Story Details

Governor Huntsman Names New Cabinet Members

News Releases
January 5, 2005
Salt Lake City, Utah - Utah Governor Jon M. Huntsman, Jr., today announced his new cabinet members. The announcement follows an intense 40-day evaluation by the transition committees.

Governor Huntsman created a transition team of more than 110 people, divided into 18 working groups, which conducted the evaluations. Transition Team Director Greg Hopkins says the teams followed a very definite process. "There was great consistency in the process. The teams focused their evaluations in three key areas: personnel, priorities, and efficiencies."

The recommendations were submitted to Governor Huntsman, who made the final cabinet decisions. "I have great confidence in the process. The teams put in long hours to complete their work. Their recommendations were sound and the information was sufficient for me to build a strong team on."

Cabinet Members

Administrative Services
  • Executive Director D'Arcy Dixon Pignanelli
  • Replacing Camille Anthony
  • Commissioner Leonard Blackham
  • Replacing Cary Peterson
  • Executive Director Russell Skousen
  • Replacing Klarice Bachman
Community and Economic Development
  • Executive Director Sylvia Haro (Community & Arts)
  • Replacing David Harmer
  • Executive Director Scott Carver
  • Previous Interim Director
Environmental Quality
  • Executive Director Dianne Nielson
  • Continuing
Financial Institutions
  • Commissioner Edward Leary
  • Continuing
  • Executive Director Dr. Sundwall
  • Replacing Dr. Scott Williams
Human Resources
  • Executive Director Jeff Herring
  • Previous Interim Director
Human Services
  • Acting Executive Director Ron Stromberg
  • Replacing Robin Williams
  • Commissioner Kent Michie
  • Replacing Merwin Stewart
National Guard
  • General Tarbet
  • Continuing
Natural Resources
  • Executive Director Mike Styler
  • Replacing Robert Morgan
Public Safety
  • Commissioner Robert Flowers
  • Continuing
  • Executive Director John Njord
  • Continuing
Workforce Services
  • Acting Executive Director John Nixon
  • Replacing Raylene Ireland

If you found this news piece interesting, please consider sharing it through your social network.