Story Details

Governor Huntsman Receives List of Finalists for Board of Pardons

News Release
August 23, 2005

Salt Lake City, Utah * Utah Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr., has received the list of finalists for the full-time member position on the Utah State Board of Pardons and Parole. After several months of deliberations and personal interviews, the Executive Committee of the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice has selected five finalists for the Governor's consideration. The candidates include: Brenda Beaton, a Deputy County Attorney for Weber County; Cliff Butter, currently employed by the Department of Corrections; Kay Cornaby, an attorney with Jones, Waldo, Holbrook and McDonough; Keith Hamilton, a self-employed attorney; and Clark Harms, a Deputy District Attorney for Salt Lake County.

The Committee reviewed more than 160 applications. The Governor will interview the five finalists this week. The person selected for the position will replace Mike Sibbett, who is retiring from the Board at the end of August. Mike has served on the Board for 15 years and acted as Chair for 12 of those years.

Governor Huntsman will appoint a new board member and then select a Chair from the five members on the Board. The current members are Don Blanchard, Curt Garner, Cheryl Hansen and Jesse Gallegos.

If you found this news piece interesting, please consider sharing it through your social network.