Story Details

Nominees Announced for Second District Court Vacancy

Jul. 01, 2013

SALT LAKE CITY - The Second District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the district court. The vacancy results from the retirement of Judge Michael D. Lyon, effective September 1, 2013. The Second Judicial District includes Davis, Morgan, and Weber counties.

The nominees for the vacancy are: Catherine S. Conklin, Domestic Relations Commissioner, Second District Court; Sandra L. Corp, Deputy County Attorney, Weber County Attorney's Office; Robert L. Froerer, Partner, Froerer & Miles; Dee W. Smith, County Attorney, Weber County Attorney's Office; and Gary R. Williams, City Attorney, Ogden City Corporation.

Written comments can be submitted to Second District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Brian Namba at Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330. The deadline for written comments is 5:00 pm on July 10, 2013. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Governor Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Governor Herbert's appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.

If you found this news piece interesting, please consider sharing it through your social network.