

Lieutenant Governor

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

CARLOS M. BRACERAS, P.E.

Executive Director

LISA J. WILSON, P.E.

Deputy Director of Engineering and Operations

BENJAMIN G. HUOT, P.E.

Deputy Director of Planning and Investment

November 8, 2023

Lindsay Nielsen, Executive Director Central Wasatch Commission 41 North Rio Grand Street, Suite 102 Salt Lake City, UT 84101 lindsey@cwc.utah.gov

Dear Ms. Nielson:

SUBJECT: Central Wasatch Commission October 31, 2023, Letter

The Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) is in receipt of the Central Wasatch Commission's (CWC) October 31, 2023 letter regarding the Little Cottonwood Canyon Environmental Impact Study (EIS) project. UDOT appreciates the interest, comments, and engagement that the CWC and its stakeholders have had in the project over the last five years. We had several major milestones over the course of the study, all of which provided an opportunity for public input to help inform our decisions as we advanced to the next milestone. We have valued your input, and were glad to see that the issues outlined in your letter have been raised and addressed throughout the study during past comment periods.

At this juncture, the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) process for the Little Cottonwood Canyon project closed with the issuance of the Final EIS and the Record of Decision (ROD). The availability of the ROD was published in the Federal Register, and by federal statute, 23 U.S.C. § 139(l)(1), the deadline for judicial review of that final decision is December 11, 2023. This deadline is a jurisdictional deadline set by the U.S. Congress by federal statute and it cannot be waived or extended by UDOT.

We have worked closely with the CWC throughout the study, and appreciate your comments and ongoing interest in exploring options for collaboration and solutions. However, with no open action in the NEPA process that is subject to an environmental collaboration and conflict process, UDOT respectfully declines CWC's October 31, 2023 request.

Sincerely,

Josh Van Jura

Transit and Trails Director

Lindsey Nielsen Page 2 November 8, 2023

cc: Council Member Christopher F. Robinson, Central Wasatch Commission Chair

Mayor Erin Mendenhall, Central Wasatch Commission Co-Chair

Mayor Jeff Silvestrini, Millcreek Mayor Monica Zoltanski, Sandy City

Mayor Nann Worel, Park City Mayor Dan Knopp, Brighton

Mayor Michael Weichers, Cottonwood Heights

Mayor Roger Bourke, Alta