY CHAIRMAN WHETSTONE.

I hereby certify the foregoing to be a true, accurate and complete record of the proceedings of the Regular Meeting of the Municipal Building Authority of West Valley City held Tuesday, October 3, 2023.

Nichole Camac Secretary

# 11/30/2023

# **AGENCY & AUTHORITY OFFICER ROTATION LIST**

# **Redevelopment Agency**

<u>Year</u>	<u>Chair</u>	<u>Vice Chair</u>
2024	Lars Nordfelt	Jake Fitisemanu
2025	Jake Fitisemanu	Don Christensen
2026	Don Christensen	William Whetstone
2027	William Whetstone	Scott Harmon
2028	Scott Harmon	Tom Huynh
2029	Tom Huynh	Lars Nordfelt
2030	Lars Nordfelt	Jake Fitisemanu

# **Housing Authority**

Year	<u>Chair</u>	Vice Chair
2024	Don Christensen	William Whetstone
2025	William Whetstone	Scott Harmon
2026	Scott Harmon	Tom Huynh
2027	Tom Huynh	Lars Nordfelt
2028	Lars Nordfelt	Jake Fitisemanu
2029	Jake Fitisemanu	Don Christensen
2030	Don Christensen	William Whetstone

# **Building Authority**

<u>Year</u>	<u>Chair</u>	Vice Chair
2024	Scott Harmon	Tom Huynh
2025	Tom Huynh	Lars Nordfelt
2026	Lars Nordfelt	Jake Fitisemanu
2027	Jake Fitisemanu	Don Christensen
2028	Don Christensen	William Whetstone
2029	William Whetstone	Scott Harmon
2030	Scott Harmon	Tom Huynh