Story Details

Governor Huntsman Appoints Seventh Judicial Nominating Commission

News Release
September 01, 2005

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH*Utah Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. recently appointed seven people to the Seventh Judicial District Nominating Commission. The Seventh Judicial District consists of Emery, San Juan, Grand and Carbon Counties.

Each individual has been appointed to serve a four year term on the Judicial Nominating Commission. By state law, the bipartisan commission includes lawyers and non-lawyers.

Seventh District Judicial Nominating Commission, 2005
* Sam Singleton: Ferron, Utah
* Gwen Peacock: Castle Dale, Utah
* Clayton Long: Blanding, Utah
* Craig Hall: Monticello, Utah
* Janet Lowe: Moab, Utah
* Ryan Thomas: Price, Utah
* Dr. Barry Cook: Price, Utah

These individuals will review all nominations for any judicial vacancies in the Seventh District. They will send between three and five names to the Governor for his consideration. The Governor will then appoint one person as judge, subject to confirmation by the Utah State Senate.

If you found this news piece interesting, please consider sharing it through your social network.