State EMS Committee Meeting Minutes January 10, 2024, 12:00 P.M. – 3:00 P.M. Google Meeting Utah Dept. of Health 288 North 1460 West, #125 Salt Lake City, Utah 84116

Committee	Brett Cross, Clair Provost, Clint Smith, David Sutherland, GJ Willden, Hilary Hewes,	
Members:	Jeremy Hoggard, Kevin Nunn, Kevin Rose, Kris Shields, Kristofer Mitchell, Lauara Lisk,	
	Mark Adams, Mike Moffit, Nathan Curtis, Scott Youngquist, Stacey Shelley	
Excused:	GJ Willden, Hilary Hewes, Kristofer Mitchell	
Staff:	Linda Simmons, Tami Goodin, Felicia Alvarez, Gay Brogdon, Dan Camp, Mark Herrera,	
	Dean Penovich	
Presiding:	Clint Smith	

Introduction of	Roll was called.	
Committee	It was determined that a quorum was present of at least	
members	9 committee members.	
	Action Items	
Approval of	Clint Smith asked for a motion to accept the minutes	Mike Moffitt motioned to
Meeting	from the previous October 11, 2023, meeting.	approve the minutes.
Minutes		
		Clair Provost seconded
		Committee voted
		unanimously to approve the
		minutes from the October
		11, 2023, meeting
Chair and Vice-	Clint Smith	Mike Moffitt nominated
Chair Elections		Clint Smith to remain as
		Chair and Mark Adams to
		remain as vice-chair.
		Sheriff Curtis seconded.
		Sheriff Curtis Seconded.
		Committee voted
		unanimously in favor of
		Clint Smith and Mark Adams
		remaining in their current
		Chair and Vice-Chair
		positions.
New Members	Gay Brogdon presented Daren Hansen as an applicant to	Mike Moffitt motioned to
on EMS Grant	the grant subcommittee.	appoint Daren Hansen to
Committee		the Grant Subcommittee
		Seconded.
		Sconded.

		Committee voted unanimously to appoint Daren Hansen to the Grant Subcommittee.
New Members	Tami Goodin presented applicants for the Operations	Clair Provost motioned to
for the EMS	Subcommittee.	accept all 3 as new
Operations	Dr. Wagstaff – EMS Medical Director	members of the
Subcommittee	Hoss - At Large Rural	
	Janene Wood - EMD	Scott Youngquist seconded.
		Committee unanimously accepted the applicants to the Operations Subcommittee.
EMS	Dean Penovich explained those positions that are	No vote needed.
Committee	expiring at the end of June 2024 will be opened for	
Terms Expiring	application. Those who are interested in keeping their	
	current position do not have to re-apply but need to let	
	Dean Penovich or Jessica Schaugaard know. Others who	
	are interested can apply on the boards.utah.gov website.	
CCP Program Standards	Peter Taillac and Cory Oaks Mark Harrora presented the Community Paramedicine	Mike Moffitt motioned to send it back to the committee clarify it to make it a guideline. No second. Motion Failed. Brett Cross motioned to approve as presented. Lauara Lisk seconded. Motion carried with 11 Yes and 2 no.
Community	Mark Herrera presented the Community Paramedicine	Scott Youngquist motioned
Paramedicine	Program Guidelines document and asked for approval.	to approve as presented.
Requirements For Approval:		Mike Moffitt seconded.
Training		Committee and the
Requirements,		Committee unanimously
Data Reporting		approved. Motion passed.
Requirements,		
Operation Plan		
Requirements		

Community Bridge Pilot Project for	Peter Taillac explained the pilot program and asked for approval.	Clair Provost motioned to approve the pilot program.
Opioid Use Disorder		Brett Cross seconded.
		Committee unanimously approved. Motion passed.
Rules for	Dean Penovich commented that these rules were	Lauara Lisk motioned to
Approval:	presented before, but some changes were made. Dean	approve both rules.
R426-10, R426- 7	presented the changes and asked for approval.	Clair Provost seconded.
		Committee unanimously
		approved. Motion passed.
QRU Variance	Dean Penovich introduced the variance request rules.	Lauara Lisk motioned to
Request	QuikMedic introduced their company and explained why	deny QRU variance request
	they are seeking the variance.	but to have QuikMedic to explore a pilot for mobile
	Contact for QuikMedic:	integrated health and bring
	Jason Schnetzler, MD	the information back to the
	Medical Director	committee.
	JSchnetzler@quikmedic.com	
	(614) 813-0850	Brett Cross seconded.
		Committee unanimously approved. Motion passed.
EMR Variance	Cedar Mountain Fire presented their information on why	Lauara Lisk motioned to
Report	they are seeking a variance and asked for approval.	approve.
		Clair Provost seconded.
		Committee unanimously
		approved. Motion passed.
AEMT	Mike Moffitt	Mike Moffitt moved to
Ambulance		delay the equipment
List: 12 lead monitors		requests to the next
requirement		meeting.
		None apposed.
Add As		Mike Moffitt moved to
Optional to		delay the equipment
the Equipment		request to the next
Lists: Gurney cover for		meeting.
lifting and moving patients		None apposed.

Professional	Jamon Smith reported they met in November and	
Development	discussed the recommendation of changing the minimum	
Subcommittee	required course hours for AEMT from 120 to 200 hours	
Report	with 80% being in person and 20% online or	
•	asynchronous.	
Operations	Chris DeLaMare reported the subcommittee discussed	
Subcommittee	the CCP.	
Report		
Grants	Gay Brogdon shared they are meeting on January 31 to	
Subcommittee	discuss the guidelines for the rural competitive grant for	
Report	this coming year. Right now they are accepting	
	applications for the Per Capita Grant. FRG submissions	
	must be received for the funds to be released to grant	
	recipients.	
	Informational Items	
FRG	Tami Goodin	
Submission	 Agencies with Fiscal Year ending 12/31, please 	
	return completed by 06/30.	
	 Agencies with Fiscal Year ending 06/30, please 	
	return completed by 12/31.	
Discussion		
	Adjourn	
	Meeting adjourned	Brett Cross moved to
		adjourn.
	Next Meeting	
	April 10, 2024, 12:00 PM at the Utah Dept. of Health	
	Cannon Health Building 288 North 1460 West, #125 Salt	
	Lake City, Utah 84116	