

# **PRODUCTION FACILITY CHANGE REQUEST** UTAH DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND FOOD

**Application Type** 

Tier 1 Processor Renewal

Summary of Proposed Change (This statement will be read at the public Licensing Board Meeting)

## **General Information**

The Application submitted by a Cannabis Production Establishment and approved by the Establishment Board will be considered the business's operation plan. UDAF Inspectors will use the operation plan for regulatory purposes. Ensure all information is complete, current, and accurate.

The information provided by the applicant for a Medical Cannabis Production Establishment must fit within the following Guidelines:

A. Maximum 50 pages

B. Information provided must be clear and concise; do not repeat information

C. Ensure each section speaks to the requested information and appear in the same order as application

D. Everything in the application is contained in a single PDF document.

## **Application Date**

## Legal Status

The 2023 renewal document must be submitted to the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food by . The document submitted to the Department will be considered the notice of intent to renew specified in R68-27-15. A UDAF Establishment Approval Board Meeting will be held in mid-December to officially approve or request changes to the business plans submitted.

To renew an Establishment License Application, an approved Medical Cannabis Establishment must submit the \$100,000 annual licensing fee by December 31st.

If the licensing fee and intent to renew are not submitted by December 31st, the licensee shall not continue to operate.

Medical Cannabis Processor Facility is multi-tiered:

(a) A tier 1 processor license allows the licensee process, manufacture, dry, cure, package, and label cannabis and cannabis products for sale or transfer to another cannabis processing facility, a medical cannabis pharmacy, or the state central fill medical cannabis pharmacy. A tier 1 processing license is \$100,000 per year.

(b) A tier 2 processor license allows the licensee to package and label cannabis and cannabis products for sale or transfer to another cannabis processing facility or a medical cannabis pharmacy. A tier 2 processing license is \$35,000 per year. Prior to approving an application, the department may contact any applicant and request additional supporting documentation or information. The department may conduct face-to-face interviews with an applicant if needed. The department shall inspect the premises to determine if the applicant complies with state laws, administrative rules and best practice standards

Other industrial hemp and/or medical cannabis licenses currently or previously held by applicant/entity/principals:

## **Operating Plan**

## Submit the cannabis processing facility's most up-to-date security plan. Security plans shall include:

a) Description of security alarm system,

b) Person(s) notified of potential security breaches and alerts

c) Video storage device location: local or cloud storage

d) Procedures to provide UDAF inspectors immediate access to current and archived video footage when requested.

e) Any additional security measure in place that exceed the security requirements

Describe the medical cannabis facility's inventory control system; Detail the procedures the cannabis facility will employ to meet the Inventory Control System requirements of Utah Code 4-41a-103 Inventory Control System and Utah Administrative Rule related to Inventory Control. Including a description of how the facility will be compliance with section 26-61a-103 and use the state electronic verification system to track facility agents.

Provide the proposed cannabis facility storage protocols, both short and long-term, to ensure all cannabis is stored in a manner that is sanitary and preserves the integrity of the cannabis

Provide all written emergency procedures to be followed in case of fire, chemical spill and other emergencies at the cannabis facility. This information plus the Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) must be easily accessed by all employees.

Submit the proposed cannabis facility's waste disposal plan. Explain how the facility will operate in a way meets all requirements of Utah Code 4-41a-405 Excess and disposal and applicable Utah Administrative Cannabis wast<u>e disposal.</u>

Detail the procedures the cannabis facility will employ to meet the transport and transfer requirements of Utah Code 4-41a-404 Medical cannabis transportation. Include the cannabis facility's sample transport and transfer plan in accordance with all applicable Utah Administrative Rules regarding the transportation of medical cannabis.

List all product types that will be produced in the upcoming year. (e.g., Concentrate, Flower, Infused Edible)

List all extraction methods used at the facility. Include all solvents, chemicals, and equipment used.

## Is the facility doing CBD to THC conversion?

**Provide the processing facility's written plan and procedures to handle potential recalls in accordance to R68-28-15. Include:** a) The name(s) of persons designated as recall coordinator (R68-28-15(2a);

**b**) the contact information for how to reach staff member(s);

c) how will affected parties be notified;

d) a written procedure with specifics of what to do in case of a product recall

Submit procedures on how the facility will dispose of Product that fails quality assurance testing. A destruction plan must be written for every product type produced at the processing facility, and must be in compliance with federal and state laws laid out in Utah Code 4-41a-405 and Rule R68-27-15 Cannabis Waste Disposal.

## Compliance

Upload either a copy of current local business license or a letter from the city/municipality stating their intent to issue a business license once the facility is licensed as a Medical Cannabis Establishment.

Submit the names of all agents currently working at the company's processing facility. All agents listed must: a) be in the process of applying for an agent card in the EVS; or b) have an agent card and have an account in the EVS. The Facility is responsible for ensuring all employees have background checks and are registered in the EVS. The company is also responsible for collecting agent cards and notifying the Department when an agent leaves their facility. Failure to comply will result in a citation and a fine to the company.

Provide the facility's plan and procedures to have a representative sample of cannabis and cannabis tested by an independent cannabis testing laboratory to determine if the product is safe for human consumption

Submit proof of registration as a Manufactured Food Establishment with UDAF's Regulatory Services.

The facility understands all scales must be certified, as outlined in Utah Administrative Rule 68-28-4 (8). Visit <u>https://ag.utah.gov/businesses/regulatory-services/weights-measures/</u> for more information.

Licensee understands the current statute and rules are subject to change. Licensees agrees as a condition of licensing that they have read and will abide by the provisions of Utah Code 4-41a and all rules promulgated there under all directives of the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food. The licensee also understands that failure to adhere to or maintain the qualifications of their license, may result in suspension or revocation of the license and/or forfeiture of the performance bond or any other remedies allowed by law.

Licensee agrees to immediately notify the department of any change in ownership or financial interest of the facility; the facility's name, change in location, change in equipment, remodeling, expansion, reduction or physical non-cosmetic alteration of the facility, change in written operating procedures, or change in any information submitted in this application in accordance with Utah Administrative Rule 68-27-13.

The undersigned acknowledges that representatives of the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food may inspect the records and facility of a cannabis production establishment at any time during business hours to determine and ensure the cannabis production establishment is in compliance with the law. Failure to provide the department or the department's authorized agent's immediate access to records and facilities during business hours in accordance with this section may result in a civil monetary penalty; license or registration suspension or revocation; or an immediate cessation of operations under a cease and desist order issued by the department.

The Licensee acknowledges and understands that cultivating, possessing, using, distributing and/or selling marijuana is prohibited by federal law, notwithstanding Utah law or any authorizations in the Agent or this Registration to the contrary. Nothing in this Application is intended to provide any guidance or assistance in violating or complying with existing federal laws regulating marijuana cultivation, distribution, or use.

Similarly, compliance with state law or the terms of this registration, or possession of the registration card does not confer immunity from enforcement of federal law or federal enforcement practices. Further, nothing in this application or the registration card shall be construed as advice with regards to compliance with applicable federal, state, or local tax laws or any regulatory consequences of engaging in any business in this industry.

The undersigned acknowledges that he/she has read and understands the statements herein and the execution thereof is done voluntarily and by the authorization of the applicant entity.

The undersigned hereby makes application to the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food and certifies that the information contained herein and attached here is true and correct.

Status of Change Request	Submitted
Applicant/Owner of Business:	
Title/Position:	
Applicant Signature	
Date	12/01/2023