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Legislative Compensation Commission 
 

March 8, 2012 
 
 
To the Utah State Legislature: 
 
Transmitted herewith is the Second Revised Supplemental Report of the Utah Legislative 
Compensation Commission Prepared for the 2012 General Session of the Utah State Legislature. 
 
According to Utah law (UCA 36-2-5) the Utah Legislative Compensation Commission 
(Commission) may issue reports subsequent to January 2 of an even-numbered year containing 
revised salary recommendations, including salary recommendations contingent upon certain 
action being taken by the Legislature.  In addition, as provided in Utah law (UCA 36-2-3) this 
salary recommendation shall be based on either a daily basis or an annualized salary.  In 
preparing its report, the Commission may recommend salary amounts that take into account the 
amounts received by legislators for legislative expenses; and provide alternative salary amounts 
based upon the occurrence of various contingencies. 
 
The revised recommendations further clarify the Commission’s intent and goals to improve 
transparency and help address the rural versus urban salaries of legislators.   
 
In making these recommendations we have considered the salaries of similar state legislators and 
other factors as directed by the Legislature.  A guiding principle for the making and suggested 
implementation of these recommendations is the legislative mandate of “maintaining a citizen 
Legislature in Utah, but compensating members fairly for their service in order that all 
individuals would have an opportunity to serve.” Utah Code 36-2-5(1)(b).  
 
The Commission makes the following revised recommendations:  
 
Recommendation #1: 
 
The Commission recommends that for transparency purposes the daily per diem allowances for 
food and lodging be replaced with an expense reimbursement system. 
 
The Commission recommends that if legislators eliminate the daily per diem allowances for food 
and lodging and change to an expense reimbursement system for actual lodging, actual meal and 
incidental expenses if lodging is necessary, mileage, and travel expenses, then contingent upon 
these changes the Commission recommends that legislators be paid a daily salary of $273 per 
day for the general session, interim days, special sessions, and veto override sessions.  Further, 
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the $273 daily rate is based upon combining the existing $117 daily rate with the two existing 
per diem rates of $95 and $61.  With the elimination of the per diems, members of the 
Legislature may seek reimbursement for actual travel related expenses similar to reimbursements 
for state employees as outlined in the Division of Finance's Utah Admin. Code. R.25-7.  
 
The Commission recommends that, if the Legislature is called in due to a natural disaster or 
other emergency situation that is beyond the scope of these recommendations, the Commission 
may reconvene to consider compensating legislators for time taken for those circumstances at the 
daily rate of $273.   
 
If the Legislature rejects the Commission's recommendations then the salary for a member of the 
Legislature will remain at the current rate of $117 per day for 60 days per year.   
 
Recommendation #2: 
 
If legislators eliminate the daily per diem allowances for food and lodging and change to an 
expense reimbursement system for actual lodging, actual meal and incidental expenses as set 
forth above, then contingent upon these changes the Commission recommends that legislators 
who serve on committees, commissions, or task forces, other than Standing Committees, Interim 
Committees, Legislative Management Committee, Executive Appropriations Committee, and 
Appropriations Subcommittees, be paid up to an additional $273 per day for required meetings 
of such committees, commissions, or task forces held on days other than the general session, 
special sessions, veto override sessions, and interim days, if (i) the committee, commission, or 
task force is created by statute or joint resolution, (ii) the meeting and amount is approved by the 
Legislative Management Committee, and (iii) service and payment for service on such 
committee, commission or task force is not in violation of  Article V, Article VI Sections 6 and 
7, or other provisions of the Constitution of Utah.  
 
Recommendation #3: 
 
The Commission recommends that additional compensation for legislative leaders remain at 
$3,000 per year for the Senate President and the House Speaker and at $2,000 per year for the 
Majority and Minority Leaders, including the Chairs of the Executive Appropriations. 
 
Recommendation #4: 
 
The Commission recommends that a fourth leadership position in Senate and House Minority 
leadership, namely the Senate and House Minority Caucus Managers, be added to those 
leadership positions receiving additional compensation for legislative leadership of $2,000 per 
year because the positions have been longstanding, have increased in duties, and have 
responsibilities similar to other leadership positions.    
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The Commission appreciates the opportunity to serve the State, Governor, and Legislature and 
we express our thanks to the staff for their expertise and support.   
 
Sincerely, 
 
The Utah Legislative Compensation Commission 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
  
 Paul D. Williams, Chair 
 David Pyne, Vice-Chair 
 James R. Gowans 
 Derek Larsen 
 David L. Rail 
 Peggy Wallace 
 Jan Wells 
 

Staff:  Nicole Sherwood, (801) 538-1540 
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APPENDIX A 

 
Utah Legislative Compensation Commission 

Legal Authority 
 

 
 

UTAH CONSTITUTION 
 

Article VI, Section 9.   Compensation of legislators -- Citizens' salary commission. 
 The Legislature shall not increase the salaries of its members on its own initiative, but 
shall provide by law for the appointment by the Governor of a citizens' salary commission to 
make recommendations concerning the salaries of members of the Legislature. Upon submission 
of the commission's recommendations, the Legislature shall by law accept, reject or lower the 
salary but may not, in any event, increase the recommendation. The Legislature shall provide by 
law for the expenses of its members. Until salaries and expenses enacted as authorized by this 
section become effective, members of the Legislature shall receive compensation of $25 per 
diem while actually in session, expenses of $15 per diem while actually in session, and mileage 
as provided by law. 
 

UTAH CODE 
 

36-2-3.   Salaries of members set by Legislature based on recommendations of Legislative 
Compensation Commission. 
     (1) (a) Except as provided in Subsections (2), (3), or (4), the salaries of members of the 
Legislature shall automatically be set beginning January 1st of each odd-numbered year at the 
amount recommended by the Legislative Compensation Commission in the last report issued by 
the commission in the preceding even-numbered year. 
     (b) This salary recommendation shall be based on either: 
     (i) a daily basis: 
     (A) for each calendar day for annual general sessions; and 
     (B) for each day a legislator attends veto-override and special sessions and other authorized 
legislative meetings; or 
     (ii) an annualized salary. 
     (c) In preparing its report, the commission may recommend salary amounts that: 
     (i) take into account the amounts received by legislators for legislative expenses; and 
     (ii) provide alternative salary amounts based upon the occurrence of various contingencies. 
     (2) (a) During an even-numbered annual general session or special session in the year 
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immediately preceding the effective date of any salary change, the Legislature may reject or 
decrease the salary recommendation, but may not increase the salary recommendation. 
     (b) If the Legislature does not act as provided in Subsection (2)(a), they have by law accepted 
the Legislative Compensation Commission's recommendations contained in the last report issued 
by the commission in the preceding even-numbered year. 
     (3) Unless the commission issues a revised report after March 11, 2010, and notwithstanding 
Subsection (2), the salary for a member of the Legislature through calendar year 2011 is $117 
per day for each calendar day that the legislator attends: 
     (a) the annual general session; 
     (b) a veto-override session; 
     (c) a special session; or 
     (d) an authorized legislative meeting. 
     (4) If the last report issued by the commission in an even-numbered year recommends a salary 
contingent upon certain action being taken by the Legislature, that contingent legislative salary: 
     (a) takes effect on the day after the day that the contingent action is taken by the Legislature; 
and 
     (b) supersedes any other salary in effect as of January 1.  
 
36-2-4.   Legislative Compensation Commission created -- Governor's considerations in 
appointments -- Organization and expenses. 
     (1) There is created a state Legislative Compensation Commission composed of seven 
members appointed by the governor, not more than four of whom shall be from the same 
political party. 
     (2) (a) Except as required by Subsection (2)(b), the members shall be appointed for four-year 
terms. 
     (b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (2)(a), the governor shall, at the time of 
appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of board 
members are staggered so that approximately half of the board is appointed every two years. 
     (c) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the replacement shall be 
appointed for the unexpired term in the same manner as the vacated member was chosen. 
     (3) In appointing members of the commission, the governor shall give consideration to 
achieving representation from the major geographic areas of the state, and representation from a 
broad cross section of occupational, professional, employee, and management interests. 
     (4) The commission shall select a chair. Four members of the commission shall constitute a 
quorum. The commission shall not make any final determination without the concurrence of a 
majority of its members appointed and serving on the commission being present. 
     (5) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may 
receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with: 
     (a) Section 63A-3-106; 
     (b) Section 63A-3-107; and 
     (c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107. 
     (6) (a) The commission shall be a citizen commission and no member or employee of the 
legislative, judicial, or executive branch is eligible for appointment to the commission. 
     (b) The director of the Governor's Office of Planning and Budget: 
     (i) shall provide staff to the commission; and 
     (ii) is responsible for administration, budgeting, procurement, and related management 
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functions for the commission.  
 
36-2-5.   Duties of Legislative Compensation Commission. 
     (1) The Legislative Compensation Commission shall: 
     (a) study and formulate recommendations concerning the salary levels for Utah state 
legislators; 
     (b) base the study and recommendations upon maintaining a citizen Legislature in Utah, but 
compensating members fairly for their service in order that all individuals would have an 
opportunity to serve; 
     (c) in developing recommendations, consider the salaries of other similar state legislators and 
other such factors; and 
     (d) submit to each member of the Legislature, by January 2nd of each even-numbered year, 
recommendations: 
     (i) concerning changes, if any, which should be made in the salary plan and its administration 
for state legislators; and 
     (ii) include a recitation of the provisions of Section 36-2-3. 
     (2) The Legislative Compensation Commission may issue reports subsequent to January 2 of 
an even-numbered year containing revised salary recommendations, including salary 
recommendations contingent upon certain action being taken by the Legislature. 
     (3) As provided in Subsection 36-2-3(1)(c), in formulating its recommendations, the 
commission may take into account the amounts received by legislators for legislative expenses, 
but may not review the propriety of, or recommend amounts for, legislative expenses. 
 

 
 


