Story Details

Governor Huntsman Appoints Fifth Judicial Nominating Commission

News Release
June 17, 2005

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH-Utah Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. recently appointed seven people to the Fifth Judicial District Nominating Commission. The Fifth Judicial District consists of Millard, Beaver, Iron and Washington counties.

Each individual has been appointed to serve a four year term on the Judicial Nominating Commission. By state law, the bipartisan commission includes lawyers and non-lawyers.

Fifth Judicial District Nominating Commission, 2005
  • Alison McArthur-(Chair), St. George
    • Businesswoman
  • Carne Trenholm, Cedar City
    • Educator
  • Von Christianson, Beaver
    • Beaver County Attorney
  • Jean Truman, Cedar City
    • Media Center Coordinator
  • Terry Wade, St. George
    • Attorney
  • J. Ralph Atkin, St. George
    • Attorney
  • Daren Barney, Ivins
    • Mayor of Ivins/Attorney
These individuals will review all nominations for any judicial vacancies in the Fifth District. They will send five names to the Governor for his consideration. The Governor will then appoint one person as judge, subject to confirmation by the Utah State Senate.

If you found this news piece interesting, please consider sharing it through your social network.