

ICRTEC CHAIR—MAYOR CONNIE ROBINSON • ICRTAC CHAIR—TOM STRATTON • PLANNING MANAGER—CURT HUTCHINGS

MINUTES

Rural Transportation Advisory Committee (RTAC)

April 12, 2016, 11:00 a.m. Cedar City Offices

10 North Main Street, Cedar City, UT

MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Mr. Shayne Scott Mr. Rob Dotson

Mr. Steve Platt Mr. Kit Wareham

Mr. Stoney Shugart

MEMBERS EXCUSED:

MR. TOM STRATTON
Mayor Connie Robinson
Mr. Monte Aldridge

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Mr. Dave Demas Mr. Curt Hutchings

REPRESENTING:

Parowan City

Enoch City Manager

Iron County Cedar City

Kanarraville Town

REPRESENTING:

Brian Head Town Paragonah Town

Utah Dept. of Transportation

REPRESENTING:

Five County Assoc. of Governments Five County Assoc. of Governments

I. Quorum Declaration

The meeting was chaired by Mr. Shayne Scott. Mr. Scott called the meeting to order and declared that there was a quorum present to conduct business.

II. Election of New Chair and Vice-Chair

Mr. Shayne Scott opened the floor for election of a new Chair and Vice-Chair.

A motion was made by Mr. Rob Dotson, seconded by Mr. Steve Platt, to elect Mr. Shayne Scott to serve as Chair and Mr. Kit Wareham to serve as Vice-Chair. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

III. Approve Minutes for December 2, 2015 Meeting

Mr. Shayne Scott, Chair, presented minutes of the December 2, 2015 meeting for discussion and consideration.



ICRTEC CHAIR—MAYOR CONNIE ROBINSON • ICRTAC CHAIR—TOM STRATTON • PLANNING MANAGER—CURT HUTCHINGS

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Platt, seconded by Mr. Kit Wareham, to approve minutes of the December 2, 2015 as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

IV. Meeting Notes for February 3, 2016

Mr. Dave Demas reported that a quorum was not present to conduct a meeting on February 2, 2016. Because of the lack of a quorum, no actions were taken. However, those members present discussed several items, and the notes are provided to committee members as information.

V. <u>Approval of RPO Funding for Next Year</u>

Mr. Curt Hutchings reported that this is an item of discussion on an annual basis. Every year a request is made for a \$40,000 contribution amount from the Iron County Council of Governments (COG). It has been understood that this will continue as an ongoing annual contribution. Staff at the Five County AOG tries to be efficient in order to keep costs down. Funding is retained in the balance in anticipation of special projects. One past project included a \$5,000 contribution to the Alton Coal Study. Mr. Dave Demas mentioned that staff is suggesting a contribution toward a transit study as a possible use of carryover funds prior to the end of the fiscal year. Mr. Hutchings indicated that some point there will also be a need for additional transportation modeling. It was further explained that monies do not carry over from year to year. If funds are left over at the end of the fiscal year, the committee could consider using those funds for a transit study, transportation modeling, etc. The funds could be utilized as match in conjunction with UDOT or some other funding source. Any recommendation for expending funds would be presented to the RTAC prior to a formal request of RTEC. Staff has been working with Commissioner David Miller, who has now formally resigned from the Commission. Staff is asking for RTAC to recommend continued funding in the amount of \$40,000 to the RTEC for formal approval. This item typically receives both COG and RTEC approval. Mr. Hutchings indicated that a MOU is initiated that is signed by the Chair of both entities. The MOU has been updated to better reflect projects that have received funding in the past. Mr. Steve Platt clarified that the request for \$40,000 in funding from the Iron County COG will go to the Five County Association of Governments to provide oversight and staffing of the RPO. UDOT funding has been phased out and the COG has assumed funding responsibility. Iron County takes this amount of funding out of the Corridor Preservation Fund, which is derived from Iron County residents as an automobile registration fee established to preserve transportation corridors. The county is allowed to utilize 20% of that fund for planning purposes. This amount of funding has to be approved by the Iron County Commission as well as the Iron County Council of Governments (COG). This funding is not utilized for any type of construction. The priority list developed by the RTAC and RTEC assists UDOT in



ICRTEC CHAIR—MAYOR CONNIE ROBINSON • ICRTAC CHAIR—TOM STRATTON • PLANNING MANAGER—CURT HUTCHINGS

programming construction funds for projects. Funds are taken out of the Corridor Presentation Fund on a reimbursement basis and the total may not reach the \$40,000 amount in any given year. The amount invoiced has typically been around \$35,000. Mr. Steve Platt asked about the likelihood of a federal audit of the Corridor Preservation Fund. Staff indicated that in their opinion this would not be likely. Mr. Demas noted that even if an audit were to be conducted, it should show expenses for property acquisition or planning. This fund is a county and state fund for the purpose of right-of-way preservation and planning only. These funds are not available for construction of projects.

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Platt, seconded by Mr. Rob Dotson, to recommend funding up to \$40,000 to the Iron County Rural Transportation Executive Council (RTEC). Motion carried by unanimous vote.

VI. RTP Update – General Discussion

Mr. Dave Demas provided a brief update on revisions to the Rural Transportation Plan (RTP). A review of the first two chapters has been completed. A word document will be provided to members for review and comment. Demographic information for 2015 has been incorporated into the document. Once these sections have been completed, work will begin on the regional transportation section. The word document will be provided with track changes in order for members to see information that has been updated and/or changed. Members are encouraged to send additional changes and/or additions to Dave. Information contained on the population/buildout table is still pretty current and will not likely change. The buildout study was completed by Scott Leavitt, who is no longer with Five County AOG.

VII. UDOT Report

Mr. Jim McConnell had other conflicts and was unable to attend today's meeting.

VIII. Other Discussion Items

Mr. Shayne Scott asked if anyone has had a conversation with Brian Head Town regarding a replacement member for the Rural Transportation Advisory Committee. Mr. Dave Demas reported that town staff has indicated that a representative is anticipated to be onboard in July 2016. It was noted that Tom Stratton is no longer employed by Brian Head Town as the Public Works Director.

A. Next meeting, Data and Location: The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, June 1, 2016 at the Kanarraville Town Office beginning at 1:30 p.m.



ICRTEC CHAIR—MAYOR CONNIE ROBINSON • ICRTAC CHAIR—TOM STRATTON • PLANNING MANAGER—CURT HUTCHINGS

IX. Adjourn

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Platt, seconded by Mr. Kit Wareham, to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

The meeting concluded at 11:45 a.m.