Story Details

Governor Huntsman announced five major changes in administration

DCC Executive Director, other cabinet and administrative shifts outlined

Salt Lake City - Governor Jon Huntsman named five changes in his administration Wednesday:

  • Palmer DePaulis, currently a Tax Commissioner, as the new executive director for the Department of Community and Culture;
  • D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli, currently the executive director of the Department of Administrative Services, will take DePaulis' place on the Tax Commission;
  • Richard Ellis, currently director of the Governor's Office of Planning and Budget, will take Dixon Pignanelli's place as the director of the DAS;
  • John Nixon, currently deputy director of the Department of Workforce Services, will take Ellis' place as executive director of GOPB;
  • Jesse Gallegos, currently a member of the Board of Pardons and Parole, was named as the new executive director of the Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice

The transitions will happen over the next several weeks. DePaulis will replace Richard Bradford who is serving as the interim director of DCC since Yvette Diaz left in March. Gallegos is replacing Michele Christiansen who was named General Counsel to the Governor to replace Mike Lee. Lee is leaving in July to work as a law clerk to U.S. Supreme Court Justice Samuel Alito.

"While it is most times hard, change is always good," Governor Huntsman said. "We appreciate the hard work of the people in the administration and we welcome those who are joining us. In all, we are all here to serve the people of Utah and make this a better place than we found it and I believe each of these individuals will be an asset to this administration."

Photos (click for larger version)

D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli

Jesse Gallegos

John Nixon

Palmer DePaulis

Richard Ellis

If you found this news piece interesting, please consider sharing it through your social network.