
R156-9-302a. Qualifications for Licensure - Examination Requirements. 

In accordance with Subsections 58-l-203(l)(d) and 58-1-301(3), the qualifications for 
licensure in Subsections 58-9-302(l)(g), 58-9-302(2)(e), 58-9-302(4)(e) and 58-9-306(6) 
and (7) are defined, clarified, or established as follows: 

(1) An applicant for licensure as a funeral service director shall be required to 
pass the National Board Examinations (science and art sections) of the 
Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards. The examination may 
be taken while the individual is enrolled in an approved funeral service 
school. 

(2) An applicant for licensure as a funeral service intern shall answ·er correctly 
all the law and rule questions in the open book examination contained in 
the application. 

(3) Ab applicant for licensure as a funeral service director, funeral service 
intern, preneed sales agent or funeral service director by endorsement shall 
pass the Utah Funeral Service Law and Rule Examination with a score of 
at least 75%. 

t4Jill An individual who fails the Utah Funeral Service Law and Rule 
Examination may retake the failed examination: 
(a) no more than three times within a six month period; and 
(b) no earlier than three months following any failure thereafter. 



Answer each question. Do not leave any question blank. 

1. True or False: Paying a hospice worker, police officer, nurse or doctor to secure a deceased human 
remains for disposition is "Unprofessional Conduct"? 

2. True or False: It is the responsibility of the funeral service intern to notify the division of any change in the 
intern's supervising funeral service director? 

3. True or False: Any goods or services selected in the preneed contract which are not provided at the time 
of need, and any earnings accumulated become the property of the sales agent or funeral service 
director? 

4. True or False: After an intern is determined to have sufficient experience; direct supervision is no longer 
required during the remainder of the internship. 

5. How much time does a provider or sales agent have to deposit cash payments for the purchase of a pre­
need funeral arrangement? 

a. 7 calendar days b. 7 business days c. 1 O calendar days d. 10 business days 

6. True or False: A funeral service intern may be denied further licensure if the internship period lasts longer 
than 4 years? 

7. The number of embalmings required for an intern's completion of the internship before qualification for 
licensure as a Funeral Director is: 

a. 20 b. 40 c. 30 d. 50 

8. True or False: Failing to accurately document, report and supervise the activities of a funeral service 
intern is considered "Unprofessional Conduct"? 

9. Replacing body fluids in a dead human body with preserving and disinfecting chemicals is: 

a. calcination b. embalming c. entombing d. mummification 

10.. True or False: Within each 2 year licensing period, a funeral service director is required to complete 20 
hours of continuing education? 

11. True or False: Each funeral service establishment shall maintain an annual report of preneed trust funds 
and insurance? 

12. True or False: A funeral service director may supervise more than one intern at any given time? 
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EXAMINATIONS BY PSI 

This Candidate Information Bulletin provides you with 
information about the examination process for a Funeral 
Service Director and/or Sales Agent Licensure in the State of 
Utah. 

The Division has contracted with PSI licensure:certification 
(PSI) to conduct its examination program. PSI provides 
examinations through a network of computer examination 
centers in Utah and in many areas throughout the United 
States. PSI works closely with the State to be certain that 
examinations meet local as well as national requirements in 
basic principles and examination development standards. 

All questions and requests for information about examinations 
should be directed to PSI. 

PSI licensure:certification 
3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV 89121 
(800) 733-9267 • Fax (702) 932-2666 

www.psiexams.com 

EXAMINATION REGISTRATION AND SCHEDULING 

PROCEDURES 

The Examination Registration Form is found at the end of this 
Candidate Information Bulletin. You must pay at the time you 
register. Be sure the registration form is complete, accurate, 
signed, and that you include the correct fee. The registration 
form is valid for 1 examination 
~ Candidates are allowed 3 attempts to pass each 

examination. After 3 failed attempts, they must wait 6 
months before retaking the examination they did not pass. 

The following fee table lists the applicable fee for each 
examination. The fee is for each examination, whether you 
are taking the examination for the first time or repeating. 

EXAMINATION FEE $ 72 

NOTE: REGISTRATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE 
OR.TRANSFERABLE. . 

INTERNET REGISTRATION 

For the fastest and most convenient test scheduling process, 
PSI recommends that candidates register for their 
examinations using the Internet. To register over the Internet, 
candidates will need to have a valid MasterCard or Visa. 
Candidates register online by accessing PSl's registration 
website at www.psiexams.com. Internet registration is 
available 24 hours a day. To register by Internet, complete 
the steps below: 

1. Complete the registration form online and send it to PSI 
via the Internet. 

CED WWW.PSIEXAND.COM 

2. Upon completion of the online registration form, you will 
be given the available examination dates and locations for 
scheduling your examination. Select your desired testing 
date. 

FAX REGISTRATION 

For fax registration, you will need a valid VISA or MasterCard. 

Complete the Examination Registration Form, including your 
credit card number and expiration date. 

1. Fax the completed form to PSI (702) 932-2666. Fax 
registrations are accepted 24 hours a day. 

2. Please allow 4 business days to process your registration. 
After 4 business days, you may call PSI to schedule the 
examination at (800) 733-9267. 

STANDARD MAIL REGISTRATION 

1. Complete the Examination Registration Form found in this 
Candidate Information Bulletin. BE SURE TO READ ALL 
DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING THE 
EXAMINATION REGISTRATION FORM. IMPROPERLY 
COMPLETED FORMS WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU 
UNPROCESSED. 

Return the completed original form to PSI with the 
appropriate examination fee. Payment of fees can be 
made by VISA, MasterCard, money order, or cashier's 
check. Money orders or cashier's checks must be made 
payable to PSI. Print your social security number on your 
check or money order to ensure that your fees are properly 
assigned. CASH, COMPANY CHECKS, AND PERSONAL 
CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED. 

2. Please allow 2 weeks to process your Registration before 
scheduling for your examination. 

TELEPHONE REGISTRATION 

For telephone registration, you will need a valid VISA or 
MasterCard. 

Complete the Examination Registration Form, including your 
credit card number and expiration date, so that you will be 
prepared with all of the information needed to register by 
telephone. 

a. Call (800) 733-9267, 24 hours a day and register using the 
Automated Registration System. Otherwise, PSI registrars 
are available Monday through Friday between 3: 30 am and 
6:00 pm and Saturday, between 7:00 .am and 1 :00 pm, 
Mountain Time, to receive the information listed on your 
Examination Registration Form and schedule your 
appointment for the examination. 

PSI will make every effort to schedule the examination site and 
time that is most convenient for you. If space is available in 
the examination site of your choice, you may schedule an 
examination 1 day prior to the examination date of your choice, 
up to 3:00pm MT. Please be prepared to offer alternate 
examination appointment choices. 



CANCELING AN EXAMINATION APPOINTMENT 

You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment 
without forfeiting your fee if your cancellation notice is 
received 2 days before the scheduled examination date. For 
example, for a Monday appointment, the cancellation notice 
would need to be received on the previous Saturday. You may 
call PSI at (800) 733-9267. Please note that you may also use 
the automated system, using a touch,tone phone, 24 hours a 
day in order to cancel and reschedule your appointment. 

Note: A voice 'mall message is not an accept~ble form of 
cancellatioh. Please use.the internet, automated. telephone 
system, or call PSI, and speak to .. a Customer: ·Service 
Representative. - · ·· · 

MISSED APPOINTMENT OR LATE CANCELLATION 

Your registration will be invalid, you will not be able to take 
the examination as scheduled, and you will forfeit your 
examination fee, if you: 

Do not cancel your appointment 2 days before the 
schedule examination date; 
Do not appear for your examination appointment; 

• Arrive after examination start time; 
Do not present proper identification when you arrive for 
the examination. 

SPECIAL EXAMINATION ARRANGEMENTS 

All examination centers are equipped to provide access in 
accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 
1990, and every reasonable accommodation will be made in 
meeting a candidate's needs. Applicants with disabilities or 
those who would otherwise have difficulty taking the 
examination must fill out the form at the end of this Candidate 
Information Bulletin and fax to PSI (702) 932-2666. This form 
also includes out-of-state testing requests. 

EXAMINATION SITE CLOSING FOR AN EMERGENCY 

In the event that severe weather or another emergency forces 
the closure of an examination site on a scheduled examination 
date, your examination will be rescheduled. PSI personnel will 
attempt to contact you in this situation. However, you may 
check the status of your examination schedule by calling (800) 
733-9267. Every effort will be made to reschedule your 
examination at a convenient time as soon as possible. You 
may also check our website at www.psiexams.com. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER CONFIDENTIALITY 

PSI will use your social security number only as an 
identification number in maintaining your records and 
reporting your examination scores to the state. A Federal l~w 
requires state agencies to collect and rec?rd ~he social 
security numbers of all licensees of the profess10ns licensed by 
the state. 

@) WWW.PSIEXA/oiS.COM 

EXAMINATION SITE LOCATION 

The following test centers are located in Utah. 

Note: The following directions are generated from the most 
current mapping services available. However, new road 
construction and highway modifications may result in some 
discrepancies. If you are not familiar with the specific area of 
the testing site, please consult a reliable map prior to your test 
date. 

Hurricane (St. George) 
473 N. Old Highway 91, Suite 6 
Hurricane, UT 84737 
From l-15N, take the UT-9 exit 16 toward Hurricane/Zion Natl. 
Park. Merge onto UT-9/W State St toward Hurricane. Turn left 
onto N 6300 W/UT-212. 473 Old Hwy 91 in Hurricane 
approximately 1. 5 miles past the Wal-Mart Distribution Center 
(on the right side is Crocker Ventures Park) turn left into 
parking lot. 

North Orem (Provo) 
581 West 1600 North, Suite C 
North Orem, UT 84057 
From US-89, turn right onto W Center St/ UT-114. Merge onto 
1-15 N via the ramp on the left toward Salt Lake. Take the 
1600 North exit 273. Turn east onto West 1600 North. Go one 
mile east 

North Salt Lake City 
25 North 400 West, Suite 7 
North Salt Lake City, UT 84054 
(The city of North Salt Lake not Salt Lake City proper. The PSI 
test site is in Davis County just north of the Flying J Refinery.) 

From Salt Lake City and the South. 
Merge on to l-15N. Take exit 312 and merge on to US89 North 
for about 1.8 miles. Turn left onto E Center St and go west for 
about .6 miles. Turn right on to 400 W. 

From the North 
Merge onto 1-15 S Salt Lake. Take the Center St., exit 314. 
Turn right onto W Center St. Turn right onto 400 West. 

From 1-80 East merge to 1-215 North. Take the Redwood 
Rd/ UT-68 exit 28 and turn right onto Center Street. 

PSI is on the Northwest corner of 400 West and Center Street. 

~(Ogden) 
2465 N Main Street #11 C 
Sunset, UT 84015 
From 1-15 S, take the UT-97 exlt-338- toward Clinton/Roy! 
Sunset. Turn right onto W 5600 SIUT-97. Turn left onto S 1900 
W!UT-126. Continue to follow UT-126. 

Additionally, PSI has examination centers in many oth~r 
regions across the United States, You may take this 
examination at any of these locations by calling (800) 733-
9267. You will need to speak with a Customer Service Rep to 
schedule a test outside of Utah. 
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REPORTING TO THE EXAMINATION SITE 

On the day of the examination, you should arrive at least 30 
minutes before your appointment. This extra time is for sign· 
in, and identification. If you arrive late, you may not be 
admitted to the examination site and you will forfeit your 
examination registration fee. 

REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION AT EXAMINATION SITE 

You must provide 2 forms of identification. One must be a 
VALID form of government issued identification (driver's 
license, state ID, passport, military ID), which bears your 
signature and has your photograph. The second ID must have 
your signature and preprinted legal name. 

If you cannot provide the required identification, you must call 
(800) 733-9267 at least 3 weeks prior to your scheduled 
appointment to arrange a way to meet this security 
requirement. Failure to provide all of the required 
identification at the time of the examination without 
notifying PSI is considered a missed appointment, and you will 
not be able to take the examination. 

SECURITY PROCEDURES 

The following security procedures will apply during the 
examination: 

Cell phones, pagers, and children are not allowed in the 
examination site. 
No smoking, eating, or drinking will be allowed in the 
examination site. 
Copying or communicating examination content is a 
violation of PSI security policy. Either one may result in 
the disqualification of examination results and may lead 
to legal action. 

TAKING THE EXAMINATION BY COMPUTER 

Taking the PSI examination by computer is simple. You do not 
need any computer experience or typing skills. You will use 
fewer keys than you use on a touch-tone telephone. All 
response keys are colored and have prominent characters. An 
illustration of the special keyboard is shown here. You may 
also use a mouse. 
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IDENTIFICATION SCREEN 

You will be directed to a semiprivate testing station to take the 
examination. When you are seated at the testing station, you 
will be prompted to confirm your name, identification number, 
and the examination for which you are registered. 

TUTORIAL 

Before you start your examination, an introductory tutorial to 
the computer and keyboard is provided on the computer screen. 
The time you spend on this tutorial, up to 15 minutes, DOES 
NOT count as part of your examination time. Sample questions 
are included following the tutorial so that you may practice 
using the keys, answering questions, and reviewing your 
answers. 

One question appears on the screen at a time. During the 
examination, minutes remaining will be displayed at the top of 
the screen and updated as you record your answers. 

EXAMINATION QUESTION EXAMPLE 

During the examination, you should press 1, 2, 3, or 4 to select 
your answer or press "MARK" to mark it for later review. You 
should then press "ENTER" to record your answer and move on 
to the next question. A sample question display follows: ,..... __________ ......., ____ ·-~-"·--''""''' 

ffil ·'hut ! (~mrnN1ts tt Goiu ? 11~1~ !I fmi 

: l. What do
0

the sl~;s on the Ontted Stiites of Am~ri<a's fl~g reprmntl 
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IMPORTANT: After you have entered your responses, you will 
later be able to return to any question(s) and change your 
response, provided the examination time has not run out. 

PRETEST ITEMS 

In addition to the number of questions per examination, a small 
number of five to ten "pretest" questions may be administered 
to candidates during the exa.minations. These questions will 
not be scored and the time taken to answer them will not count 
against examination time. The administration of such non· 
scored experimental questions is an essential step in developing 
future licensing examinations. 

EXAMINATION REVIEW 

PSI, in cooperation with the Utah Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing, will be consistently evaluating the 
examinations being administered to ensure that the 
examinations accurately measure competency in the required 
knowledge areas. While taking the examination, examinees will 
have the opportunity to provide comments on any questions, by 
using the comments key on the keyboard. These comments will 

3 



be analyzed by PSI examination development staff. PSI does 
not respond to individuals regarding these comments, all 
substantive comments are reviewed. This is the only review 
of examination materials available to candidates. 

SCORE REPORTING 

You will receive your score report immediately following the 
completion of the examination. 

DUPLICATE SCORE REPORTS 

You can write to PSI to request a duplicate of your score 
report. 

TIPS FOR PREPARING FOR YOUR LICENSE 

E;XAMINATION 

The following suggestions will help you prepare for your 
examination. 
• Planned preparation increases your likelihood of passing. 

Start with a current copy of this Candidate Information 
Bulletin and use the examination content outline as the 
basis of your study. 
Read study materials that cover all the topics in the 
content outline. · 
Take notes on what you study. Putting information in 
writing helps you commit it to memory and it is also an 
excellent business practice. Discuss new terms or 
concepts as frequently as you can with colleagues. This 
will test your understanding and reinforce ideas. 
Your studies will be most effective if you study 
frequently, for periods of about 45 to 60 minutes. 
Concentration tends to wander when you study for longer 
periods of time. 

EXAMINATION REFERENCE MATERIAL AND 

CONTENT OUTLINE 

Following are content outlines describing the content areas 
covered on the examination and the percentage of questions in 
each area. 

UTAH FUNERAL SERVICE DIRECTOR 
EXAMINATION 

# of Questions 
Minimum Passing Time Allowed 

Score 
50 38 Answered Correctlv 60 Minutes 

CONTENT OUTLINE 

Content Area #of Items 

Utah DOPL Act and Rule 5 

Utah Funeral Service Licensing Act and Rules 25 

Federal Regulations - Bloodborne Pathogens 10 

Federal Regulations - Formaldehvde Exposure 10 

@ WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM 

REFERENCE LIST 

The reference material listed below was used to prepare the 
questions for this examination. The examination may also 
contain questions based on trade knowledge or general industry 
practices. This examination is OPEN BOOK. 

The folfowing reference materials ~ allowed in the 
examination center: 
• DOPL Licensing Act, 58-1 - http: //dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-

1.pdf 
• General Rule for DOPL, R156-1 -

http: I /dopl.utah.gov /laws/R156-1.pdf 
• Funeral Services Licensing Act, 58-9 -

http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-9.pdf 
• Funeral Service Licensing Act Rule, R156-9 -

http: //dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-9.pdf 
• Formaldehyde, CFR 1910.1048 -

http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_docume 
nt?p_id=10075ftp_table=STANDARDS 

• Occupational Exposure to Bloodborne Pathogens - CFR 
1910.1030 
http:I/www.osha.gov/SLTC/bloodbornepathogens/index.ht 
ml. 

UTAH PRENEED FUNERAL ARRANGEMENT 
SALES AGENT EXAMINATION 

# of Questions Minimum Passing 
Time Allowed Score 

25 19 Answered Correctly 60 Minutes 

CONTENT OUTLINE 

Content Area #of Items 

Utah DOPL Act and Rule 3 

Utah Funeral Service Licensing Act and Rules 22 

REFERENCE LIST 

This examination is OPEN BOOK. 

The folfowing reference materials ~ alfowed in the 
examination center: 
• DOPL Licensing Act, 58-1 - http: //dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-

1.pdf 
• General Rule for DOPL, R156-1 -

http: I /dopl.utah.gov /laws/R156-1.pdf 
• Funeral Services Licensing Act, 58-9 -

http: I /dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-9.pdf 
• Funeral Service Licensing Act Rule, R156-9 -

http: I /dopl.utah.gov /laws/R156-9.pdf 

Reference material may be highlighted, underlined, and/or indexed. 
They must be otherwise unmarked (not written in) and may not contain 
additional papers (loose or attached). THESE REFERENCES WILL NOT BE 
AVAILABLE IN THE EXAMINATION CENTER. References may be 
tabbed/indexed with perm1rnent tabs only. Temporarv tabs, such as 
Post-It notes, are not allowed and must be removed from the reference 
before the exam will begin. If you are downloading from the Internet, 
you may bring. this reference into the testing center with you as long as 
it is bound. You can have it spiral bound or you may hole-punch it and 
put it in a binder. 
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UTAH FUNERAL EXAMINATIONS 
REGISTRATION FORM 

Before you begin . .. 
Read the Candidate Information Bultetin before filling out this registration form. You must provide alt information requested and submit the 
appropriate fee. PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY. Registration forms that are· incomplete, illegible, or not accompanied by the proper fee wilt be 
returned unprocessed. Registration fees are not refundable or transferable. · 

1.LegalName: 1111111111111 11~~1~1~~~1~10 
Last Name First Name M.I. 

2. Social Security: I I I -DD -I'--_,_I _,___,_I _JI (FOR /DENT/FICA TION PURPOSES ONLY) 

3. Mailing Address: I I I I I I I I I I 
Number, Street Apt/Ste 

I I I I I I I I I I rn 
City State Zip Code 

4. Telephone: Home Office 

5. Email: 

6. Examination: 

Examination Title Exam Fee 
D Utah Funeral Service Director Examination $72 
D Utah Preneed Funeral Arrangement Sales Agent Examination $72 

7. Payment: (MasterCard, VISA, Money Order or Cashier's Check only. Personal and company checks are not accepted.) 

Credit card (MasterCard or VISA) payment accepted for phone or fax registrations only. (Check One): D VISA 
Card No: ________________________ _ Exp. Date: _____________ _ 

Card Verification No: _______ _ 
For your security, PSI requires you to enter the card identification number located on 
your credit card. The card identification number is located on the back of the card and 
consists of the last three digits on the signature strip. 

Cardholder Name (Print): ______________ _ Signature: __________________ _ 

8. I am faxing the Special Arrangement Request (at the end of this bulletin) and required documentation. D Yes D No 

9. Affidavit: I certify that the information provided on this registration form (and/or telephonically to PSI) is correct. I 
understand that any falsification of information may result in denial of licensure. I have read and understand the 
examination information bulletin. 

Signature: Date: _______________ _ 

Complete and forward this registration form with the applicable examination fee to: 
PSI licensure:certification •ATTN: Examination Registration UT FUNE 

3210 E Tropicana •Las Vegas• NV• 89121 
Fax (702) 932·2666 • (800) 733-9267 •TTY (800) 735-2929 • www.psiexams.com 


