Story Details

Utah Governor Welcomes New Department of Community and Culture

News Release
July 01, 2005

Salt Lake City, Utah -- Utah Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr., is please to welcome the new Department of Community and Culture (DCC). The new state department became effective today. DCC was created by House Bill 318 during the 2005 General Session of the Utah Legislature. DCC is splitting from the former Department of Community and Economic Development.

"Utah's population is becoming more heterogeneous, reflecting a need for more attention to certain government services," said Utah Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. "It made sense to create a department that could focus on the unique ethnic communities in the state, as well as the services that strengthen the community."

The new department consists of six divisions: the Utah Arts Council, Division of State Library, Division of State History, Division of Housing and Community Development, Division of Indian Affairs and the Office of Ethnic Affairs.

"I am excited to lead the efforts of this department in partnering with other state agencies in order to implement and provide efficiencies through outreach to the communities we serve," said Executive Director Yvette Diaz. "DCC is diverse in the services it offers and restructuring has provided a unique opportunity for the divisions to do some long-range planning. Strategic plans have been under development and will be executed to elevate the division's projects and programs."

Organizational Chart.

If you found this news piece interesting, please consider sharing it through your social network.