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Michelle Araujo Punchbowl Invntatxom The Utah County Employee Appreclatlon Hohday Party

S A RUEING P05 S IBONE s o i rox e o s A g oo LA,

From:  The Utah n issiopers <mail@mail.punchbowl.com>

To: v

Date:  11/13/2015 1:21 PM

Subject: Punchbowl Invitation: The Utah County Employee Appreciation Holiday Party

You're invited! Please click on the invitation to see more details and to RSVP.

The Utah County Employee Appreciation Holiday Party
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
6:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m.

Open vour invitation

Celebrate

the holidays!

G punchbowl

Don't want invitations from this host? Remove yourself.

If you are unable to see the above invitation, click the link below or paste into your browser,
thps/ fwww, punchbowl.com/ partypage/ c40dcd3a37b8386

We will never sell your email address. Read the privacy policy at:

httn:/ fwvww.punchbowl, com/privacy-policy

To learn about our email partner’s privacy policies click here.

©® 2015 Punchbowl, Inc.
Punchbowl, Inc. 50 Speen Street, Suite 202, Framingham, MA 01701

tile:///C:/Users/Michelle Ar/AppData/Local/Temp/XPgrpwise/S645E3C0UtahCountyUCA...  2/29/2016
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Executive Summary
DUI in Utah: CY 2014/FY 2015

DUI-Related Fatalities in Calendar Year 2014

From CY 2013 to CY 2014, DUl/alcohol-related fatalities in Utah nearly doubled,
from 23 to 45, the highest number within the past decade.

From CY 2013 to CY 2014, DUl/drug-related fatalities decreased almost 16
percent, from 45 to 38.

Law Enforcement: Arrests

There were 10,802 DUI arrests in FY 2015, 99 fewer than in FY 2014.

Eighty-one percent of the arrests were for per se violations that included driving
under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both.

Arrests included 1,344 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement

events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI sobriety
checkpoints that involved 105 law enforcement agencies throughout the state.

During the specialized DUI overtime enforcement events, officers observed and
documented 1,146 designated drivers.

Nearly 56 percent of all DUI arrests were made by municipal law
enforcement agencies.

Seventy-three percent of DUI arrestees were male.
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a Almost 11 percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of 21 and the
youngest arrestees were 14 years old.

o The average blood alcohol content (BAC) for arrestees was nearly .15 and the
highest was .41, over five times the legal limit.

o] The majority of DUI arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front with Weber,
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for nearly 71 percent of the total.

o] While Utah’s population has continued to grow, the DUI arrest rate has declined
steadily, with a nearly 37 percent decrease since FY 2009.

o] Seventy percent of arrests were for a first DU offense, 19 percent were for a

second offense, seven percent were for a third offense, and about four percent
were for a fourth or subsequent offense.

Courts: Adjudications and Sanctions

o] In FY 2015, there were 8,313 DUI cases in Utah’s Justice Courts. Among the
cases resolved, almost 55 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

o] In FY 2015, there were 2,368 DUI cases disposed by the state’s District Courts.
Among the cases resolved, nearly 74 percent resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.

Driver License Control

o The Driver License Division conducted 4,642 hearings in FY 2015 to determine

if there was sufficient information to warrant the suspension or revocation of the
individual’s driver license.

Assessment, Education and Treatment

(o] Justice Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder

screening and assessment in 3,090 cases, ordered an educational series in
2,438 cases, and ordered substance use disorder treatment in 1,828 cases.

o] District Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder

screening and assessment in 754 cases, ordered an educational series in 289
cases, and ordered substance use disorder treatment in 799 cases.
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Introduction

g 1 R -
and ner family.

Introduction

usan Kay Madsen'’s life revolved around her family and supporting the

education and activities of her five children, ages 10-16. In fact, it was

as she was driving her 13-year-old daughter home from soccer practice
at about 6:30 p.m. on Thursday evening, May 10, 2014, that her family would
be changed forever. At the intersection of 12300 South and Lone Peak
Parkway in Draper, a white Chevy pickup traveling 60 miles per hour in a 30
mph zone ran a red light and hit the Madsen’s car, ultimately causing a seven-
car crash. Susan Madsen, 43, died at the scene, and her daughter was
critically injured. In addition, seven others involved in the crash were injured.

Prior to the crash, the driver of the pickup, 44-year-old Bill Robert Thompson, was involved in a domestic

violence and assault incident involving the woman he lived with and a neighbor who tried to intervene.
Following this incident, Thompson, who had reportedly been drinking heavily for days and was intoxicated,
got in his truck and left in a “drunken rage.” He was seen by witnesses who reported the truck was
swerving all over the roadway on I-15. The truck then exited I-15 at Bangerter Highway and turned onto
Pony Express Road. At the end of a dead end road, another driver stopped to allow Thompson to turn
around, and he deliberately drove his truck into the driver’s side door of the Mini-Cooper driven by a 16-
year-old girl and laughed about it. He left this scene at a high rate of speed and caused the seven-car
crash just two minutes later. Thompson'’s blood alcohol level was 0.22, almost three times the legal limit,

On Monday, May 19, 2014, Thompson was charged in Third District Court with murder, a first-degree
felony; DUI and two counts of aggravated assault, third degree felonies; seven counts of class A
misdemeanor DUI; two counts of assault and two counts of domestic violence in the presence of a child,
both class B misdemeanors. According to Sim Gill, Salt Lake County District Attorney, Thompson's
behavior went far beyond just DUI or vehicular homicide, and warranted the charge of murder. According
to Gill, “What we are arguing is that he was consciously making a decision to accelerate into an
intersection which was red, and he knew there was traffic there. Our position is he acted with such
depraved indifference, he intentionally set out to engage in that conduct.”

In December 2014, Thompson was ordered to stand trial on the murder charge and the other counts. In
June 2015, Thompson was found guilty of one count of murder and two counts of aggravated assault. In
August 2015, Thompson was sentenced to 15 years to life for the murder of Susan Madsen. He received
a 0-5 year sentence for DUI, to be served consecutively, for the injuries caused to Susan Madsen’s
daughter. He also received sentences for the remaining charges, including aggravated assault, DUI and
domestic violence, which will be served concurrently with credit for time already spent in jail.

Information for this story was obtained from the Salt Lake County District Attorney’s Office, articles in the Deseret News and
the Salt Lake Tribune, and reports on the good4utah.com and ksl.com websites.
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Purpose of the Report

The Thirteenth Annual Driving Under the Influence Report to the Utah Legislature was
prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 of the Utah Code. The statute requires the
Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to prepare an annual report of DUI
related data, including the following:

= Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement
decisions to be made in accordance with violations involving driving
under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs;

= Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements
collected by the state courts); and

= Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and
impacts of DUI recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of:

o

O

(@]

law enforcement;
adjudication;

sanctions;

driver license control; and

alcohol education, assessment, and treatment.
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2015 DUI and Related Legislation

The following bills were passed by the Utah Legislature

in the 2015 General Session:

H.B. 146

H.B. 147

S.B. 150

Driving Under the Influence Revisions
Representative Steve Eliason

This bill provides that for driving under the influence sentencing
purposes a prior conviction shall be within 10 years of: the current
conviction; or the commission of the offense upon which the current
conviction is based.

Driver License Testing Amendments
Representative Steve Eliason

This bill provides that if an applicant has been issued an equivalent
learner permit by another state or branch of the United States Armed
Forces, the applicant is subject to the driver education, testing, age,
and fee requirements.

Provides that an applicant for an original or provisional class D license
shall pass a knowledge test approved by the division.

Provides that 50 percent of the test questions included in the
knowledge test shall cover the topic of major causes of traffic related
deaths as identified in statistics published by the Highway Safety
Office.

Driving Under the Influence Sentencing Revisions
Senator Scott K. Jenkins

This bill provides that an impaired driving plea is not available to a
person who has certain prior convictions.

Requires the court to impose, for a felony driving under the influence
violation, an order requiring the person to obtain a screening and
assessment for alcohol and substance abuse treatment as
appropriate.

Requires the court to order the installation of the ignition interlock
system, at the person’s expense, for all motor vehicles registered to
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that person and all motor vehicles operated by that person if a person

is convicted of a driving under the influence violation within 10 years
of a prior conviction.

Provides that a person who operates a motor vehicle without an
ignition interlock device as ordered by the court is in violation of
driving without an ignition interlock system.
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Law
Enforcement

Law Enforcement

The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway
Safety Office, collects information on all DUl arrests. In FY 2015, law enforcement
officers made 10,802 DUI arrests, 99 fewer than in FY 2014.

DUI Arrests

DUI Arrests by Violation Type

As illustrated in the following table, the distribution of DUI arrests by type of violation in
FY 2015 was very similar to previous years. Eighty-one percent of the arrests were for
per se violations where the driver had a .08 or greater blood/breath alcohol
concentration, or was impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to the
extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle. Under Utah law, drivers are considered to
have given consent to tests of breath, blood, urine, or oral fluids to determine whether
they are driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs. Almost 13 percent of
arrests were for refusal to submit to a chemical test. It is also illegal to drive with any
measurable controlled substance metabolite in one’s body, which accounted for just
under two percent of arrests. Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the
age of 21 who drove with any measurable alcohol concentration in their body,
accounted for 3.7 percent of the arrests. The fewest arrests were of commercial drivers
exceeding the .04 limit, which represented only 0.3 percent of the total.

DUI Arrests by FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 gz‘;c‘f";
Violation Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent | py 14..|=?( 15
Per se Alcohol/Drug 9,872 | 80.7% | 8,870 | 81.4% 8,751 81.0% -1.3%
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,415 11.6% | 1,231 11.3% 1,373 12.7% +11.4%
Not a Drop (< 21) 547 4.5% 472 4.3% 397 3.7% -15.9%
Drug Metabolite 191 1.6% 142 1.3% 180 1.7% | +26.8%
Commercial Driver (.04) 17 0.1% 26 0.2% 29 0.3% | +11.5%
Unknown (no box marked) 185 1.5% 160 1.5% 72 0.7% -55.0%
TOTAL 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0% -0.9%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI Overtime Enforcement Events

The arrests made in SFY 2015/FFY 2015* included those that occurred as a result of
specialized DUI overtime enforcement events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation
patrols, and DUI checkpoints. State funding from DUI impound fees collected, as well
as federal funding from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA),
was used to fund the overtime shifts coordinated through the Utah Highway Safety
Office. A total of 105 law enforcement agencies throughout Utah participated, including
local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, Motor Vehicle
Enforcement, the Utah Department of Transportation, Utah Parks and Recreation, Utah
Wildlife Resources, and university police departments. The table below shows the
measures associated with these specialized DUI overtime enforcement events.

Statewide DUI Overtime State-Funded Federally-Funded
Enforcement Events SFY 2015* FFY 2015* Jotals
DUI Shifts Worked 3,045 1,376 4,421
Vehicles Stopped 26,927 14,912 41,839
DUI Arrests 988 356 1,344**
Vehicles Impounded 843 330 1,173
Alcohol-Related Arrests*** 533 225 758
Drug-Related Arrests**** 670 242 912
Warrants Served 435 204 639
Other Warnings/Citations 27,615 10,875 38,490
Designated Drivers Observed/Documented 673 473 1,146
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*SFY 2015 = July 1, 2014 — June 30, 2015; FFY 2015 = October 1, 2014 — September 30, 2015

**Includes 934 alcohol-related, 275 other drug-related, and 135 metabolite

***Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase,
I\*]*c*)‘t* la-lel?gr)lz)and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession)

DUI Arrests by Agency Type

Nearly 56 percent of all DUl arrests in FY 2015 were made by municipal law
enforcement agencies, with the Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 32 percent,
and county sheriffs’ offices responsible for almost 12 percent.

DUI Arrests by FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015
Agency Type Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Percent
Sheriffs’ Offices 1,439 | 11.8% | 1,295| 11.9% 1,272 11.8%
City Police/Other 6,542 | 53.5% | 5,978 | 54.8% 6,033 55.8%
Highway Patrol 4246 | 34.7% | 3,628 | 33.3% 3,497 32.4%
TOTAL 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0%
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Gender

The table on the following page shows the proportions of male and female
arrestees have remained fairly constant over the past three years. In FY 2015,
where the gender was specified, 73 percent of arrestees were male and about 25
percent were female.
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FY 2013 FY 2014 F
DUI Arrests by Gender |‘Number | Percent | Number | Percent Number 20F:‘esrcent
Male 8,753 71.6% | 7,887 | 72.3% | 7,887 73.0%
Female 3,369 27.5% | 2907 | 26.7% | 2,727 25.3%
Unspecified 105 0.9% 107 1.0% 188 1.7%
TOTAL 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUl Arrests by Age

The youngest arrestees in FY 2015 were 14 years old, and the oldest were 82-87
years of age. Nearly 11 percent of arrestees were under the legal drinking age of
21. Drivers ages 25-36 accounted for nearly 39 percent of all arrests for DUI.

FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015
DUI Arrests by Age Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
Ages 14-20 1,460 | 11.9% | 1,275 11.7% | 1,182| 10.9%
Ages 21-24 2144 | 175% | 1,888 | 17.3% | 1,700 15.7%
Ages 25-36 4,838 | 39.6% | 4,213| 38.6% | 4,201| 38.9%
Ages 37-48 2231 183% | 2,120| 19.4% | 2,146 | 19.9%
Ages 49-87 1,554 | 12.7% | 1,405| 13.0% | 1,573| 14.6%
TOTAL 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

DUI Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
The average BAC in FY 2015, where the test results were reported, was nearly .15, up
slightly from previous years (median BAC was .14). The highest BAC recorded was

41, over five times the legal limit!
FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 201
DUl Arrests by BAC Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number Pe?cent
BAC Result Not Reported* | 4,573 | 37.4% | 4,127 | 37.9% | 4,232| 39.2%
.00 - .07 528 4.3% 544 5.0% 425 3.9%
.08 - .10 1,043 8.5% | 1,009 9.3% 864 8.0%
J1:.-.15 2160 | 17.7% | 1,875| 17.2%| 1,761| 16.3%
.16 - .20 1,589 | 13.0% | 1,248| 11.4% | 1,293| 12.0%
.21-.25 659 5.4% 592 5.4% 553 5.1%
.26 - .41 265 2.2% 276 2.5% 302 2.8%
Refused BAC Test 1,410 11.5% | 1,230| 11.3% | 1,372| 12.7%
TOTAL 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

*Arrestee may have submitted to a blood test, but the Driver License Division never received the results, or this was a
DUl/drug-related arrest and there was no BAC.
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According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), to reach a BAC of
.14, a 160-pound man would need to consume between five and seven beers within
one hour (see table below)."

Some lilkely effects on driving

- o] \ A & 2 A The number of beers
L 1 RY i YYVyY listed represents the
At e ’ . . n . § . . ~
»d : * Serious difficulty controlfing the car and focusing on driving 000 mate smount
of alcohol that a
160-pound man would
s Markedly slowred reaction time need to drink in one

5 ¥ . . listed
o Difficulty staying in lane and braking when needed QUSSR reaciiTie lisicy
BAC in each category.

o Trouble controlling speed
o Difficulty processing infermation and reasoning

= Reduced coordination and ability to track moving objects
o Difficulty steering

e Loss of judgment
e Trouble doing two tasks at the same time

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Levels

i |

Adapted from The ABCs of BAC, National Highway Traffic Safefy Administration, 2005, and How to Controf
Your Drinking, WR Miller and RF Munoz, University of New Mexico, 1982.

DUI Arrests by Month

As in previous years, DUI arrests remained fairly consistent throughout FY 2015, with
an average of 900 arrests per month. The highest number of arrests occurred in
January (1,070), with the lowest number of arrests in April (753).

'FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015
DUI Arrests by Month Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent
July 1,055 8.6% 973 8.9% 848 7.8%
August 1,052 8.6% 1,055 9.7% 998 9.2%
September 1,058 8.6% 932 8.5% 827 7.7%
October 956 7.8% 909 8.3% 820 7.6%
November 1,041 8.5% 983 9.0% | 1,015 9.4%
December 1,138 9.3% 871 8.0% 913 8.4%
January 915 7.5% 825 7.6% | 1,070 9.9%
February 1,006 8.3% 859 7.9% 901 8.3%
March 1,210 9.9% 998 9.2% 992 9.2%
April 862 7.1% 816 7.5% 53 7.0%
May 986 8.1% 860 7.9% 903 8.4%
June 948 7.7% 820 7.5% 762 7.1%
TOTAL 12,227 | 100.0% | 10,901 | 100.0% | 10,802 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving: A Threat to Everyone, October
2011.
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DUI Arrests by County

Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI arrests during FY 2015 occurred along
the Wasatch Front with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties accounting for 71
percent (7,712) of the total. Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests with
4,060 (37.6%), while Piute County and Wayne County had the fewest arrests with three
each (.03%). The table below also compares the percentage of DUI arrests to the
percentage of both total population and vehicle miles traveled in each county.

DUI Arrests U t‘;zlgg;j?;t?on Vehicle Miles Traveled
County FY 2015 Edtimatas Calendar Year 2014
Number | Percent Number Percent Number Percent
Beaver 65 0.60% 6,461 0.22% 271,441,615 0.98%
Box Elder 140 1.30% 51,518 1.75% 911,258,124 3.30%
Cache 261 2.42% 118,343 4.02% 899,034,530 3.26%
Carbon 60 0.56% 20,660 0.70% 325,114,810 1.18%
Daggett 7 0.06% 1.417 0.04% 32,333,132 0.12%
Davis 819 7.58% 329,692 | 11.20% | 2,590,155,574 9.39%
Duchesne 114 1.06% 20,380 0.69% 283,292,481 1.03%
Emery 90 0.51% 10,631 0.36% 355,911,485 1.29%
Garfield 18 0.17% 5,024 0.17% 114,369,392 0.41%
Grand 99 0.92% 9,429 0.32% 351,843,888 1.28%
fron 275 2.55% 47,269 1.61% 753,358,672 2.73%
Juab 61 0.56% 10,486 0.36% 368,529,836 1.34%
Kane 50 0.46% 7,254 0.25% 134,067,109 0.49%
Millard 70 0.65% 12,606 0.43% 502,461,730 1.82%
Morgan 35 0.32% 10,608 0.36% 133,124,873 0.48%
Piute 3 0.03% 1,484 0.05% 28,998,248 0.11%
Rich 10 0.09% 2,293 0.08% 50,335,948 0.18%
Salt Lake 4,060 | 37.59% | 1,091,742 | 37.10% | 9,079,005,254 | 32.93%
San Juan 67 0.62% 15,251 0.52% 285,774,882 1.04%
Sanpete 13 0.68% 28,477 0.97% 216,577 317 0.79%
Sevier 105 0.97% 20113 0.71% 319,525,913 1.16%
Summit 256 2.37% 39,105 1.33% 763,364,577 2.77%
Tooele 392 3.63% 61,598 2.09% 822,143,266 2.98%
Uintah 184 1.70% 36,867 1.25% 427,770,171 1.55%
Utah 1,598 | 14.79% 560,974 | 19.06% | 4,084,949.059 | 14.81%
Wasatch 197 1.82% 27,714 0.94% 353,223,181 1.28%
Washington 490 4.54% 151,948 5.16% | 1,420,310,654 5.15%
Wayne 3 0.03% 2,123 0.09% 48,768,211 0.18%
Weber 1,235 | 11.43% 240,475 8.17% | 1,647,183,902 5.97%
TOTAL 10,802 | 100.00% | 2,942,902 | 100.00% | 27,574,227,734 | 100.00%

Source for DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division

Source for Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division
Source for Vehicle Miles Traveled: Utah Department of Transportation
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DUI Arrest Rates by Population

The following table and figure illustrate the number of DUI arrests made in Utah by

fiscal year, compared to the state’s population. While Utah’s population has
continued to grow, the DUI arrest rate has declined steadily, with a 37 perce
decrease since FY 2009.

nt

Utah DUI Arrests Compared to E

Population FY 2006 - FY 2015 =7OOO DUI Arrest Rates in Utah
Fiscal | pui | Population | DUI ' FY 2006 — FY 2015
as of Arrest 160.00 -

Year | Arrests July 1, 2014 | Rate*

2006 | 14,138 | 2,505,844 | 56.42 | 000 -

2007 | 14,658 | 2,576,228 | 56.90 | |4000 .

2008 | 15,297 | 2,636,077 | 58.03

2009 | 15,683 | 2,691,122 | 58.28 | 3000 -

2010 | 15,285 | 2,731,558 | 55.96 | |yqq - —

2011 | 13,816 | 2,774,663 | 49.79 | |

2012 | 13,031 | 2,813,923 | 46.31 %10.00'

|

2013 | 12,227 | 2,852,589 | 42.86 |

2014 | 10,901 | 2,900,872 | 37.58

2015 | 10,802 | 2,942,902 | 36.71

| 000 4 e
‘ 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015

Source of DUI Arrest Data: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
Source of Population Data: U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division
*DUI arrest rate is the number of DUI arrests per 10,000 people.

Repeat DUI Offenders by Type of Arrest

The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUIl-related arrest. Data

were calculated by identifying arrests that occurred in FY 2015 as a starting
then counting back ten years to determine previous arrests. Each arrest wa

point,
s

placed in a column determined by the type of the arrest or violation. Seventy

percent of arrests were for a first offense, 19 percent were for a second offe

nse,

seven percent were for a third offense, and about four percent were for a fourth or

subsequent offense.

FY 2015

Afrost ,Ll\pliro:ceal Rezufsal Not a Drug Commercial g g ’E‘ TOTAL
Type | (.08) | Chemical (2';’1") Metabolite D(’(')‘;‘;' g%

Offense Drug Test 3 27 % | Number | Percent
1= 6,191 829 365 147 27 33 | 7,592 | 70.28%
2nd 1,692 300 19 21 0 22 | 2,054 | 19.01%
3 605 159 9 9 1 10 | 793 7.34%
~ 181 50 2 2 1 6 242 2.24%
5 54 19 1 0 0 1 75 0.69%
6" 19 9 1 1 0 0 30 0.28%
70 6 4 0 0 0 0 10 0.09%
8"+ 3 3 0 0 0 0 6 0.07%

TOTAL | 8,751 1,373 | 397 180 29 72 | 10,802 | 100.00%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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DUI-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

DUIl/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities

The following table shows the total number of DUI-related vehicle crashes involving
alcohol for each calendar year from 2005 to 2014, including the number of persons injured
and the number of persons killed as a result of the crashes. The number of crash fatalities

involving drivers with a blood alcohol level of .08 or greater in Utah nearly doubled, from
23 in calendar year 2013 to 45 in calendar year 2014, a 96 percent increase. Finally,
while the numbers have fluctuated over the years, the number of DUl/alcohol-related
fatalities in CY 2014 was the highest it has been since 2004, as was the proportion of total
crash fatalities that were DUl/alcohol-related (over 17 percent).

DUl/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2005-2014

Gt Crashes Injuries Fatalities
alendar buy
Year L Aol I+ Ir.\l}?::ald fr";’:r’;“j" i g:;:r" Al?;;j:xlm P
Crashes* Alcohol Persons Persons Alcohol Fatalities Fatalities** Alcohol
2005 54,938 1,977 3.6% 29,221 1,398 4.8% 282 22 7.8%
2006 56,187 2,488 4.4% 27,433 1,844 6.7% 287 39 13.6%
2007 61,245 2,718 4.4% 27,420 1,900 6.9% 299 42 14.0%
2008 56,367 2,330 4.1% 24,673 1,596 6.5% 276 34 12.3%
2009 51,367 2,019 3.9% 22,847 1,288 5.6% 244 31 12.7%
2010 49,368 1,723 3.5% 21,675 | 1,150 5.3% 253 25 9.9%
2011 52,287 1,662 3.2% 22,325 1,019 4.6% 243 39 16.0%
2012 50,600 1,727 3.4% 22,336 1,043 4.7% 217 20 9.2%
2013 55,637 1,736 3.1% 22,740 1,073 4.7% 220 23 10.5%
2014 54,036 2,128 3.9% Data not available in time for report. 256 45 17.6%

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office

*DUl/alcohol-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol.
**DUl/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of 2 .08.

The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUl/alcohol-related crash fatalities
over the past decade, from calendar years 2005 through 2014.

20%

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were

DUIl/Alcohol-Related in Utah, Calendar Years 2005-2014

10%

% of Total Crash Deaths
DUIfAlcohol-Related

N — :
) 10.5% ‘
7 9.0% Spess |
g, | T % DUlAIcohol-Related }
Trendline
|
0% |
2005 2005 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Year

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
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DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities by Population and Vehicle Miles Traveled
The following table shows the rates of DUI/Alcohol-related fatalities per 10,000
population and per 100 million vehicle miles traveled in Utah, for calendar years 2005
through 2014. The fatality rates increased significantly from CY 2013 to CY 2014 for
both population (87 percent increase) and vehicle miles traveled (78 percent increase).

Rates of DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities per 10,000 Population and
100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled in Utah, Calendar Years 2005-2014
Calendar DUl/Alcohol-Related DUl/Alcohol-Related
Year | PUVAlcohol- Fatality Rates Fatality Rates per 100 Million
Related per 10,000 Population Vehicle Miles Traveled
iting* P lation hicle Miles

Fatalities™ | aeit Jatfl;’ 1 Rate VeTraveIed Rate
2005 22 2,505,844 0.09 25,129,538,952 0.09
2006 39 2,576,228 0.15 26,166,885,473 0.15
2007 42 2,636,077 0.16 26,824,244 333 0.16
2008 34 2,691,122 0:18 25,883,467,343 0.13
2009 31 2,731,558 0.11 26,217,108,843 0.12
2010 25 2,774,663 0.09 26,617,169,711 0.09
2011 39 2,813,923 0.14 26,379,900,505 0.15
2012 20 2,852,589 0.07 26,637,413,207 0.08
2013 23 2,900,872 0.08 27,014,745,900 0.09
2014 45 2,942,902 0.15 27,574,227,734 0.16

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
* DUl/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of > .08.

The figure below illustrates the rates of DUI/Alcohol-related fatalities in Utah for
calendar years 2005 through 2014, per 100 million vehicle miles traveled. From
CY 2013 to CY 2014, the DUI/Alcohol-related fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles
traveled increased significantly, from 0.09 to 0.16.

Rates of DUI/Alcohol-Related Fatalities in Utah,
Per 100 Million Vehicle Miles Traveled, Calendar Years 2005-2014

. e DUIfAICO hOI-Related Death Rate
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Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
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DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities
The following table shows the number of DUI-related vehicle crashes, injuries and
fatalities involving drugs only (no alcohol or BAC less than .08) for available years.

The most common types of drugs found in fatal drug-related crashes in CY 2014
were THC (Marijuana), opiates (Oxycodone, Morphine and Hydrocodone); and

Methamphetamine. The number of fatalities that were DUl/drug-related decreased
almost 16 percent, from 45 in CY 2013 to 38 in CY 2014.

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2007-2014

Calendar Total Cr.al:’?Jll;‘es Percent Total lnglﬂlglr?g;s Percent Total Fatalltles Percent

Year Lol Drug DUI/ injured | Injured DU/ Crash | DUNDIUO | "oy
Crashes* Drug Persons Persons Drug Fatalities Drug |

2007 61,245 158 0.3% 27,420 113 0.4% 299 16 5.4%
2008 56,367 565 1.0% 24,673 428 1.7% 276 12 4.3%
2009 51,367 547 1.1% 22,847 443 1.9% 244 36 14.8%
2010 49,368 525 1.1% 21,675 382 1.8% 253 26 10.3%
2011 52,287 603 1.1% 22,325 388 1.7% 243 30 12.3%
2012 50,600 548 1.1% 22,336 383 1.7% 217 37 17.1%
2013 55,637 567 1.0% 22,740 393 1.7% 220 45 20.5%
2014 54,036 320 0.6% Data not available in time for report. 256 38 14.8%

‘Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
*DUl/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.
**DUl/drug-related fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08.

Note: Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment. For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after
any impairment that might affect driving has passed. Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of
alcohol is well understood, little evidence is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance.

The figure below illustrates the trend in Utah’s DUl/drug-related crash fatalities from
calendar years 2007 through 2014.

% aof Total Crash Deaths
DUIDrug-Related

a1
]
=

Percentage of Total Crash Fatalities That Were
DUI/Drug-Related in Utah, Calendar Years 2007-2014

s % DUIDrug-Related

Trendline

/ 10.3%
[ —
—

I

%

-
Q.

2007 2009 2010 2011

Year

2012 2013

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office
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Adjudications and Sanctions

DUI offenses are classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type
of offense and whether it is a repeat offense. The Justice Courts, which are sponsored
by municipalities and counties, handle DUI offenses classified as class B
misdemeanors. DUI offenses classified as class A misdemeanors and felonies are
under the jurisdiction of the state’s District Courts. A DUI offense is classified as a class
A misdemeanor if it involves bodily injury, a passenger under 16, or a passenger under
18 if the driver is 21 or older. A DUI offense is classified as a third degree felony if it is a
third or subsequent offense within 10 years, if it involves serious bodily injury, or if the
person has any prior felony DUI conviction or automobile homicide conviction.

Justice Court DUI Data

Justice Court DUI Cases and Outcomes

The following table shows the outcomes of the 8,313 DUI cases Utah’s Justice Courts
during FY 2015. There were only 47 fewer cases than in the previous year. Almost 55
percent of cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, with about 12 percent dismissed or
not guilty. This table does not represent the actual DUI conviction rate, however, as it
includes cases filed in previous fiscal years that were not resolved until FY 2015. In
addition, 2,782 cases were still pending resolution at the close of FY 2015.

Justice Court DUI FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 % Change
Case Outcomes Number | Percent | Number | Percent | Number | Percent FY14-FY 15
Guilty 5,205 57.7% 4,764 57.0% 4,541 54.6% -4.7%
Dismissed or Not Guilty 827 9.2% 805 9.6% 990 11.9% +23.0%
Cases Pending 2,991 | 33.1% 2,791 | 33.4% 2,782 | 33.5% -0.3%
TOTAL 9,023 | 100.0% 8,360 | 100.0% 8,313 | 100.0% -0.6%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Justice Court Repeat DUI Offender Data

The Justice Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled. In the table on
the following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2013, 2014 and 2015, the first
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.
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The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that
criterion. The last column shows how the offender was sentenced. In FY 2015 for
example, about 14 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a second offense, while
17 percent were actually second-time offenders, and almost 16 percent were
sentenced as second-time offenders. Discrepancies between charges and sentencing
are not unusual. An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may
or may not be the same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court
procedural issues.

Justice Court Repeat DUl Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2013-2015°

Offense Was Offense Was Offense Was
Offense Charged As Actually Sentenced As

FY 13 FY 14 FY15 | FY13 FY 14 FY 15 FY 13 FY 14 FY 15

18! Offense | 84.7% | 80.0% | 85.0% | 82.2% | 80.2% | 81.9% | 83.6% | 82.4% | 84.2%

2" Offense | 15.2% | 16.5% | 13.9% | 16.8% | 18.6% | 17.2% | 16.0% | 17.3% | 15.6%

3" Offense 0.2% | 1.5%| 05% | 0.7% | 08% | 0.7%| 03%| 0.2% | 0.1%

4™ Offense 0.0%| 13% | 02%| 02% | 02% | 01%]| 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.0%

5" or
Greater 0.0%!| 0.7% | 0.3%| 01%| 02% | 01% | 0.0%| 0.0% | 0.0%
Offense

TOTAL 100.0% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions

Additional DUl-related case information collected by the Justice Courts is shown in the
table below. The table includes data for those Justice Courts in the Courts Information
System (CORIS). The data indicate in FY 2015 judges ordered offenders to complete
an educational series in 2,438 cases, ordered substance use disorder treatment in
1,828 cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 586 cases.

Justice Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions | FY 2013 | FY 2014 | FY 2015
Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 121 117 120
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 3,224 3,130 | 3,046
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 3,456 3,826 | 3,090
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 2,144 2,156 | 1,828
Educational Series Ordered 2,629 2,494 | 2,438
Ignition Interlock Ordered 767 728 586
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 1,760 1,505 | 1,641
Electronic Monitoring 214 227 226
Enhancement Notification 1,382 1,682 | 2,635

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

2 The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known. In addition, the
following cases were not included: bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and
transferred.
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District Court DUI Data

As shown in the table below, Utah’s District Courts disposed 2,368 DUI cases during
FY 2015, 264 more than in FY 2014.

% Change
DUI in Utah’s District Courts FY 2013 | FY 2014 | FY 2015 | FY 14-FY 15
District Court Cases Disposed 2500 2,104 2,368 +12.5%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court DUl Case Outcomes
The table below shows case outcomes by Judicial District for the 2,368 DUI cases
disposed by Utah’s eight District Courts during FY 2015. Nearly 74 percent of the
cases resulted in a guilty plea or verdict, and the defendant was found not guilty in only
one case. Fourteen percent of the cases were dismissed. This table is not a depiction
of the District Courts’ actual DUI conviction rates, as it includes only those cases that
were disposed during FY 2015. Pending cases were not included in the data analysis.

FY 2015 District Court DUl Case Outcomes by Judicial District

DUI Case Judicial District

Outcomes 15t 2nd 3rd 4th 6th 7th Sth Total Percent
Deceased 1 0 1 1 1 0 0 0 4 0.2%
Declined Prosecution 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1] <0.1%
Dismissed 16| 50/109| 95| 25| 19| 11| 13| 338| 14.3%
Diversion 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0| <0.1%
Guilty 97 | 343 1497 1432|140 85| 57| 991,750 | 73.9%
No Contest 1 8 4| -22 4 4 0 3 46 1.9%
Not Guilty 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1] <0.1%
Plea in Abeyance 0 1 %4 5 1 6 0 1 16 0.7%
Remanded 1 5| 51 5 4 1 0 2 69 2.9%
Transferred 1 41 91| 46 0 1 0 0 143 6.0%
TOTAL 117 | 411 | 756 | 606 | 176 | 116 | 68 | 118 | 2,368 | 100.0%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court Repeat DUl Offender Data

The District Courts also track how repeat DUI offenders are handled. In the table on
the following page, which includes data for fiscal years 2013, 2014 and 2015, the first
column shows if the offender was charged as a first-time offender or a repeat offender.
The second column indicates how many of those in the first column actually met that
criterion. The last column shows how the offender was sentenced. In FY 2015 for
example, 18 percent of DUI offenders were charged with a second offense, while 24
percent were actually second-time offenders, and 21 percent were sentenced as
second-time offenders. Discrepancies between charges and sentencing are not
unusual. An offender’s sentence is dependent upon the conviction, which may or may
not be the same as the offense charged due to plea bargains or court procedural

issues.
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District Court Repeat DUl Offender Data for Fiscal Years 2013-2015°

Offense Was Offense Was Offense Was
Offense Charged As Actually Sentenced As

FY 13 FY14 | FY15 | FY 13 FY 14 FY 15 FY 13 FY 14 FY 15

1% Offense 49% | 50% | 59% | 52% | 50% | 52% | 56% | 56% | 58%

2" Offense 16% | 17% | 18% | 18% | 22% | 24% | 18% | 19% | 21%

3" Offense 31% | 28% | 19% | 25% | 22% | 18% | 23% | 21%| 18%

4% Offense % 4% 2% | 1% | 4% | 4% | 1% | 3% | 2%
th th

gﬁ';nose 2% | 1% | 2% | 4% | 2% | 2% | 2% | 1%| 1%
TOTAL 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100% | 100%

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

District Court DUI Case Information and Sanctions

Other DUI-related case information, including sanctions ordered, is also collected by the
District Courts. The table below includes the FY 2015 data for those cases where the
values were known. The table shows judges ordered offenders to complete an
educational series in 289 cases, ordered substance use disorder treatment in 799
cases, and that ignition interlock devices were ordered in 283 cases.

District Court DUl Case Information and Sanctions | FY 2013 | FY 2014 | FY 2015
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 455 411 563
Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment 693 622 754
Substance Use Disorder Treatment Ordered 630 616 799
Educational Series Ordered 308 258 289
Ignition Interlock Ordered 275 265 283
Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 887 830 979
Electronic Monitoring 116 109 148
Enhancement Notification 100% | 100% | 100%
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

The DUI Sentencing Matrix included at the end of this report provides detailed information
regarding DUI offense classifications and sanctions.

% The cases in the table represent only those for which the number of the offense was known. In addition, the
following cases were not included: bail forfeiture, deceased, declined, dismissed, not guilty, remanded, and
transferred.
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Driver License

Driver License Control

The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or
revoke the license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following:

e Driving under the influence
e Driving with any measurable controlled substance metabolite in the body
e Not a Drop violation
e Refusal to submit to a chemical test
e Automobile homicide

e “No-alcohol” conditional license

e Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation
o [nterlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction

Alcohol Hearing Statistics

When a driver is arrested for DUI, the license is taken and a 30-day temporary license
is issued. Drivers may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the Driver License
Division must schedule the hearing within the 30-day period of the temporary license.
As shown in the table below, there were 4,642 requested alcohol hearings held in

FY 2015. The Division is unable to take any action against a driver if the arresting
officer does not appear at the hearing. To improve appearance rates, the Division
offers a telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone in for the hearing.

In 2,114 of the cases, at least one of the parties called in for the hearing.

FY 2015 Alcohol Hearing Statistics

ACD Code Total_# of No 0ffi¢':erl No Oﬁicgr Othe_r Tota! Total
Hearings No Action Telephonic | No Action | No Action | Telephonic
Per Se 3,940 792 243 556 1,348 1,773
Not a Drop 80 26 11 13 39 73
Refusal 622 60 33 62 122 268
TOTAL 4,642 878 287 631 1,509 2,114

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division
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Screening, Assessment,
Education and Treatment

Screening and Assessment

As part of any sentence for a DUI offense, Utah law requires offenders to
participate in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment. A
screening involves gathering information that is used to determine if an individual
has a problem with alcohol and/or other substance abuse, and if so, whether an in-
depth clinical assessment is appropriate. An assessment is a collection of detailed
information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or other substance abuse,
emotional and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the
individual’s life. The assessment is used to determine the need for substance use
disorder treatment.* The following table shows the orders for substance use
disorder screening and assessment by the District and Justice Courts in FY 2015,
for those cases where the values were known.

Substance Use Disorder Screening and
Assessment Ordered by the Courts FY 2013 | FY 2014 | FY 2015

Justice Courts 3,456 3,826 3,090

District Courts 693 622 754

Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Education

For a first DUI offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment.
The purpose of DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to

4 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse
Among Adults in the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7.
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be related to use of alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize
the harmful consequences of inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the
dangers of drinking and driving.”® Utah DUI offenders sentenced to an educational
series attend the PRIME For Life® (PFL) program developed by the Prevention
Research Institute (PRI). “PRIME For Life® is a motivational intervention that provides
education and strategies for individuals who have experienced problems due to high-
risk alcohol or drug use. PFL is an interactive experience designed to motivate and
guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more accurate beliefs
about personal risk that will support those low-risk choices. The program provides
research-based, low-risk guidelines and assists participants in making choices to best
protect what they value.”

The following table shows the orders for the educational series by the Justice and
District Courts in FY 2015, for those cases where values were known.

Educational Series Ordered by the Courts | FY 2013 | FY 2014 | FY 2015
Justice Courts 2,629 2,494 2,438
District Courts 308 258 289
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

Treatment

For a first and second DUI offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance use disorder
treatment. “Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and
change patterns of behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to
health; or to restore appropriate levels of physical, psychological and/or social
functioning. DUI offenders assessed as meeting the diagnostic criteria for a substance
use disorder should participate in a treatment program in addition to, or in lieu of, the
educational course.” Treatment should address both alcohol and other substance use
disorders. The level of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, intensive
outpatient, residential) is determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of
the substance use disorder. The table below shows the orders for substance use
disorder treatment by the Justice and District Courts in FY 2015, for those cases
where the values were known.

Substance Use Disorder Treatment

Ordered by the Courts FY 2013 | FY 2014 | FY 2015
Justice Court 2,144 2,156 1,828
District Court 630 616 799
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts

® Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.

SStafford, P., Beadnell, B., Rosengren, D.B., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2012, April). PRIME For Life
UTAH 2011 Evaluation Report Executive Summary. Lexington, KY: Prevention Research Institute.

7 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003.
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.
N\
DRIVE SOBEROR

GETPULLED OVER

-

Utah’s Impaired Driving
Media Campaign

The Utah Department of Public Safety’s Highway
Safety Office conducts a statewide mass media
campaign that supports planned DUI saturation
patrols, melding the effort into these successful,
high visibility enforcement efforts. The primary
goal of this media campaign is to reduce the
incidence of impaired driving in Utah by raising
awareness of the dangers of driving under the
influence. The campaign focuses on community mobilization, bringing
together law enforcement, media, local businesses, and community
officials to share the prevention message and curb impaired driving.
The campaign also aims to educate Utah’s citizens about DUI, one of
America’s most frequent and deadliest crimes. http://drivesober.ora/

Partnership with Maverik

Partnerships with
Utah State
University
and
University of Utah
Tailgate Groups

Partnerships
_ with Lumpys,
Partngrsmp Piper Down and
with the Green Pig
Station Park Social Clubs
in
Farmington
Partnership
with
Scheels
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:-‘;Sentencing ;

(Current as of May 12, 2015)

_UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX

MISDEMEANOR DUI

urt-Ordered

FIRST OFFENSE

SECOND OFFENSE
WITHIN 10 YEARS

FELONY DUI

CLASSIFICATION
(§41-6a-503)

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

o if bodily injury1

o if passenger is under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

CLASS A MISDEMEANOR:

o if bodily injury’

o if passenger under 16

o if passenger is under 18
and driver is 21 or older

THIRD DEGREE FELONY

o if third or subsequent offense
within 10 years

o if serious bodily injury’

e if any prior felony DUI
conviction or automobile
homicide " conviction

Jail
(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order:
48 consecutive hours OR
48 hours compensatory
service OR 48 hours
electronic home confinement?

SHALL. order:
240 consecutive hours OR
240 hours compensatory
service OR 240 hours
electronic home confinement?

SHALL order:;
0-5 year prison term OR
1,500 hours jail (62.5 days)
OR 1,500 hours elgctronic
home confinement

Fine, Surcharge,
and Court
Security Fee

(§41-6a-505)

SHALL order:
$700 minimum fine plus a
$630 surcharge plus a
$40 court security fee

SHALL order:
$800 minimum fine plus a
$720 surcharge plus a
$40 court security fee

SHALL order:
$1,500 minimum fine plus a
$1,350 surcharge plus a
$40 court security fee, unless

(§51-9-401) a 0-5 prison term is imposed
Screening, SHALL order: SHALL order: SHALL order:

Assessment, e Screening e Screening o Screening

Educational o Assessment (if found _ o Assessment (if found o Assessment

Series appropriate by screening) appropriate by screening) e Treatment as appropriate,
Treatn;ent e Educational series, unless e Educational series, unless unless 0-5 prison term is

(§41-6a-505)

treatment is ordered
MAY order:
e Treatment

treatment is ordered
MAY order:
e Treatment

imposed

Probation® MAY order supervised SHALL order supervised Sﬁgﬁét%ogr#%r gupgarvis?d _
(§41-6a-507) probation probation got imposet -9 prison term is
Ignition MAY order: SHALL order: SHALL order:
Interlock® e Ignition interlock » Ignition interlock o [gnition interlock

SHALL order: SHAL.L order: SHALL order:

(§41-6a-518)
(§41-6a-530)

o Interlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on the
record why such order not
appropriate

e |nterlock if under 21

o Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

o |nterlock if under 21

e Interlock for an ARD®
violation OR describe on
the record why such order
not appropriate

High BAC
(.16 or higher)

(§41-6a-505)

SHAI.L order: 5

o Supervised probation

e Treatment and interlock®
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement® OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation®

o Treatment and interlock®
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement? OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

SHALL order:

e Supervised probation® if 0-5
prison term is not impos;d

o Treatment and interlock
and/or ankle attached
continuous transdermal
alcohol monitoring device
and/or electronic home
confinement? OR describe
on the record why such
order(s) not appropriate

Driver License
Suspension

(§41-6a-509)

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 120 days, 180 days,
one year or 2 years

Court MAY order additional 90
days, 120 days, 180 days, one
year or 2 years

Court MAY order additional
90 days, 120 days, 180 days,
one year or 2 years

'A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the

same episode of driving.

*See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions.
*Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517 (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body).
“Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a

condition of probation.
SAlcohol restricted driver




[ The following statutory provisions also apply to DUl offenders, although they do not require a
court order. Failure to comply carries additional criminal sanctions.

FIRST OFFENSE

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT
OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation

Driving Under
the Influence/
DUI Conviction

(§41-6a-509)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21%'
birthday

If under 19: Until 21% birthday

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21:

Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months if
the person completes a screening; completes an assessment if
appropriate; completes an education series or substance abuse
treatment, as deemed appropriate by the court; has not been convicted
of a violation of a motor vehicle law during the suspension period; has
complied with all terms of probation or all court orders if not ordered to
probation; and provides a sworn statement to the court that the person
has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period.

If 21 or older: 2 years
If 19-20: Longer of 2 years or until 21 birthday

If under 19: Until 21* birthday

Driving with
Controlled
Substance/
Metabolite in
Body Conviction
(§41-6a2-517)

If 21 or older: 120 days

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21
birthday

If under 19: Until 21* birthday

Early License Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21:

Same as above, but sworn statement must include the person has not
consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner
during the suspension period.

If 21 or older: 2 years

If 19-20: Longer of two years or until 21
birthday

If under 19: Until 21% birthday

Refusal of
Chemical Test

(§41-6a-521)

If 21 or older: 18 months

If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21%
birthday

If 21 or older: 36 months

If under 21: Longer of 36 months or until 21%
birthday

Per se Arrest
(§53-3-223)

2 .08 BAC, impaired to
degree unsafe to drive,
operating with metabolite of
drug in system

If 21 or older: 120 days
If under 21: 6 months

If 21 or older: 2 years

If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21%
birthday

Not A Drop
(§53-3-231)

A person under 21 may not
operate a vehicle or

motorboat with detectable
alcohol in body

If under 21: Until successful completion of
substance abuse program recommendation, but
not less than 6 months

If under 21: Until successful completion of
substance abuse program recommendatlon and
the longer of 2 years or until 21% birthday

Failure to Install or Removal
of Ignition Interlock Device

(§53-3-1007)

An individual who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege
suspended until they have had an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. If the
interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the interlock restriction period, the driver
license shall be re-suspended until an ignition interlock device is re-installed. This suspension
may be imposed in addition to other license sanctions as listed above.

Other Sanctions

IRD - Interlock o 18 months IRD for 1% DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21

Restricted o 3 years IRD for 1*' Driving Wlthout Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), Refusal to Submit to
Driver Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), or 1% DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21

(§41-6a-518.2)

An “interlock restricted

driver” may not operate a
motor vehicle without an
ignition interlock system.

o 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years: DUI (§41-6a-502), Refusal to Submit to
Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-Related Reckless (§41-
6a-512 — only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled
Substance/Baodily Injury or Death (§58-37-8(2)(g)), or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

o 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (§41-6a-502)
o 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

Note: Abeyances count as convictions, as defined in §41-6a-501; if all offenses are for Controlled Substance/Metabolite convictions, IRD does not apply

ARD - Alcohol
Restricted
Driver

(§41-6a-529)

An “alcohol restricted driver”
may not operate or be in
actual physical control of a
vehicle with any measurable
or detectable amount of
alcohol in the person’s
body.

«2 years ARD for 1* DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol- Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or

Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5)
o 2 years ARD for any Per se offense (§53-3-223)

o 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with alcohol in body if an ARD

(§41-6a-530) offense

o 5 years ARD for 1° Refusal to Submit to Test (§41-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (§41-6a-502)

o 10 years ARD for 2" offense, if 2" offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations
prior to July 1, 2008) Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5), or Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-521);
and 1% offense is DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol-Related Reckless (only violations prior to July 1, 2008), or

Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5)

o Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207)

Note: Abeyances count as convictions as stated in §53-3-229, excluding ARD and IRD abeyances; if Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does not apply.
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